We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have stayed here several times and every single time it has been fantastic. The site is peaceful and you feel a million miles away from any problems.
The shop is well stocked and the staff are all lovely and extremely helpful.
The showers and toilets are kept spotless and there is also a library on site and a great play area for kids.
Overall I would recommend this to everyone who wants an escape, who needs to go abroad when you have the beauty right on your doorstep!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 809vikkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    21
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ufford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we loved this so much we just kept staying on, so our overnight became 4 nights. we parked right by the woods and the dog loved it (well kept and clean grounds). so many pitch choices too. well placed for great walks and near a truly excellent pub.
showers and toilets always really clean and loads of outlets for other services. library and laundry facilities were fantastic - took a book from the library and sat in the sun whilst the washing was on.
families were based near the play area and up the top seemed to be all couples - so very quiet. not very good wifi or tv signal so be warned if this is your thing for entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday. Hardstanding serviced pitches which are not allocated, you are allowed to look and pick your own and then advise the number. Ensuring everyone parks in the same way ensures you get your full pitch.

Shower are excellent, although there are only 3 (well in the block we were at) and very clean. Good laundry facilities if you need them and the on site shop is excellent as others have mentioned.

Despite there being a number of static caravans on this site, it was still very quiet and not much vehicle traffic. The planting and scenery is excellent on site - well maintained and in keeping with the area.

A good footpath and walk into Ambleside (about 30 mins at a very steady pace) and if coming back late, tired and with a takeaway £10 in a taxi (6 of us sharing so very good value). Walking the other way will take you to the Talbot pub. We had meals from the specials board which were excellent and a welcome change to the takeaways we had eaten until then.

We made a mistake and did not take any food to cook, thinking there would be local butchers etc, but we did not see any, so other than breakfast we were a little stuck on an evening until we discovered this pub. There are obviously plenty in Ambleside but we have dogs so often limited.

Will certainly visit this site again, but I would recommend that anyone looking to visit has sufficient food to cook with on an evening - no Sainsbury's nearby!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24hoursfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Skelwith Fold. We do have a very well stocked shop on site that has a varied range of local produce like sausages, bacon and burgers along with locally made curries and Cumbrian way meals. There are two butchers in Ambleside so next time you stay with us we can give you directions on how to find them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skelwith in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, The Skelwith Fold Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A little bit more expensive but worth it. Site landscaped beautifully, site shop like a high class deli. Service was superb, we were having difficulties with our gas and a lovely site worker Leon helped my husband to fix it. Showers toilets spotless. We bought walks leaflets from camp shop and had a lovely walk to Hawkshead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Skelwith Fold. We do have a very well stocked shop on site that has a varied range of local produce like sausages, bacon and burgers along with locally made curries and Cumbrian way meals. There are two butchers in Ambleside so next time you stay with us we can give you directions on how to find them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skelwith in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, The Skelwith Fold Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in our motorhome. First impressions of this campsite were very good as the drive up to reception was impressive with its long well maintained entrance with trees on either side. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We were given a map and given instruction to choose our pitch which I thought was a good touch. Our kids went off exploring and found the play area which was very good and looked very well maintained. The caravan park is very big and there was lots of routes for the kids to go off on there bikes. There was no family area or games room which was a shame as there was lots of families and it would be a good place for the kids to be when it got dark and a good place for the parents to go and socialise with other parents.
The campsite is close to Ambleside and is a lovely 20-30 minute walk or 10-20 minute bike ride, there is also a bus stop right outside the campsite if you don't want to walk or bike. A little further and still within walking/biking distance is Lake Windermere.
We went to Go-Ape with the children, it's a 30 minute drive from the campsite but some of the roads are narrow so take care if your in a motorhome.
We decided to go for a walk around the campsite and only then realised the size of the campsite, we walked off the Tarmac and into the woods and there was lots of routes to take with some stunning views.
The toilet block was nice and the showers were clean and had plenty of room, my only gripe would be that the urinals didn't seem to be as well looked after as the rest of the shower block, as there were some hairs on one of the urinals for 3 days. But everything else was spotless.
I would go back here and I would recommend it for anybody else looking for somewhere to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Timlad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just finished a five day unexpected break in our tourer with 2 small dogs and are delighted to say the camp site exceeded our expectations. Staff were friendly and helpful and the toilet and shower block are indeed immaculate as advertised. Location (gorgeous!) offers everything for everyone, This is the perfect escape for using lots of energy or just chilling...we highly recommend this park for all ages and will visit again asap

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39AngelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed her with our touring caravan. Have stayed here before and this is an excellent site. Fantastic location in the lakes near to Ambleside. Site is very large with mostly static caravans and lodges and accommodating tourers. Site is extremely well kept with all facilities regularly cleaned. Good well stocked shop. No clubhouse etc. which suits us fine! Great walks to Ambleside, Elterwater and nearby pub Drunken Duck. You can also just walk on site in the wooded areas. Great holiday location, lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.3 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Fold Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Property: Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
Address: B5286 Hawkshead Road, Ambleside LA22 0HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skelwith Fold is a unique and special touring caravan and motorhome holiday park - and a beautiful home-from-home for our guests. In the heart of the Lake District National Park we have 300 privately owned static caravan holiday homes. For touring and motorhome holidays we offer the highest of standards and facilities as one of the finest touring caravan and motorhome parks in the Lake District. For those wanting a unique couples getaway, our Hideaways provide the perfect retreat for a few days. But we're more than a caravan park; Our 130 acres are begging to be explored. There are plenty of paths to follow, leading to a wealth of discoveries, including our mystical tarn, sculptures and breathtaking views of the Langdale Pikes and surrounding fells. Although Skelwith Fold houses over 400 pitches it has the feel of a much smaller park - the various accommodation areas have been carefully and sympathetically set out in small woodland glades, settled amongst natural undulating features, creating a sense of quiet and intimacy. Even in the height of the season, the park does not have a crowded feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing