We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel and location”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Top quality hotel and location”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in the sail loft, we even added an extra night onto our stay, breakfast is the best we have had at a hotel and nothing is a problem regardless of how hungry you might be in the morning the staff will get you whatever you desire.

The evening meals were also brilliant we ate in the restaurant two of our three night stay and the morcambe bay shrimps with poached duck egg is highly recommended by us.

Thank you so much for a great start to the new year!

We will see you again and bring some family with us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz1986Rach1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Wow it dosen't get much better than this 'top quality hotel and location', thankyou for your fantastic review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sail Loft and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    261
    66
    17
    13
See reviews for
166
852
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed over new year. We loved the late breakfast up to twelve which was fantastic after we had celebrated new year in Lucy 4 and quiet a few pubs in Ambleside. The second night we had dinner in the hotel which was well presented and my husband's lamb was really tasty, I was a little disappointed with my t bone steak not very flavoursome. All the staff were friendly and attentive.
The room number 29 on the second floor was nicely decorated and clean with a double bed and a single. The bathroom was small with a shower but again clean and well decorated.
The hotel is in a lovely position across the road from the lake and ferry. Across the road there is also a nice inn that serves lunch and dinner. The car park was large Which is a bonus in the lakes. The Regency has a lovely welcoming feel, while we were there we saw no children, although one well behaved dog.
Lovely hotel hope to return. Thanks regency.

Room Tip: .Rooms on the second floor look over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerners91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review and its gtreat that you had a great New Year in Ambleside and that you enjoyed the facilities at The Regent.

Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a last minute deal for New Year 2011. The hotel is well appointed and decorated, however, the room, although nice, was rather small and would of benefited from a shower, however, the ensuite ceiling height did not permit this. The staff overall were very attentive and welcoming. The breakfast was, as I have read in other reviews, excellent. However, our New Years Eve was spoiled by the service we received during the Meal. My partners main meal was incorrect so I mentioned this and it was taken away to be changed, unfortunately they did not remove my meal at the same time and as a consequence sat on the table going cold. I again got up from the table to mention this and it was then removed (to be put under a lamp to keep warm). No sooner had it been removed and my partner’s meal was delivered which meant my meal was still cold when it was returned. I again had to get up from the table to mention this and as a consequence both meals were removed to be heated. When both meals eventually returned they were very hot and appeared to have been micro waved. Furthermore, after the meal incident it was apparent that one of the waiting staff was particularly difficult and let it be known that she was not happy we had complained. When on the third occasion of my leaving the table to speak to a member of staff I asked to talk to the manager, who said, 'what is it that you want'! To which I replied, 'two hot main meals served at the same time' (obvious I thought)!

Room Tip: Do not have the attic room (small).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate positive criticism as it makes us better as a team and at the end of the day it will benefit all of our guests. We are aware that our kitchen made a mistake with your partners main course by serving her prawns with rice rather than pasta,we did our very best to rectify but obviously by this time you became very stressed and then this started to stress our team who were doing their upmost under extremely difficult conditions. I do apologise if any memeber of staff seemed difficult towards you but we were all very upset and nervous in what was otherwise a brilliant New Years Eve.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are again sorry about our mistake.

Darryn
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We've just returned from The Regent Hotel after two nights DB&B between Christmas and New Year. Although the weather was awful, the hotel and staff were wonderful, as always. My husband and I have been going to The Regent for nearly 30 years, in fact we honeymooned there in June 1982. During this time we have seen many changes in the hotel accommodation, all improvements. Since we were there in March, the hotel now has a stylish new Reception and coffee lounge and a new bar area - very chic. What hasn't changed is the real desire to please each and every one of their guests. The food is exceptionally good, with plenty of vegetarian choices (my son & daughter are veggies so I'm always watching). The Dinner menu has a superior choice: the Breakfast menu is so varied it will set you up until the evening. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We have recommended this hotel to a number of our friends over the years, and some are still firm regulars. Oh! and an added BONUS. It is a DOG FRIENDLY hotel. They will allow 'well behaved' dogs to accompany you - still with the best of accommodation. Perfect!

Room Tip: There are ground floor courtyard rooms for people travelling with their dog - and a secure park acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your lovely review. I am delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your comments they mean so much to myself and the team who always do their very best to give all our guests the best experience we can. I am glad you like the changes expecially the " Dog Friendly " one.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent soon.
Kind regards
Andrew & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just back from 3 nights DB&B at the Regent Hotel and I must say it was faultless. We have been to the Lakes many times, but have usually rented cottages, however we felt like a treat after Christmas and the hotel and staff certainly made our stay a memorable one. We had a garden room (number 44) and it was well worth the little extra cost, the room was very large, well laid out, clean and warm (with plenty of space to dry out our walking gear !!), the furniture was tastefully modern and very comfortable and the spa bath helped soak away the aches and pains from the days walking. The food was amazing, good choice, locally sourced and well presented with probably one of the best breakfast menus I have seen. Others have commented on the attentiveness of the staff and I couldn't agree more - Andrew and his team (without exception) were professional and friendly. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabatfiftyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thankyou for your perfect review and so pleased to hear that you had a perfect Twixmas with us at The Regent and that you found the team helpful and friendly, we really do appreciate the feedback.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Andrew Hewitt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have stayed in lots of hotels in the Lakes and we consider this the best for location and value. The restaurant was very good and probably the best breakfast of any British hotel we've stayed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
wow, it doesn't get any better than 'the best in Ambleside' and your kind compliments about the food, thankyou.

We will certainly look forward to seeing you again, keep an eye on the website for all our special offers!!!

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in the Sail Loft again as it is wonderful and has the most fantastic view of the lake. The whole hotel and staff is wonderful and courteous and just do special. I would and have many times recommend a stay in this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suerm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a fab review we really do appreciate the feed back.

It's good to hear that the Sail Loft lived upto your expectations again and that you found the staff friendly and helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing