We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Birthday Meal”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked this restaurant when we booked our stay in Ambleside due to the previous reviews on TA. I did notice just before going that there had been some negative reviews, however we decided to try for ourselves. We are so glad we did. I am not sure where the negative reviewers have eaten, but we could not fault any part of our meal. The marinated lamb main course was to die for - I even had a word with the chef to see how it was done! Would recommend Atelier to any serious foodies, but without the serious foodie price tag. Cracking all round.

2  Thank TJS2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Your review was just the tonic!! All at atelier were really pleased you had a memorable birthday evening, and we thank you for the recommendations, much appreciated. Hope to see you both again.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Atelier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 585 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and my partner, visit Ambleside 3 or 4 times a year. Every time we visit we try and eat at the best eateries in the area and I must say Atelier is defiantly the best yet. We had heard such good reports for fellow holiday makers and also a couple of the locals we had spoken to as well, and their advice did not disappoint. Such a warm and friendly welcome, followed by 3 fantastic courses and a fantastic bottle of house red. We would defiantly recommend it everybody, you MUST visit you wont be disappointed. David J

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Praise indeed, and very welcome it is! At atelier we continually aim to provide the best possible experience for every customer and so we are happy you were happy. Thank you, and do eat with us again.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Handy location, nice friendly and helpful staff and good tasting food. Starters good sized but main course a bit small. I had the Sea bass but it was only 1 fillet. I have paid less for similar dishes in other restaurants and got both of them. Oh well. Apart from that, nice atmosphere, didn't seem too crowded and average speed of service on our visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Shaggy3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

we genuinely thank you very much for all the positives.
Please, do visit again.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Looks a fairly new addition to Ambleside but once inside ohh dear it all went down hill, steeper than walking down Wansfell!!! Won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Fellwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Oh Dear! Reviews which do not constructively address whatever aspects of our food, atmosphere or service did not meet expectations are always met with puzzlement!! Criticism for the sake of criticism is rather a sad practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Wondering whether all these people going ga ga over this over priced restaurant are from a different planet or we are talking about entirely different restaurants ! but another comment from april,2012 shares very similar experience so we are definitely talking about the same place. To begin with we had to wait for nearly 35-40 minutes for our dish with nothing mentioned about this while taking the order and when the order did finally arrive to explain the delay it was whispered "it was made to order" ! We had both ordered fish (probably sea bass) and tiger prawn risottos straight from the menu with no special requests so do not know how it became "made to order" ! As the tables are placed very closely you cannot entirely avoid hearing what is going on in nearby tables and heard the same things being told to the table next to us so makes me wonder whether "made to order" in Atelier stands for "we will be late for whatever you order" ! About the food the mains were okay in terms of taste but nothing great considering the price ! and the portion size - atleast I did not expect having to literally "fish" for prawns after paying £15-16 for a dish ! It was a tiger prawn and fish dish but there were just 2 small prawns in the whole dish and it was not just me but my wife who ordered the same dish had the same experience. We also ordered a bowl of so called "thrice cooked" chips but even frozen supermarket chips probably taste better - may be these had the same humble origins or worse. The dessert sticky toffee pudding was okay. The only good thing about this place is probably the jolly , smiling staff but guess to keep a place like this going that is the least you can do !

Lastly if you do decide (unlucky and ill advised I think) to visit this place do not build up any expectations about exotic mediterranean lamb,falafel dishes rather be prepared for average european/italian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank traveller_uk_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Where to begin? atelier wishes to AVOID a diatribe on the scale such as yours so we'll be succinct!
Please, since you are so knowledgable on the subject of "Mediterranean food", look more closely at the provenance of the foods on our menu & our specials. Read more carefully the blurb on the menu sheet which describes the aim of atelier with regard to what we produce. As for the Staff 'enduring' working in such a place why not visit and discuss the subject with them as your adverse comments were not welcomed.
Your obvious dislike of atelier could so easily have been addressed on the night - but it is so much easier to comment from afar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing