We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN IMPROVEMENT IN QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“AN IMPROVEMENT IN QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We visited the Talbot bar again recently and there was a marked improvement in the quality of food and service since our last visit realier in the year. There obviously been an effort to improve things.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    123
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
64
177
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here two nights on the 29th and 30th November,2012. this was our second visit. We stayed in the disabled friendly Grasmere Room, good accomodation throughout. The bar was warm and friendly, a blazing real fire adding to the ambience. The lounge and restaurant were cosy and warm too, temperatures were below freezing outside. The staff were efficient and friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent and varied, we ate there both nights. We would come back again.
Anne Macdonald.

Room Tip: They have a wheelchair friendly room. A walk in shower, and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is our first choice hotel in this part of The Lakes for our annual walking and MTB trip.
This year 13 of us enjoyed between 2 and 6 days of strenuous adventures on the hills which are easily accessible from the hotel without using the car.
The food from a full Cumbrian Breaakfast to a lighter fresh fruit and toast start to the day sets us up for even the hungriest of our group.
Dinner was as good as ever from a varied menu including a range of 4 starters and main course consisting of; fish, usually 3 meat courses and a vegetarian choice. Then a choice of sweets or cheeseboard and coffee served in the lounge.
The bar is well stocked with a good range of drinks for all tastes within our group.
Excellent drying room, although this year we had 5 days of sunny periods and just one of all day rain.
After 30 years of visitng SBH they still tick all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: The de-lux rooms are worth the extra cost although the standard rooms are more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We popped in here for a quick bite to eat on our way back home after a lovely weekend in the Lakes, my Fiancee and I had a Ploughmans each and our daughter had Pasta. The Ploughmans was very nice, a large portion, a good amount of thick ham and lots of cheeses and a nice french stick with a good selection of salad. Our daughters Kids Meal of Pasta was full of veggies which she didn't really enjoy. It was quiet apart from football blasting out on the TV, not what we really want when we go to the pub. It was ok for a quick pub lunch but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have to admit to a deep love of the Lake District, and this hotel makes an ideal base for the Southern area. Ambleside, Grasmere, Buttermere and a number of other lakes are within easy reach and the Langdales are within walking distance. The rooms are well appointed, all en suite, and very comfortable. For those who worry about the reputation of the Lake district for rain, worry no more, the hotel has a very good.drying room and a day in the cold and wet merely sharpens the appetite for the delights of the restaurant, local produce, well prepared and presented, plenty of it and a good wine list to boot. Heaven.
For those who have not been exercising sufficiently to do justice to the restaurant, there is the Talbot (a type of hunting dog, apparently, though I did not know it) bar, which serves light meals and excellent beer. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: North side tends to be out of the weather, south side have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanfairhurst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynneath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in a party of 20. The staff were friendly, accomodatinga nad alwys helpful. Rooms clean & tidy on arrival, serviced daily. Breakfast & Evening meals were surpurb. The location was beautiful. There was no noise disturbance from other rooms - quiet & tranquil. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Spent a long weekend here recently and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the Lakes and as usual the facilities, food and accommodation were up to their usual high standard.

The atmosphere around the public areas is very relaxed and the staff are always very helpful.

Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire_lad_MOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Property: Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Address: Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skelwith Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge
Skelwith Bridge Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing