We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What wonderful service. Food brilliant. Great choice and portions superb. Grandkids loved it Helpful and polite. Totally recommend. All aspects brilliant and will be going again to enjoy food. Excellent beer choice too

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennetts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had two nights at this hotel in July, with a friend. What a great value hotel; the rooms were comfortable and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. This hotel, about 20 minuits walk out of Ambleside is in a lovely spot and a great base for visiting the surrounding lakes and villages. Great for walking and dog friendly too, which is a bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Friendly and efficient service throughout our stay. Food was first class and good portions. Staff were most helpful at all times. There were 4 of us on a walking weekend. Two stayed in the annex. I found it very quiet although the single room was small. However, as it was only for a couple of nights, this wasn't a problem. Definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billbobwales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were expecting a hotel geared towards walkers but it was also much more.

Our deluxe room was large and well furnished. It had a comfortable king-sized bed and excellent bathroom, including a jacuzzi.

The staff were pleasant and efficient. Everything about the place ran well.

Dinners ranged from good to outstanding and the breakfasts were first-class. Both included ample supplies of fresh coffee.

The public areas were comfortable and the adjoining small bar was connected to the Talbot Bar, a large public bar, so a wide range of drinks was available.

Overall, it was as good as we have experienced in the Lakes and much better than some at a similar price

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buxtonjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at this dog friendly Hotel for three nights mid April 2013. We had a large double room which was very clean and had everything we needed. We came for the walking and although we had mixed weather there was a large drying room for any wet gear and a real fire burning to warm us up during pre dinner drinks!

Staff were friendly and helpful.

We ate there each evening and the food was very good as was the choice.

We definately intend to return and this time bring the pooch with us!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Skelwith Bridge Hotel for 2 nights last weekend and really enjoyed it. We stayed in Grasmere, on the ground floor, for which we were very pleased, due to the heatwave. The room was very spacious and clean. Alhough there was no view, it was quiet.
We had two excellent evening meals. The menu was different both nights with plenty of choice and some imaginative dishes. We thoroughly enjoyed both meals. Breakfast was also excellent, with alternatives to the usual fry and lots of cereals, fruit etc.
I also have to mention the staff. They were all friendly, helpful and very hardworking. We were very impressed.
We are already planning to return for another stay before the year is out!

Room Tip: Grasmere is disabled friendly and very spacious. You could sometimes hear the TV from the bar, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1riggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If we decide to have a weekend in the Lake District, we find ourselves re-booking at the Skelwith Bridge Hotel, even though there are other lovely places to try. It's perfect for us - very charming with a relaxing atmosphere. Nice rooms, excellent breakfast and evening meals, friendly staff. They have got everything right in our opinion. We stayed last weekend in the fabulous sunshine. It was a short drive from the Langdale Pikes, and we had a good day climbing up to Pavey Ark. We sat at the top taking in the magnificent scenery and ate the packed lunch supplied by the hotel. It was nice to relax in the jacuzzi bath when we got back, then have a sparkling wine in the peaceful front garden, before we had an excellent dinner, followed by coffee and mints in the lounge, where we sat reading for a while. I can't think of a better way to spend a well earned weekend away from home. Hope you enjoy as much as we did ! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
2 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skelwith Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge
Skelwith Bridge Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing