We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We made our second visit to Atelier on 5 May, this time with friends. Friendly and attentive service, pleasant, relaxed atmosphere and food as described and cooked well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Basil1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Whilst atelier is always pleased when on the receiving end of ALL positive reviews it is even more so when they are re-visits/regulars. So thank you for taking the time to comment so favourably. See you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    73
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Ate at Atelier on 21 April and had a wonderful meal with friendly service, very good wine and excellent food, especially the Lakeside Lamb, which was to die for. The portions are more than generous and after a starter and main we had no room for pudding, but could manage the complimentary fudge made by the chef, which was a nice touch at the end of a great meal. The service was helpful and personable and the price very reasonable. We will definitely go again next time we are in Ambleside

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
atelier is delighted you were satisifed with the overall experience here; it is all part & parcel of the service. Hope to see you again. Thank you.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Imaginative dishes and good quality produce gave us a really tasty meal. Service was friendly and personable. Portions are generous and it's easy to over-indulge.
One of the best value and quality restaurants in Ambleside.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cut2quick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Chef is always looking to be more creative with her food, so thank you for the generous words. Happy to have been able to contribute to a good evening. Do visit us again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal to celebrate our 25th Anniversary”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked this restaurant for our 25th anniversary on Wednesday, and it turned out to be a wonderful night. The starters were excellent; I had the mussels, and my wife had goats cheese / cucumber parcel, both of which were cooked to perfection. Again, the mains were perfect (beef fillet and duck) and the sweets were the best we've had in years (creme brulee with honeycomb biscuit and honeycomb ice cream). The service was great - didn't have to wait between courses and the waitress was really happy & helpful. We'll definitely visit Atelier again the next time we're in the lakes. Creagh & Alison A.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CreaghA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
A 25th Wedding Anniversary is quite something and atelier is happy to have played its part in the celebration!
Many thanks for the glowing review. Chef was chuffed, as was our friendly/cheerful Manager manning front of house.
Do return to atelier - but don't leave it another 25 years!!
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked this restaurant when we booked our stay in Ambleside due to the previous reviews on TA. I did notice just before going that there had been some negative reviews, however we decided to try for ourselves. We are so glad we did. I am not sure where the negative reviewers have eaten, but we could not fault any part of our meal. The marinated lamb main course was to die for - I even had a word with the chef to see how it was done! Would recommend Atelier to any serious foodies, but without the serious foodie price tag. Cracking all round.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TJS2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Your review was just the tonic!! All at atelier were really pleased you had a memorable birthday evening, and we thank you for the recommendations, much appreciated. Hope to see you both again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing