We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable weekend trip in a great hotel and a beautiful location”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable weekend trip in a great hotel and a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Arriving on the Friday night at the Regent Hotel which was in the most beautiful of locations, we were immediately greeted with great service and a warm atmosphere. To Top it all off the room was nice and clean with a modern feel to it and even the evening meal and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it's great to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend in Ambleside and The Regent Hotel met with your expectations.

Hopefully we will see you sometime again in the future , keep an eye on our web site for all the latest offers.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    257
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
828
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Me and my couple arrived to the Regent hotel on 13/12/11, because we were moved from a guest house which has problem with heating. The lady in the guest house, when she called me and told me about the heating problem in the guest house, really pushed for the Regent hotel by the lake. At the end after seeing the internet pictures, my booking was changed to the Regent hotel. I was quite looking forward to our stay. When we arrived after 4 hours drive, check in was quite fast and we received a room on the second floor in the main building. The room was quite cold but we were rushing out to see as much as possible from the lake country side. We turned the heating to maximum and left the room. When we came in the evening back, around 10 PM the room was still quite cold, but we are too tired and we just decided to go to bed. Later on, in the night around 11PM in Ambleside started terrible wind and I could even see the the curtains in the room started to move a little bit. The room in this moment seemed like a freezer and the only thing that I wanted to stay under cover. I wanted to go to the reception and let they know, but it was so cold that I stayed where I was. I hardly slept that night, because the room was so cold and the wind outside too noisy. The next day after breakfast, we requested an additional heater in the room and we were offered a room move, which we accepted. We moved everything and again we went out. Later, in the evening, around 8 PM we wanted to have a bath or shower in the new warm room, but unfortunately we didn't have hardly any hot water. We called to the reception, they came to check it, but again we were offered a room move. We were so tired of moving now that we went to complained to the reception, which didn't give us any solution, just a room move. At the end, we started to pack out things again, ready to move again, and when we came to the other room, the heating wasn't working there properly, the room was quite cold, we even called the lady from the reception to go and see by herself. She had to admitted that the heating wasn't working in that room. She wanted to offer us another room move to a suite, but at 10 PM we were so tired that we didn't even bother to move anywhere else. The following morning, it was our early departure, I have to admit that I was quite desperate to get away from this place, because for a heating and hot water problem the only solution is a room move without even checking if in the new room the things are working properly, we didn't even have any shower that morning, the lady on the reception only deducted from our bill miserable £38 for the whole stay of 2 nights. I didn't mind to pay the whole amount if I could enjoy the room but in 2 nights we changed 4 times, we felt cold the first night and we couldn't even have a proper shower the last day, because running from one room to the other for a shower at 7am when the temperature outside in the hall is 2C is not very pleasant. Anyway, the country side was great, but we are very disappointed with the Regent hotel by the lake, because these 2 days were for relaxing and at the end we finished more stressed as we went there. I work in hospitality where we value every customer, but unfortunately this hotel doesn't value their guests and they do not even care if the guests leave satisfied or not. We are just numbers for them for their business. I have never had just bad experience with accommodation as in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
We are really disappointed to have received your review as we felt that we endeavoured to make you stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we could.

You had requested a room on the top floor that also had a bath which we gave you unfortunately the couple of nights that you stayed with us we experienced some of the worst winds that we have ever had which was out of our control.

After you had left we checked the second room and found nothing wrong with the hot water supply, we felt it strange at the time because nobody else had reported the problem.

Finally, we gave you two options either a voucher or money pounds off you bill as a goodwill gesture.

We apologies again but your issues were mainly out of our control and we pride ourselves on customer servive which you can see from previous reviews, we would also like to point out that three members of staff came in especially early on the morning of departure to give you an early breakfast as requested.

Andrew Hewitt



Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for a number of nights would Definatly recommend as we had a lovely time. The hotel was very well kept,clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful! There are beautiful views of the lake from the hotel. Ambleside is only a short 10min walk away with a lovely village feel and very seasonal at this time of year! Ther are lots of lovely walks from the hotel and surrounding area too which we found useful. Great hotel great place! Not forgetting the late breakfast which is a god send after a much needed lay in! Would Definatly go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thanks for your lovely review, you were obviously pleased with The Regent and appreciated it's location with it being just across the road from the lake with it's spectacular views and a short walk from the village.

We appreciate your kind comments about the friendliness of the staff and we look forward to welcomng you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at the Regent for 3 nights from 2 December for my Birthday treat..and we throughly enjoyed our stay..The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
The Breakfast was fantastic, and our room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed. And beautiful views from the window overlooking the lake..
Would not hesitate on booking up here for another break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 609claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
It's fantastic to hear that you really enjoyed your birthday with us at The Regent , we really do appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Andre Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed with a toddler and nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff. Food was great and rooms are well appointed. Shame the pool is going in Dec11, with a child this was a real bonus

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review and we will certainly pass on your great comments to all the staff.

If you decide to visit us again sometime we will have alternative leisure facilities available at one of the leisure clubs nearby, so you will still beable to swim!!

Look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed for two nights 1st-3rd December and really enjoyed our stay. We were in a garden room(40) which was very comfortable and just a stones throw away from the hotel main building - the room was reached by a short flight of wooden stairs so maybe be not practical for someone with mobility problems.. We had a very comfortable bed, flat screen tv and dvd player. All of the staff we came into contact with were polite and helpful and We would like to particularly mention Ramona and Selina who were our waitresses, they were attentive, polite and friendly as were the reception staff. We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was excellent as it was at breakfast.The hotel has been very tastefully decorated for Christmas and was very inviting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notts-man09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thankyou for your great review, it sounds like you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed one of our superior garden rooms which are very popular.

I will certainly pass on your compliments to Ramona and Selina who served you in the restaurant and looked after you during your stay.

Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very nice evening spent at the Regent. We were stopping off on the way home and the Regent provided a friendly, relaxing overnight stay with a very enjoyable breakfast.

The staff were very nice and the atmosphere was just right.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhewitt, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and it's great to hear that your stop over with us was enjoyable and met with your expectations.

Hopefully you will visit us again and maybe stop longer, keep an eye on our website for all our latest offers.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing