We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brathay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brathay Lodge
Ranked #38 of 106 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We have just come back from a 1 night stay at this hotel and was very pleased with our stay.
Having been camping in the lakes, we ended up avoiding the Storms and booking in here.
The hotel is very clean and tidy, and the owners are extremely friendly and we're very welcoming. Our room was right at the top of the hotel and although a bit of a hike to the top floor, the room was very spacious and clean. The jacuzzi bath was great to relax in after camping!
The location is great, only a couple of minutes walk in to the center of Ambleside.
Definitely will be recommending to people.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thank you for such a great review glad we were able to accommodate you during the poor weather, i'm pleased to say the weather since has been great for camping!! We lookin forward to welcoming back to the Lakes in sunnier climates. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    67
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
146
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016

This hotel is very accessible for cars and is at the north end of lake Windermere.
We found the management and staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was continental and very good.
All in all an excellent base from which to see all of the Lake District.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to car park are more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Thank you for the great review pleased you enjoyed you break in the Lakes. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Shower was too hot then too cold, to much noise from the traffic coming through. Not enough tables for breakfast in the morning. Bed linen was dirty in arrival. No one at reception after 6pm. No people skills and rude. I would not recommend this place to family and friends as its not worth the money they charge you.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank smeg290316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
We have no recollection of this person staying at Brathay Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

My wife and I broke our return home from holiday to spend a Friday to Monday stay at Brathay Lodge. We were early signing in but were greeted warmly and were given a room on the second floor. I have included photographs of our bedroom and en suite, to show the very comfortable accommodation with which we were provided. We were impressed with the high standard of cleanliness in our room, en suite and dining room.

The Lodge is situated on a busy road through Ambleside but it is only a few minutes walk to the shopping centre, where there is a whole variety of shops, eating places, bus stops, etc. Although the Lodge was busy while we were there, including families, there was sufficient parking for visitors cars. I was unaware of any lift in the building.

The quality and quantity of the food provided for the self-service breakfast was excellent, especially the fresh and dried fruit. The room was very comfortable and fully equipped, however it was necessary to go to the public rooms near reception to have anything like good wifi reception.

We used the good bus service on rover tickets to visit other towns such as Keswick, rather than try and deal with the congested roads and difficult parking, which was also expensive anyway.

Room Tip: Our room was in a quiet location but we were able to go up all the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Thank you kindly for an excellent review glad your first visit to Brathay was an enjoyable one and thank you for all the feedback. Each Winter when closed we generally do a large project of some form and this Winter we are extending our Wi-Fi service to all rooms! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

Spent two nights here whilst sailing at Coniston. Room was very good everything that you could need the spa bath was especially nice after coming off the water after a hard days sailing and relaxing before we went out for dinner. Was also offered a discount card for the restaurant we were eating at, Continental breakfast was just great.

Room Tip: Lower down the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Thank you for a very positive review glad your sailing break went well and Coniston being just 8 miles away is a great alternative to Windermere. Glad one of the many discount cards was made to good use! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

A friend booked this for us, the owner was very friendly ... We stayed in room 12 which has 2 bay windows superking bed, good quality bed linen, a sofa, table and chairs dressing table and wardrobe, large spacious room with ensuite and spa bath, nice toiletries, coffee making facilities .. Complimentary bottled water .. Flat screen tv .... Bed very comfy and slept well even with all the windows open there was no noise and our room was at the front of the hotel with beautiful views .. Breakfast although not a full English was plentiful with a huge variety on offer .. You won't go hungry ... Will definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Overall a great stay and thank you for the feedback look forward to your next visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Brathay lodge was a very good stay. Spacious clean rooms with power shower and spa baths. (Amaing after a day out). Tea /Coffee facilities are good. The beds do have solid mattresses so ask for topper if you like soft bed.
We were on the ground floor with our own access (good) However if you want the view that draws you on the website(which is why i booked this) phone and ask which room because our view was the car park !!!.( Which is free and useful)
The breakfast is a reasonable continental which you can take to your room.
All in all a lovey stay the management were lovely and because our room was ready we got early check in too.

Room Tip: Dont get ground room floors if you want a view. Also although reasonable as such we could hear footf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey_hamilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, were pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to meeting you again the near future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#16 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#25 of 106 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#41 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#65 of 106 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 106 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brathay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Lodge

Property: Brathay Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brathay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Brathay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hotel Ambleside
Brathay Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing