We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like those comfortable old shoes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

If you are a regular, you know precisely what you will get, just like those old shoes, neither gleaming nor fashionable, but homely and comfortable. Food never really changes,you won't die of excitement, nor will you starve It remains however excellent value, sometimes ridiculously so, in this area of hotel pretentiousness, it is by far the best value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

Don’t come here if you have a taste for the lavish or extravagant and expect every last facility and accommodation.
There is nothing much around this hotel but stunning scenery and a multitude of river forest and hill walks and only minutes by car are the honeypots of Ambleside, Coniston and Hawkshead. The corridors are like a rabbit warren and some of the rooms are a little small. There are only a few channels on the TV and the wi-fi doesn’t seem to reach very far; it’s also pretty much inaccessible by mobile ‘phone so you can be as cut off as your wish.
However the place is utterly charming, unpretentious, welcoming and unfussy.
Whenever we've stayed we've gained the impression that the staff genuinely want to have you enjoy your stay as you would wish, rather than to fit in with their agenda.
A wonderful warm atmosphere in winter and idyllic in summer. Helpful and attentive staff and simply mouth-watering food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Our stay at Skelwith Bridge was so peaceful and relaxing especially good to recharge your batteries just before Christmas. The location is quiet,the food is excellent,the rooms are clean and comfortable (especially the bed),the staff are friendly and helpful. What more could you want from a wonderful traditional lakeland hotel. Sitting by the fire with an iced sherry was the icing on the cake for me.Just needed Bing to start with the Christmas songs ha haThe area is brilliant for walking whether you want a leisurely stroll or a strenuous walk ,they can all be done from the hotel.What you also need to be aware of is because of the hotels location mobile phone reception is very poor,not a bad thing if your trying to relax.I think this hotel is excellent value for money. Well done once again Skelwith keep up the good work.

Room Tip: luxury rooms are more spacious and still good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little Miss Bossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This was our Annual Walking Holiday together with 5 friends.
If you're looking for a cozy bolt hole in The Lakes where you can relax then this has got to be seriously considered.
We always have a standard room with a bath and find this adequate and always spotlessly clean. With refreshments replenished daily and loads of hot water for a relaxing soak after a day out walking.
The food at breakfast and dinner is very good. Cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, porridge and a wide variety of goodies for the renowned Skelwith Grill, even kippers and hadock.
Loads of toast and preserves.
There is a wide choice on offer for dinner, all of which were cooked to our liking and we never felt rushed with the meal.
We've all booked for next year, I've got to go back as I was so relaxed after our stay that I left my walking boots behind

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I booked the hotel along with another couple only 2 weeks prior to our stay. On booking I specifically agreed with the receptionist that we would have a room in the hotel (we have stayed a number of time previously). She had waved the need to have a two night stay as the other couple were staying two nights and it was only 2 weeks before the date of the stay.

On arriving we found that we had been moved to the annex which as can be seen from the reviews are not of the same standard as the rooms in the main hotel. As there were no other rooms available and it was 18:00hrs we had little choice but to accept. The following day when checking out we complained to the receptionist who told my wife that as some more regular guests had wanted a room for 2 nights they had been allocated our room and we had been moved. How nice!! She was unwilling to make any adjustment to the bill as she seemed to think it was her prerogative to take this action without consulting us, effectively breaking a verbal contract. What a way to treat guests - not sure how often you have to stay before you can expect reasonable treatment?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cragwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferTemple, Manager at Skelwith Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Dear Guest, It is with regret that I have read your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry you classed the rooms as in the outhouse, the rooms are all the same standard as our standard rooms in the main hotel, the only difference been you have to cross the car park to gain entry. We realise the lady in question was wrong to move your room without informing you, but hotels don't usually give you a choice to which room you are allocated. Guest feedback is very important to us and the points raised have been discussed and action taken. I am sorry you did not bring these points to my attention on the day of your departure as I would have been able to try and rectify the matter there and then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The only slight improvement that the hotel could make - to up it from a 4.5 star to a 5 star review from me - would be to get some of the staff to be a little more customer focussed. The customer service varied from welcoming and friendly to `can I get a smile from her today`,

However, I noticed that some of the guests were at times rude to the staff so perhaps they have become wary. Maybe some training in how to deal with difficult people would be useful.

All in all though a lovely little hotel, very good value, spotlessly clean, great food and a fantastic place for walking.

Loved itl.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room to get a better one. The one I had was over the bar but it was only noisy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

After being constantly disappointed by hotels in the UK, we were so pleased to find this hotel. The location was central for visiting the Lakes, our room (we paid for an upgrade) was large, clean and the bed really big. The bathroom was also large. The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner with a really good choice each evening and completely different each day. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Not sure about the normal rooms but paying for an upgrade was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RailwayChildren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
2 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skelwith Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge
Skelwith Bridge Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing