We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in the Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smallwood House Hotel
Ranked #60 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I’m not sure how many reviews you can leave on the same place but this is our automatic ‘go to’ when we visit Ambleside. A bit late leaving this review due to just being busy.
Another lovely stay at the Smallwood and Christine & Anthony were the perfect hosts as ever.
Fab & filling breakfasts cooked to order ( Mrs offline really enjoyed her ‘can you burn the bacon please’) and the selection of cereals, fruits, yogurts etc followed by a ‘full English’ with optional variations just sets you up for the day and puts a smile on your face.
As mentioned by others, the car park at the back is a wonderful bonus as most other places don’t have this facility and it can be a real pain having to park on the road as there is a time limit. If keys are left with Anthony he will move the cars around with expert precision to accommodate both arrivals & leavers – it’s an art :)
Another great stay with Smallwood but would advise to book directly with them as opposed to booking sites as there is no price difference & a direct relationship is made which I think really helps.
Looking forward to going back soon to unwind & relax ….always a pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms at the very top are a bit quirky but are beautifully furnished and enjoy a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0ff_Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Well Mrs Off_line, we look forward to 'burning your bacon' for you again soon. Your wish is our command so to speak. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I thought the website didn't do the B&B justice and in especially the outside of the building looked much nicer in reality than on the web. The inside was well tended, spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The room I had was quiet and perfectly comfy. Although my friend and I were in the attic level so whilst my spacious light and airy room was great, there is a low ceiling in the en-suite bathroom so a shower wasn't possible but there is a bath, whereas my friends room had a low roof in some areas of the bedroom but a full height bathroom with a shower - the ceiling wasn't a problem in any way and we just had to remember to duck occasionally. I thought my room had a lovely view from the new sash window looking over the town and beyond to the fells.
Breakfast was as good as it gets with excellent quality ingredients and coffee. The owners were very pleasant to chat to. Off street parking at the back of the B&B is a good bonus for those with cherished cars as many in the area only have on street parking with some parking restrictions in force until 17:00 hrs I think.
For what we paid and the associated expectations that come with that price bracket I would say "faultless, pleasantly surprised and I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone looking for a B&B at that price range". I would even rate it over some 4* hotels I have stayed in over the years.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are very quiet, spacious but do have areas with low ceilings, for example part of my bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KramGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you, it was nice to have you both staying and we hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Its not the most modern place but has everything you need. its dog friendly too which is the reasons we stayed here but the people were great and breakfast had a good selection of options. There is the option to use the facilities at a nearby hotel but with the dog we couldn't as they didn't want it leaving alone in the room which is understandable but we do take a cage with us (we left her in the car whilst we had breakfast). The room was very clean and so was everywhere else and they were helpful in suggesting places to go walking. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Sorry you couldnt use the spa, but if you had mentioned to us we could have organised something. Sadly we have had a problem with some dogs being left alone and so have had to ask owners not to leave them now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a two day break at Smallwood guest house for my wife's birthday . This place is spotless from the top to bottom with good selection for your breakfast and very friendly owners. Our room was at the very top with great views up to the fells, everything in the room was clean although had trouble with tv reception. It states that if you book direct with owners you will receive a free bottle of wine unfortunately this never happened, not to worry this is a great pet friendly guest house in central location and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Oh dear, so sorry you missed your bottle of wine. Send me an email so I am certain I have the right person and we can correct that. You were probably unsure whether to mention it when you were here, but a quick question of 'Do I qualify for the bottle of wine as I booked with you directly?' would have been met with a 'Yes definitely' You slipped through the net, apologies again.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife had a lovely birthday. 'Many Happy Returns'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked last minute for a two day break as my husband had 2 days off work and myself recently had a baby. after ringing around many hotels and finding everyone had zero tolerance on babys and are in the dark ages we contacted Smallwood and they had no issues. Our baby is 5 months and is very good does not cry and sleeps through I wouldn't dream of going away if she was fretful and risk of keeping other guests awake. The owners were kind and attentive and set up a lovely cot for us. Hotel is just lovely, clean and quaint. Nice relaxing reading room and in a prime location. Had a wonderful sleep in a lovely large room on the top floor. Lovely bath products provided which were very expensive. I enjoyed a lovely lavender bath while baby slept. Huge bed and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and well made and lots of options available. I'd stay here again most definitely. We booked direct and got a bottle of wine on arrival which we didn't expect. Thankyou for a lovely stay. Also has a large car park at back of hotel. Just a shame the weather decided to be poor right after we arrived.

Room Tip: We were in 12 top floor nice and large. Has a bath in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you, so pleased we were able to have you staying with us. Hope its not too long until we see you again.
It is always worth booking directly with us, hope you enjoyed the wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. The hotel is located close to the centre of Ambleside, so a very short walk to local shops, pubs and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was very clean and breakfast was plentiful . We had a top floor room which overlooked the fells. Parking is provided at the rear, this is important in Ambleside as there is limited parking space around the village. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davyboy278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. We enjoy what we do and it helps when you enjoy your stay as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really comfortable room, spacious, nice decor, really clean. Lots of thoughtful additions for a b&b, hair dryer, kettle etc, lovely soaps etc.

Good parking. It's nice when a b&b or hotel that is in a busy area says they have parking and you find they really do.

Great breakfast.

Location is great, right in the centre of Ambleside.

Great welcome, and so helpful with things to do/directions etc.

Room Tip: We were in 7, twin beds, view of the hills over Ambleside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallwood House Hotel

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smallwood House Hotel is a family run bed & breakfast, offering quality 4 star accommodation and award winning Cumbrian breakfasts in Ambleside in the heart of the English Lake District.Being slightly larger than your average Cumbrian B&B, our guest house provides the perfect place to enjoy short breaks or longer holidays in one of our 12 comfortable, individually furnished bedrooms.Our relaxed and friendly B&B team will help you make the most of your stay, whether you are seeking a romantic getaway, family holiday, activity break or group vacation.Ambleside is the perfect choice for exploring the Lake District and Cumbria. Leave the car behind and take a bus trip to some of our lovely nearby towns and villages, such as Grasmere, Hawkshead & Keswick. If the weather is less than kind during your visit, there are plenty of indoor visitor attractions nearby, including the homes of famous Lakeland literary figures like William Wordsworth or Beatrix Potter. From the pier at Waterhead in Ambleside you can take a boat trip or cruise on Windermere to Bowness or Lakeside at the opposite end of the Lake. Windermere Lake Cruises sail all year and their boats offer you lots of protection from the elements. Remember, our B&B guests also have use of the luxury spa and swimming pool at a hotel just a few minutes walk away - a great way to relax during your break. We are in the centre of Ambleside, a bustling and vibrant small market town offering a good selection of specialist shops and great quality restaurants, bars and cafes. The town is great for shopping, with lots of independent shops that are a bit different to the norm, and some recognised brand names you'll know and love. Smallwood House Hotel has a private car park and offers complimentary WiFi access for our B&B guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smallwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallwood House Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing