We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is one of many good restaurants in Ambleside. The food is a mix of Mediterranean styles. I started with Tapenade which was lovely, followed by Couscous and Chicken which was very tasty. I didn't have room for a sweet,but my husband had Creme Brûlée which he wasn't very impressed with as the Brûlée was soft. Our friends had Sticky Toffee pudding which they enjoyed. The service was good but the sitting area was rather cramped.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you VERY much for a super review.
Delighted your Group enjoyed an atelier evening.
Sorry, about the Brulee being soft - not too sure if you meant the creamy inside which is soft or the topping?
But, again appreciation for the compliments.
See you again soon.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We love the place and the food so much we come each year. Great well cooked local meats. French flavours. Excellent deserts . Lovely for a special occasion or just a simple night out. Book in advance! Very friendly staff....

1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

It is ALWAYS a pleasure to welcome your Party to atelier!
That you make such lovely sounds about Chef's Menu is indeed heartening, particularly as you travel from Belgium to experience the same each year!!
Fabulous compliments, thank you.
See you in 2015?
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Always walked by this place - what a mistake this turned out to be. Stunning food served with real personality, nothing to much trouble for the staff on duty.
The portion size is just right allows you to enjoy every course.
Got to recommend the sea bass and prawns simply gorgeous
We got there early but judging how busy it was by the time we left might be wise to book ( and this was a Wednesday night)
Will definitely be back for another visit on our next visit to Ambleside

1  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

No YOU are STUNNING!!!
What a simply AMAZING review.
You are the type of Diner who puts one's faith back in Mankind!!!
To actually come across such positive/kind comments makes up for the rather deliberate negative
malevolence that can appear on TA.
Chef and Staff thank you MUCH.
See you again??
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came across this restaurant whilst in Ambleside for one night. Excellent and friendly service. Food was well cooked and tasty. Also well presented. Congratulations to the chef and staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

The Writer will be as succinct as your EXCELLENT review!!
For the marvelous compliments - THANK YOU LOTS!!!!
a bientot
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having visited Ambleside twice a year for the last 12 years it's always good to try a new restaurant .Having visited Atelier in October for the first time couldn't wait to return on this visit. It lived up to expectations and luckily had booked in advance for our party of 5 , as on this Friday night many people were turned away. We all opted for the goats cheese starter which was beautifully presented, and then 2 of us the sea bass with king prawns and risotto ,2 chose lamb and one beef fillet.All were thoroughly enjoyed,we even managed to try the sweets we shared a trio of desserts which again were beautifully presented and my daughter enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding whilst my son enjoyed a selection of honeycomb,sticky toffee pudding and vanilla ice creams.
The 2 waitresses were very friendly and attentive , giving the restaurant a very personal and relaxing atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gillian25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

A STUPENDOUS review!!
atelier LOVES repeat visitors, particularly those who are as happy as when they first dined.
Chef is SOOOO pleased the fare was to your liking - making the hard work worthwhile.
Staff are chuffed too.
DO visit again soon.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing