We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in June with my partner, along with my parents and grandparents and I had a very pleasent stay. Our luxury double room was spacious and well decorated, very clean - amazing bathroom, the jacuzzi bath is ideal after a long days walking.

The food was not as great as I expected (having stayed here several times a few years back) with smaller portions and less well cooked meat than previous. Some of the desserts tasted a little bit bought in, I would reccommend the cheese board which is well worth it!

I wouldn't recommend this place to young couples, I enjoyed it as I was with my family but on reflection if it was me and my partner I would choose somewhere with a more lively atmosphere (this is a middle aged an over hotel, I do not mean that offensively in anyway as my parents and grandparents love it here - in fact they re-booked for the day we checked out).

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the luxury rooms, the space and bath are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineS_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    132
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
187
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our third stay at this wonderful hotel and it certainly won't be our last. Our room although quite small had everything we wanted, was spotlessly clean and had a good view up the valley. On our previous stay, our room was on the other side of the hotel, so had views of the hillside where the lambs were gambling and hens were pecking.

If you want to get an idea of the atmosphere here, it is exactly the place where you would be happy to bring your granny as well as your kids - hence the title. This is a dog friendly hotel too and although there were several around, they all behaved exceptionally well, as did the clientele. As Basil would have put it, no riff-raff here! Having said that people were equally comfortable in the restaurant in teashirts or jacket and tie.

The staff cannot do enough for you. If you have stayed before, they make a point of welcoming you back as old friends. The real ale bar is excellent, where you can have a bar meal if you don't want to use the restaurant. But the restaurant is certainly worth a visit. We got a package deal on our accomodation, including our meal for only £15 extra.

Wi-fi as well as mobile connections are hit and miss, but when you come to a hotel as good as this, who wants to use a mobile?

If walking is your thing, then this is a central point to enjoy it from. With most well known walks a short drive away. The hotel offer and I bought a couple of good walking guides. There is a nice mainly level path (probably wheel chair usuable) starting at the hotel, along the valley to Elterwater, which we walked to in about ½ hour, had a drink at the pub before returning. I also took the opportunity of going up Loughrigg Crag before breakfast one morning (about 1½ hours return) and again the path is convenient to the hotel and well maintained. There is a drying room in the hotel if the Lake District weather gets the better of you.

You will find cheaper hotels anywhere these days, but in terms of value for money this one is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for the room you want - they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishGentAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Skelwith bridge is isolated location on the road from Ambleside to Coniston, at the entrance to the Langdale valley. A bus tavels every two hours up and down the Langdale valley. An extremely pleasant section of the Cumbrian Way leads from the hotel to Elterwater. My room was well equipped and clean. I was in the Annex where neighboring room conversations were audible from upstairs. That was one night in an otherwise perfect stay. I ate in the Talbot bar most evenings. I ate dinner in the dining room on one night. All were excellent. The hotel is dog friendly, so you will see an unusual number of dogs. Although I am not a dog person, the dogs were perfectly behaved and a credit to their owners. There is a residents garden, which is small but beautiful. I could sit and read and sunbathe there.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwatsontlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Me and my wife decided to give this place a try for our evening meal after calling in earlier on in the day after a walk. We didn't have lunch earlier on but decided to have tea for two, this cost just £1.90 and when it arrived it consisted of a large pot of tea with another pot of hot water and four large shortcake biscuits (really good value for money). We decided to look at the evening menu and noticed that the meals were reasonable priced for the Lake District as well as seeing and smelling the lunch menu that was being served to other people in the bar.
We arrived at 7pm and ordered one starter of homemade chicken liver pate (which was the best I’ve tasted in ages) and two Steak and Ale homemade pies. We were not disappointed with the quality or quantity of our main courses and were thoroughly stuffed at the end of the meal.
The Talbot is a nice place to eat and certainly value for money ( considering other places we have eaten) and the next time we are up in that region of the Lake District we will certainly give it another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great hotel, considering its pet friendly hotel Skelwith it is very clean, with smart decor.
Perfect for us, family of 4 and a large dog.
Eat with family and dog in the great real ale bar.
Only thing I would add is a cleaning area outside ( hose pipe ) to clean boots and dogs down after a good days walking.
We have stayed twice and will be staying again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just stayed for 2 nights on the current special Winter Warmer break. We could not fault a thing. The hotel is spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The food was exceptional - hang on to your chef! The hotel uses local produce where possible and we enjoyed a 3 course meal each evening with coffee and mints served in the lounge by a roaring fire. Breakfast was another feast with the hotel's own free range eggs and the delicious Cumberland sausage. There are beautiful walks immediately on the doorstep so we didn't have to use the car at all, just as well as we experienced some quite Wintry weather! We can't recommend the hotel highly enough, the staff were the best and we appreciated all the attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our third stay and as usual the place didnt let us down. Perfect location for walking to places like The Drunken Duck Pub, Hawkshead and arounf Elterwater. The rooms are adequate and good for dog owners. The food wasnt as good as normal and there was no steak left on our second night. Bit of a let down along with the price of the lager...... Take your own with you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJulieElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
12.5 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Property: Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Address: Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skelwith Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge
Skelwith Bridge Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing