We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Atelier”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We "discovered" Atelier last year about this time on spec and had 2 lovely meals. So on our first night this year where else to go? It was a pleasure to discover little had changed. Friendly welcome and unobtrusive service with that unique quirkiness. I had the special of fish soup to start with which had strong fish flavours and full of prawns and seafood on the shell. Linda had crab and fishcakes with tzatsiki and a small bowl of tomatoes and onions. Lovely. As last year I had the Barbary duck which was cooked as requested with new potatoes and young green beans in a red wine sauce. Excellent. Linda enjoyed her 2 fillets of sea bass with risotto and Parmesan crisp. All this was just foreplay though for the main event of toffee apple creme brûlée and cinder toffee ice cream which was served in a brandy snap basket. Even better than last year. The flavours of the toffee apple were just divine.2 coffees completed a lovely first evening back in Ambleside. Booked for this Thursday and got my eyes on the beef and bubble and squeak! Really pleasing to see that Atelier is the number 2 restaurant in Ambleside ( number 1 is a cafe that doesn't open evenings so in reality Atelier is number 1 ) and it just shows what can be achieved with hard work, a great chef, and great focus. Long may it continue.

1  Thank Kizzy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Wow and Wow!!!!
You have certainly put an enormous smile on the faces of all at atelier today - Chef is like the Cheshire Cat!
Your glowing plaudits make all the hard work worthwhile, and that you have returned is even more of a compliment. atelier's deepest appreciation for your amazing affirmation and recognition.
Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife & I ate at Atelier on 25th April and it was a wonderful dining experience. The food was excellent and the ambience & service was first rate. I can recommend the pork fillet / puy lentils special main if it's on the menu. My wife enjoyed the rump of lamb - cooked to perfection. Choosing from the sweet menu was the most difficult part of the evening - everything sounds delicious. I went for the stick toffee pudding, which was great, and my wife said that the creme brûlée / honeycomb ice cream sweet was the best she'd had in ages. All in all it was a perfect evening - thanks to the staff a Atelier for making sure our anniversary meal was a very special evening. Creagh & Alison A.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CreaghA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

That you have dined with us on several occasions is a huge compliment in itself!!
Both Staff and Chef are extremely grateful for the super accolades.
Delighted that your special anniversary was positively memorable - it was our pleasure to have contributed.
Hope to see you again.
Thank you.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here last night. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were made most welcome being offered a choice of table, being people watchers we chose the table by the window. The waitresses were attentive, knowlegable and efficient but not "in the way" allowing us to enjoy our meal.
Now on to the food...
Homemade fresh bread rolls ...excellent.
Tiger prawns with borlotti bean chilli ... very tasty.
Crab and mackerel cakes ...piping hot, moist and perfectly seasoned.
Mains
The Lakeland Lamb rump for Anita was cooked to perfection slightly charred (in a good way) on the outside and medium as requested. Only slight complaint, and really more of a request for next time, more of the delicious jus. This was duly noted by the waitress and on the next table I noted that our comment had been acted upon.
Barbary Duck breast...so tender that no pressure was needed to cut this. Accompanied with a shallot puree and perfectly cooked vegetables.
No room for desserts.
Thank you for an excellent meal...a perfect end to what had been a beautiful sunny day in the Lakes. We hope to be back again soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank greenie23468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

'If the only prayer you said was thank you, that would be enough.' (Meister Eckhart). This is what all at atelier would like to convey to you.
SO pleased you enjoyed your visit; that it was your anniversary is approbation in itself. BUT, a little sad you did not let us know as at atelier special occasions are given a little lift!! Next time??
Much gratitude.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My girlfriend and myself visited Atelier on Saturday evening and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. We were made to feel welcome on arrival and seated at our choice of table.

The food was delicious and we were well looked after throughout the evening by the staff there - perfect amount of friendliness and humour without being imposing. We were also given a glass of wine to apologies for the delay getting our deserts - at least I think that was the reason! We didn't notice to be honest as we having such a nice time anyway.

The price was a pleasant surprise - we had 3 courses and a bottle of wine and this came to £75.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank missingchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

You made the sun shine for both Staff and Chef with such a kind summary of your evening.
Thank you for acknowledging the hard work that goes on both behind and in front of the business.
Hope to see you again soon.
ciao
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went for dinner last Saturday and were very impressed with the standard of food and service. Particular highlights were the duck and the apple creme brûlée. Would book in advance as gets busy. I was sat by the door, which was the only negative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stockytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

It is always heartening to read such a generous review - thank you VERY much!!
Delighted that you found both the service and the food (Chef is pleased as punch) to you satisfaction.
Please do make a return visit, and you shall have the table of your choice - promise!!
Thank you for the recognition and the recommendation.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing