We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
258
106
28
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
106
28
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast jacuzzi bath car park will stay there again cold meats top floor four poster boiled eggs full english poster bed ideal location a couple of minutes walk lake district no lift ample parking large room dvd player
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Stayed at Brathay Lodge for a long weekend mid-January.

We received a warm welcome and the room was ready when we arrived at lunchtime (although they weren't particularly busy on that day)! Very chatty and told us everything we needed to know.

The room was beautiful, we had a four poster room on the 2nd floor. There is no lift, but the stairs are fairly easy. Stunning views and a nice seating area. It was lovely and warm with all the radiators on, and the water was really hot, so lovely for a relaxing bath after a long walk.

The Lodge is literally just a couple of minutes walk to the town, so took no time at all to walk home after dinner and drinks out. It's a lovely town with plenty of places to eat and drink and some fabulous little shops.

Breakfast was great, no huge fry ups as we would normally have, but loads of choice and made a change to have a healthy, but filling breakfast. The fruit and yogurt was delicous.

We visited in mid January when the town was fairly quiet. Not all restaurants were open and Brathay Lodge wasn't full to capacity. For us, it was a lovely time to go, nice and quiet and thoroughly enjoyable.

We would visit again definitely and thank you so much for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thanks for such a great review of your recent weekend stay. Were pleased to read that you particularly enjoyed the room, views, warmth, breakfast etc, we believe these are so important in ensuring that each and every guest we welcome enjoys the very best experience possible here at Brathay Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We had a lovely visit here. It is in a great location, pretty much in the centre of Ambleside. It has plenty of parking (at a premium in Ambleside!). The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a lovely selection of food for the continental breakfast (all you could ask for). Each room (I think) has a DVD player - great for those rainy days (after all it is the Lake District!!!) or after a long walk in the fells. Everyone here is so friendly - couldn't ask for more. Definitely recommended :-)

Room Tip: A good range of rooms, check Brathay Lodge's website for the full range
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aly738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for the great review were pleased you enjoyed your break. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Great central location, lovely superior double room which was very comfortable and spotless! Such friendly and polite service from checking in until checking out, nothing was too much trouble! Trevor and Karen were both really nice and welcoming. Continental breakfast was delicious and plenty to chose from, dining room lovely and spotless! We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family :-)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for the excellent review and great feedback on the local area, breakfast, staff etc. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ambleside in the near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We have stayed in Ambleside many times as we love it there but had never stayed at the Brathay Lodge before. We had such a lovely stay there. Our family room was lovely, newly renovated, clean and very spacious. The tea and coffee making facilities were stocked up everyday and rooms cleaned to a high standard every day. Breakfast was a continental breakfast but there was plenty of cereals, fruit, bread and croissants etc as well as as much coffee, teas and juices as you wanted. Trevor the manager was lovely and really easy to get along with, nothing too much trouble as were the ladies that we met that worked there. The Brathay itself is extremely well located and just a few yards from the main streets, overlooking the bowling green. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for an excellent review were always pleased to hear all feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your overall stay at Brathay Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Very well situated rite in Ambleside centre. Very helpful and friendly staff, they filled our large flask with coffee for our walk and lent us an umbrella to use at night. Rooms very lovely and spaceous with a good range of facilities such as spa bath, hair dryer etc., the only improvement for me would be a fridge in the room. I was passimistic about the continental breakfast but was plessantly surprised by the variety of options and I never left the hotel hungry in the morning! We both really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 was perfect
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brathay-Lodge, Manager at Brathay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for the great review and for the feedback. Regarding fridges we have a couple of mini fridges on site for those that require this information is kept in the guest bedroom folders. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lakes in the near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews