We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Backpackers
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ambleside
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
55
24
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
24
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

5 of us ventured up from Bath for a week in Ambleside - we could not have been happier with Ambleside backpackers hostel

I've made a list of my favourite things:
1) Free Tea, Coffee and Breakfast - A lovely bonus, how lovely it was to whip up a big pot of tea and sit around the fire in the lounge after a long walk :D which brings me to number 2..
2) The Lounge: Cosy and clean, but also massive and enough sofas for everyone to spread out and sit, read, watch telly and nap (that was me!) after a long day without being on top of each other. The fire was cosy and there was a nice little library going on.
3) Showers: on the womens side the two 'curtained' showers were hotter than the white plastic doored ones - but they were clean and hot. Bliss after a trip to the top of Loughrigg Fell in a hailstorm....
4) Kitchen: fab, huge and full of every piece of a equipment you could need: we cooked up a variety of things every night and enjoyed cooking in such a big kitchen.
5) Beds: comfortable and cosy bedding. Nice and clean. We were in a 6 person dorm with sheleving, a sink and a view to die for :)

Can't recommend the place highly enough. Just Lovely!

Thanks Again!
Sarah Robinson

Room Tip: We were in room number 4 - the views of the surrounding hills were fab
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRobinson142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Whilst lacking the Lakeside location of the currently closed YHA, this is an excellent budget option in Ambleside. The hostel is a 5-6 min walk from the town centre and the only possible complaint is the lack of parking, it's a bit of a lottery.......The rooms are clean, relatively spacious and the common spaces are well maintained. The kitchen is excellent, little touches like providing tin foil, cooking oil etc that make a difference and a decent cereal and toast breakfast which is included in the (ever so slightly high) price. There is a free computer, Terry who was working was friendly and polite and I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great location, good welcome and very hospitable. Friendly staff have good knowledge of local area to recommend food etc... Clean rooms, good showers, comfortable beds and relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Having decided to spend New Year’s in the Lake District the 6 of us headed to stay in the Ambleside Backpackers for 3 nights. Though on arrival it was tipping it down outside, we were given a really warm welcome. The accommodation was great, with the 6 of us in one room, and it was the perfect location to explore the surrounding area and get onto the fells. The amenities are great and it features a brilliant communal Kitchen with a light breakfast (toast, cereals, tea, coffee etc) to help ourselves to which I thought was a lovely touch, and plenty of space to cook for yourself.

The lounge is lovely and a great place to sit and chat and meet the other residents, which provides a brilliant atmosphere. The staff were brilliant and were friendly, helpful and indeed knowledgeable of the area. All in all a brilliant place and a great way to spend New Year – we will be back many times no doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Non3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

+ves
Good location
Nice hostel with a good atmosphere created by the owner/staff.
Good recommendations for local food/beer/walks
Warm
Nice Showers

-ves
Slightly squeaky beds.
Sheet sleeping bags
have had more exciting breakfasts for a hostel at this price (just some croissants would make it amazing for me)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Skomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews