We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B & Eugene & Clare wonderful hosts”
Review of The Lakes B and B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lakes B and B
Ranked #1 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B & Eugene & Clare wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from 2 day break at The Lakes, wonderful time & B&B was as everybody says perfect, we arrived early on 1st day but Eugene let us leave cases in B&B and park our car, 4 metres from front door, what a bonus. We were in room 1 & it was great, relaxed with lager which Eugene cooled for me, ready for a World Cup game before meal at restaurant recommended by them which they also booked in for us. They were perfect hosts so friendly & helpful, the breakfast was wonderful & kept us goin on our walk till we ate our sandwiches bought from their next door shop. We will definitely return to their B&B as we will be guaranteed a great time, thank you Eugene & Clare for looking after us
Trevor & Elaine

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryCollins19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Owner at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Trevor & Elaine,


Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We really enjoyed your stay with us and glad you enjoyed your walks. We love to hear from our guest especially when they have had a great time and found our B&B just what they wanted. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
147
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The Lakes B&B is a wonderful place. I was in room 3 which is the single room, and it was comfortable and immaculately clean. The breakfast is very substantial with no chance of you going hungry.

But as the other reviewers have also said, the best thing about this place is the wonderful owners Claire and Eugene. They made me feel so welcome, making me a sandwich, a piece of cake and a pot of tea when I arrived after a long and wet drive. They were very helpful and warm, and certainly go that extra mile.

I really wish this place all the very best for their first summer and for many years to come. I certainly hope to be back soon too!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Manager at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Mel,


Thank you for the wonderful review it was lovely to meet you. We really appreciate your comments and glad to hear from our guest that they have had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A pleasure from start to finish. From ringing to confirm everything to saying goodbye Eugene and Claire made our stay just delightful. Even arriving after 11pm at night we were still greeted with a smile and warmth. The b&b itself is in a great location, right in the center of Ambleside, a 10 minute drive into Grasmere and about 20 minutes drive from Windemere. The room was impeccably clean, modern and filled with little touches that made it very homely. Breakfast had a good selection you couldn't fault it. This b&b experience rivalled some of my stays in high star hotels. Nothing was too much for Eugene and Claire. I would stay here again without question and I have recommended The Lakes B&B to all my friends and family. You won't be disappointed booking here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizbungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Owner at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Lizzie and Ruth,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review we really appreciate your comments. We try are best to ensure our guest are comfortable and have everything they need. It was lovely to have you both stay with us you really had a good time you brought a smile to our faces to see how happy you both were, we look forward to your return.

Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home (homemade cake and tea on arrival and Easter eggs with breakfast). The little touches made our stay special. Lovely warm, friendly atmosphere, it was like staying with friends. Our room was ummacuatley clean and comfortable with everything we needed provided by our hosts, even cotton buds!! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Owner at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Tracey & Malcolm,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us, we have met such lovely people and are sorry to see them go. We really appreciate guest taking the time to leave a review and its reassuring to know that our guest are happy with our facilities and our hospitality. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you book this B+B you will not be disappointed! Nothing is two much trouble and both Eugene and Clare really go that extra mile to make your stay extra special. Everywhere is beautifully clean and tidy and smells lovely. We arrived as complete strangers and left as good friends and we are planning are next visit of as soon as we can escape work.
Russell and Glinys

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glinys j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Manager at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Glinys & Russell,


Thank you so much for the wonderful review we really enjoyed your stay with us and feel like we have made new friends we look forward to your return trip. Your review comments assure us that we are making our guest comfortable and happy it does matter to us that we give our guest the best stay they can have.

See you both soon

Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

From the second I called to the last goodbye I could not fault this wonderful place. Eugene and Clare make you feel like a long lost friend. The place is immaculate the rooms are brand new with as good a quality as you have in your own home, I have never found anywhere cleaner, Flat screen TV, tea, coffee, decaf, drinking chocolate, delish biscuits, all soaps, thick towels, very comfy mattress, beautiful cotton covers. Walkers very welcome. Good choice for breakfast and quality products, beautifully cooked. Immaculate bathroom, full heating control, brand new opening windows. 100 yards from the centre so very little noise but next to everything. All the guests talked at breakfast saying what a wonderful place it was. I'm looking forwards to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLEGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Manager at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Brian,


Thank you so much for the fantastic review we love to read our guests comments it makes it all worth while to know we are making guest comfortable and happy that's why we are here. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again we really do feel like we have made lots of new friends.

Regards Clare & Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Thanks very much to Eugene and Clare, the friendly hosts who made our stay so wonderful. The B&B is so homely and the room was beautifully cleaned, fresh smelling and comfortable when we arrived and after a long day walking, a great selection of films too if you feel like chilling out. The full english breakfast was fantastic and so were the sandwiches Clare kindly made for our walk up Helvellyn, along with the fresh coffee and yummy flapjack. We had a fantactic stay and we hope to visit you again soon. Simon and Zoe

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoec05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesambleside, Manager at The Lakes B and B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Simon & Zoe, Thank you so much for your wonderful review Eugene and I love to hear that our guests have been really happy with their stay. We feel like we get to know our guest whilst they stay with us and we are a little sorry when they leave. Its great to see our guests having such a good time completing challenging walks/runs and chilling. We look foreword to seeing you again at our place in the near future ; )

Clare and Eugene
The Lakes B and B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
1,118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes B and B

Property: The Lakes B and B
Address: 12 Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Ambleside, in the heart of the beautiful Lake District. The Lakes B&B offers mountain views and is only a 5-minute drive from Windermere, England's largest lake. A home-cooked breakfast is also provided each morning. Guests can enjoy mountain views from rooms which are decorated using natural colours and wood furnishings. They come equipped with a flat-screen TV/DVD as well as an en suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi. The Lakes B&B is just a 15-minute drive from Helvellyn Mountain, England's third largest peak. The hotel is located close to many woodland trails or picturesque walks, some start and finish at the hotel itself. We offer drying facilities and bike storage. We can sort out parking if you let us know you require it. We have a lovely sunny court yard for our guest to enjoy the sun. Free parking is possible but must be arrange at time of booking limited spaces. Motor bikes are welcome free parking for motor bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lakes B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes B And B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing