We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurants in Ambleside”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came across this restaurant whilst in Ambleside for one night. Excellent and friendly service. Food was well cooked and tasty. Also well presented. Congratulations to the chef and staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

The Writer will be as succinct as your EXCELLENT review!!
For the marvelous compliments - THANK YOU LOTS!!!!
a bientot
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having visited Ambleside twice a year for the last 12 years it's always good to try a new restaurant .Having visited Atelier in October for the first time couldn't wait to return on this visit. It lived up to expectations and luckily had booked in advance for our party of 5 , as on this Friday night many people were turned away. We all opted for the goats cheese starter which was beautifully presented, and then 2 of us the sea bass with king prawns and risotto ,2 chose lamb and one beef fillet.All were thoroughly enjoyed,we even managed to try the sweets we shared a trio of desserts which again were beautifully presented and my daughter enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding whilst my son enjoyed a selection of honeycomb,sticky toffee pudding and vanilla ice creams.
The 2 waitresses were very friendly and attentive , giving the restaurant a very personal and relaxing atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gillian25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

A STUPENDOUS review!!
atelier LOVES repeat visitors, particularly those who are as happy as when they first dined.
Chef is SOOOO pleased the fare was to your liking - making the hard work worthwhile.
Staff are chuffed too.
DO visit again soon.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a lovely meal here tonight. We have been in Ambleside for 3 nights and ate out at different places each night. All have been outstanding but if I had to pick a 3rd place it would be here. That might sound harsh because we really enjoyed it but I have to be honest. My mussel starter was very tasty but not much bread to dip in to the beautiful marinere sauce. The mussels were excellent. I then had the beef fillets which were perfectly cooked to my liking but I didn't like the mushrooms as they tasted of mustard. The dessert was really good, sticky toffee pudding. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her meal, tapas starter and Moroccan cous cous. As you can see we really enjoyed the food, but I was mildly disappointed when our second bottle of cotes du Rhone villages wasn't the same as the first and wasn't anywhere near as good. On the whole we enjoyed it and would definitely go again but unfortunately Ambleside from my experience has a number of fine restaurants and we are spoiled for choice.

3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Your first time and I hope it will not be the last?
Many thanks for the positives. That your Wife was very happy is wonderful. However, that your meal was not up there is disappointing. It would not have been a bother, had you asked, to provide more bread. The Fricasee flavouring is a matter of personal taste - sorry it was not to your liking.
As for the wine, unfortunately, our Supplier was unable to provide our usual , sending a substitute which was not to your taste. Happily, the usual has returned!
Thank you
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing food, excellent wines, wonderful service and attention to detail. We have been twice, travelling from Yorkshire to spend a few days in Ambleside and visit this restaurant which, with it's intimate yet friendly atmosphere, is one of our favourites. But you do need to book to ensure getting a table. Love this place. Hope they keep doing what they do best. Looking forward to our next visit.

1  Thank janenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Well aint you a TREASURE!!
What a FANTASTIC review. Chef is grinning from ear to ear - so The Writer is VERY much appreciative for that!!!
That you have dined twice AND enjoyed both experiences is a GREAT compliment indeed.
PLEASE, do pop in again when next in Ambleside.
THANK YOU
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here recently and the staff were friendly and efficient. The starters were really nice but our main courses were on the bland side. Not as good as we hoped for the price we paid.

5  Thank MerlinwizardYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Delighted the Starters were to your liking.
That you found the Main Courses 'bland' is somewhat surprising as Chef is very particular about flavouring!! One does realize/appreciate that it comes down to personal taste, and, perhaps one's preference for particular types of cuisine.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing