We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
macclesfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We visited Atelier restaurant for the 2nd time on Friday evening, and weren't disappointed. The belly pork starter, with apple fritters was succulent and tasty. I had the lamb rump main, which was cooked to perfection, and my wife really enjoyed the sea bass. We both plumped for the same sweet; toffee apple creme brulee with honeycomb ice cream, which went down a treat. I can recommend the Chateau Musar Labanese red; perfect with the lamb. All in all it was a really enjoyable meal, with nice service, and at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CreaghA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
atelier is always honoured when diners choose to re-visit. Delighted that you experience was just as good as the first. Thank you for the compliments, and, yes, the Musar is a beautiful wine. Another visit soon??
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    73
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, well prepared”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Friendly welcome and a good menu. Food was cooked very well and well presented. Definitely worth a visit when in Ambleside - be sure to book in advance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Park_Hall_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
A much appreciated, succinct review. Thank you for all the positives.
Come and dine another time.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and I had tried to visit Atelier earlier in the year but the restaurant was full. This time we did not make the same mistake and made a reservation. Everything about the evening was superb, from the food, to the service, to the general atmosphere (lighting and background music). My mussels were excellent as was my wife's crab and prawn "special". The crispy skinned pan fried sea bass with risotto was wonderful and my wife's fillet steak with Madeira sauce was one of the best she has ever had (we asked for extra sauce as it was so good). Puds were equally perfect from the toffee apple creme brulee to the chocolate and orange tart. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were friendly without being intrusive. We strongly recommend Atelier if you like good food exquisitely cooked and presented.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seeemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
You are a treasure for posting such a generous review.
It is an honour to be worthy of such high praise. Delighted you found the atelier experience so good. Please pop in on your next visit.
Many, many thanks.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Quality Food”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and myself have just spent 4 days in Ambleside, Cumbria. During our stay we ate at Atelier Restaurant and 3 others.
We travel quite a bit and enjoy eating out and finding nice restaurants. We have eaten at establishments that have gained various acreditations and chefs that have Michelin stars and have been trained by some of the well known chefs. We found the food at Atelier to be on par with anything we have had previously. Both my wife and myself had Fillet of Beef, although requested it to be cooked differently. The Chef cooked both perfectly and the presentation was of a high class. The sauce that came with the Beef contained Madeira and again as with all high class cooking, was subtle in flavour and did not over power, allowing the flavours of the Beef to come through and the superb mash accompanyment.
We obviously did not have time to eat in all the Restaurants in Ambleside during our stay, but trust me when I say that this is unlikely to be bettered.
If you're in the area don't miss the opportunity to give this restaurant a try. First class.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
When diners are happy bunnies atelier is over the moon!!
Your review is better than any tonic. Thank you VERY much for the plaudits. Chef thought your comments were 'awesome'. Hope to see you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have been eating out in Ambleside all week and just needed a main meal to finish off a wet day of walking. We had the Sea Bass which came with a very moreish Parmesan crisp and the Rump of Lakeland Lamb. The waitress advised against going for well done on the Lamb as it might not be tender enough. Went with the medium and that came out just right. Also had two children's portions of chicken goujons. The fudge with the bill was a nice touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spsducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your meal and that it was a pleasant end to what was a pretty yucky day.
Hope you have better weather for the remainder of your holiday.
Thank you
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing