We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndale Guest House

Lyndale Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyndale Guest House
Ranked #63 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Foxton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

If you want a good place to stay for your Lake Distict activities then choose the Lyndale Guest House. Our host, Alison was welcoming, always cheerful, and helpful in many aspects. Both rooms that we stayed in were pleasant and the very good breakfasts set us up for our walking. activities. The Guest House is well situated for numerous local activities and, as parking is well organised, the walk into town was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed her for the Great North Swim and the owner was very helpfull we did not arrive until late but she was very welcoming. The room we stayed in was a good size but the bathroom was a little small the room did have an odour of cigarettes. The breakfast was very good just the right amount and good value for money would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here on a walking weekend with the boys. For the price we paid this was good solid accommodation. I did not see or hear any dogs, but there is a slight dog odour masked by shake 'n' vac. Room was a good size, and comfy beds. Breakfast was great, and the landlady was friendly. Would stay again. There is a car park just 100 yards down from hotel, and Ambleside town centre is just a 5 mins stroll away. A great base for walking on the local fells.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HeyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

The room we stayed in was a good size although the shower cubicle was very small. The double bed was comfortable but the headboard was stained which was not very appealing. The owners were smokers and on arrival there was a very strong smell of smoke which not only lingered in the halls but our room. As we were non smokers we nearly left to find somewhere else.
The breakfast was good along with the service. We would of enjoyed our stay more if the gripes above we're addressed. It was situated 5 mins from the village centre but no parking. We were told where the free parking spaces were and given advice on dog friendly pubs etc. If they sorted out our little gripes then the place would be fab.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Baz196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#37 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#16 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#40 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Guest House

Property: Lyndale Guest House
Address: Low Fold Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lyndale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndale Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing