We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fine walking, a good rest and some great food”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some fine walking, a good rest and some great food”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Just returned after a four night break at the Regent, Ambleside feeling great and planning our next trip! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the service attentive and unobtrusive. We slept well and have come home feeling well and rested. The breakfasts are wonderful and top marks for the range of options and also for the fact that breakfast is served until noon! The only downside as vegetarians was the limited options for evening meals in the restaurant. We had the two options available and they were beautifully prepared if unadventurous. More options would have meant we would have eaten there every night instead of having to go out after after a long day's walking.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm really glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Alot of our guests do love our 'late late breakfast' as it does mean that you can have the best of both worlds - a lie in and guaranteed breakfast!
At the moment we are trying to improve our menu to make it the best it can be and for all people so we will definately take your comments about vegetarian evening meals on board.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    257
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
835
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darby Green
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I found the hotel on Bookings.com. The booking procedure was easy and on arrival a gentleman helped us with our bags. Our room was upstairs with a view of the hills. The restaurant was relaxed and you are kept in comfort in the lounge bar until a table is ready with nibbles. The menu embraced the local fayre and the service impeccable. The hotel does have a small pool.
The hotel is a short walking distance of Ambleside which is full of teashops, restaurants, bars and shops (large amount of walking shops) due to area. It is a lovely twon during the day and can be lively at night. ( I have camped in Langdale near here several times). Also the hotel is a stones throw of the Windermere ferry and an excellant teashop by the water. It is a good base for walking.
The breakfast again was lovely and relaxed, and available until 12 midday so you can check out and then relax before leaving. There is a free car park, essential in this area.
I can't recommend the hotel enough for its warmth and the staff are obliging, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely, kind words!
We do like to do our best to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible, and i am extremely glad that we have helped you make the best of your stay with us.
I'm happy that you took the choice of dining in our restaurant, and enjoyed its as much as you did, as we think its an experience that needs to be tried even just once staying with us.
Again thank you for your review and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The staff are helpful,attentive and very freindly. We have stayed here nearly every year for over 10 years and the hotel has never let us down. Our family room was in the main building and was on the top floor,The room is just great for families with not so young children but not old enough,if you know what I mean!!The hotels decor is modern and welcoming.The pool although only small is just big enough to swim and play in,but you can feel like your on show to the other residents as they have large glass sliding doors onto the courtyard,(lovely in summer perhapes),but the kids didn`t seem to mind. A better changing room would be nice but space is obvoiusly hard to find. They do a childrens dinner ealry which meant we could then have dinner later. The food during the stay was lovley from breakfast till dinner. The late breakfast option gives you the chance to go for a swim or a walk before breakfast, not just to lie in! with children thats not often an option! The carpark is just at the rear and the hotel is in a very handy spot so you can leave your car and use other transport or walk. All in all a lovely weekend break again,and we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are always pleased to see our regular guests, aswell as new ones!
I think i can safely say that every guest who stays with us enjoys the option of having breakfast up until 12 noon, and so glad that you feel the same way!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just had weekend break at Regent on the Lake. First class hotel. Staff so friendly and attentive. Rooms immaculate. Food excellent. Everything to hand - bathroom toiletries (property retail size not Barbie size) and very nice, too. Use of hairdrier, iron and ironing board. LCD tv with dvd player. Couldn't fault it - if only they were in charge of the weather - it would be perfect!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wapper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do our best to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as can be. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Can't fault this hotel. 2nd year we've stayed. Some way to catch up to some other guests who are in their 10th year.
Nothing is too much trouble. Food excellent, especially the breakfast til 12! Evening meals lovely, good selection locally sourced and a very nice wine list, atmosphere very relaxed. Darren helped us to make our bar bill almost as much as our accommodation & food!
Great way tp start the year. Will be back next year.,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyqueen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigqn `
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

first stay at this hotel staff management couldnt do enough for us rooms lovely with hairdryer iron iron board free toiletries, first time but wll be back, cant praise staff enough, had to cut short our stay due to the snow and they where more than helpful

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sussiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Regent and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Just returned from another excellent stay at the superb Regent.We have been visiting the hotel for many years and get withdrawl symptoms if we don't visit at least once every year.The Regent is in a particuarly good position for walking,sightseeing ,shopping or just relaxing and enjoying the lovely atmosphere of this excellent hotel.The food is as always exceptional,with delicious,varied and very generous menus for dinner and equally generous and varied breakfasts that can be taken up to12 noon !.The staff were without exception very efficient,friendly and professional.Our room was very warm and comfortable, well equiped and kept beautifully clean by th hard working housekeeping staff.The high standards of the owners ensure that the Regent never fails to deliver a superb stay in this lovely part of the country.We can't wait to return.Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are always glad to see our regular customers back here and are proud that you choose us to come back to.
I am especially pleased because I had slipped away for a family weekend break in York leaving the staff to run the hotel. So a big thank you to my team they have done me proud!
Thank you again for your lovely review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent soon.
Merry Christmas
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing