We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndale Guest House
Ranked #62 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A very nice place. The room was immaculate and the service was with a smile. We would definitely stay again! The breakfast was also good and the location is great. It's a 2-3 minute stroll to the lake and similar to the shops in Ambleside.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the top rooms with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This guest house is a real credit to Alison, the hard work and care she has put into it has made Lyndale a really lovely place to stay. We have just come back from a 2 night stay feeling absolutely relaxed and rejuvinated. The beds and pillows are wonderfully comfortable, our room was at the front but was still really quiet. The room temperature was perfect despite it snowing outside. Alisons fabulous full english breakfast would set even the hungriest person up for a full days walking. This isn't a modern minimalist hotel where the heart has been riped out, the decor is really lovely, Lyndale has a very homely feel and is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyPWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

My partner, young son and I recently spent 2 nights at Lyn Dale and it was wonderful. The breakfast was absolutely amazing. We did have a slight problem which was our own fault (baby sick) but Alison was very helpful and sorted it very quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedevedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place has everything you expect from the best Lakeland guest house experience. We stayed in an enormous bed in a lovely, spacious room. It had all the facilities we needed and was brilliant value for money. It is a very short walk from the centre of Ambleside and free parking is available close by. Would definitely stay again. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Writing this review for my husband who as just returned from a short break he says the guest house is very close to the centre of amble side so you can walk in at night time for something to eat, he had a single room and says it was very clean and the bathroom was separate down the corridor but it was clean and you had your own key to it , breakfast was very good set you up for a days walking ,dog friendly ,Alison was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaw187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

If you want a good place to stay for your Lake Distict activities then choose the Lyndale Guest House. Our host, Alison was welcoming, always cheerful, and helpful in many aspects. Both rooms that we stayed in were pleasant and the very good breakfasts set us up for our walking. activities. The Guest House is well situated for numerous local activities and, as parking is well organised, the walk into town was very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed her for the Great North Swim and the owner was very helpfull we did not arrive until late but she was very welcoming. The room we stayed in was a good size but the bathroom was a little small the room did have an odour of cigarettes. The breakfast was very good just the right amount and good value for money would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndale Lodge
Ferndale Lodge
#71 of 103 in Ambleside
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wordsworths Guest House
Wordsworths Guest House
#45 of 103 in Ambleside
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Guest House

Property: Lyndale Guest House
Address: Low Fold Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyndale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndale Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing