We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brathay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
212
90
28
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
90
28
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastjacuzzi bathcar parkb bwill stay there againcold meatsfour posterthe ground floorposter bedfull englishsized roomfamily roomample parkinga couple of minutes walkdvd playercentral locationtown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We arrived at Brathay Lodge having been turned away from another Ambleside hotel that we had booked and paid for. We were tired and anxious. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly, found us a four poster room at a brilliant price and all our troubles were over. The room was warm, bright, clean and large. The bathroom was lovely, and the breakfast was great - a buffet style but full of delicious cold meats, cereals, fruit etc. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scb173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Lots of positives ----Good location at the edge of the centre (nearest lake) , good car park , separate entrance from the extra lodge accomadation at the rear/side . Clean and friendly team run the hotel .

The breakfast is continental and self service , the toaster is a bit agrressive (!) but very relaxed setting however if you like your full english maybe not for you.

Ambleside is not cheap and a lot of places want 2 nights (including the Lodge) IF like us you want 1 night may be worth a phone call direct to the Lodge.

Would use again .

Room Tip: Ambleside is not cheap and a lot of places want 2 nights (including the Lodge) IF like us you want 1 night may be worth a phone call.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2012. It’s a great location with lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby. Our room had a great view across towards the Church. The proprietors were both very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and kept to a high standard. The addition of a DVD played and a selection of DVDs is a great touch, especially on a rainy day! The continental breakfast is a welcome change to the more traditional English Breakfast you would usually expect to find at a B & B. We would highly recommend the Brathay Lodge for anyone visiting Ambleside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonyawLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is our third visit to Brathay lodge and once again we were not disappointed.
We take our two young children and they are treated fantastically. Nothing is ever too much for the staff; they put a small fridge in our room for our sons bottles, bought us special milk in and heated our sons food.
It is very relaxed and you can take your own food in in the evening.
The rooms are spotless and we have always had a four poster room which has amazing views over the green and is more than big enough for four of us. Must admit we all liked the jacuzzi bath and took full advantage of it.
Although they don't do a cooked breakfast they have a great range of fruit, cooked meats, cereals etc... The only thing that would be good would be some hot porridge.
We look forward to our fourth visit next year and would thoroughly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daisyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed at the Brathay Lodge for a long weekend in the four poster room at the front with fantastic views. The room was very large with four poster bed, three windows, settee and other bedroom furniture, TV & DVD etc. The bathroom is large with a good size powerful jacuzzi bath and shower. All the decor is very tastefully done. The location of the hotel allows you to walk into Ambleside town in a minute as well as explore Bowness, Grasmere fairly nearby. There is a good size car park to the side. The downstairs has a good size breakfast room where a buffet breakfast is served, this is a cold buffet but the choice is very considerable and the staff were very good about bringing us in specific food to meet the dietary requirements for our little one. They also have a DVD library which was a good idea as it meant that we could put DVDs on in the room for our little ones as well as for ourselves.
Probably the best feature of the hotel is the wonderful staff, nothing was too much trouble for the team, and frequentlty they went out of their way to help us including keeping my 4 year old daughter amused on many occasions. We have stayed here before and one of the reasons we came back was the friendliness of the staff. It is also one of the key reasons why we will definitely be coming back again to Brathay Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building have great views of Loughrigg.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaisysDad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews