We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My mother and I had a lovely time and will now stay here in future when we visit the lakes.
The room we were in was not quite as modern as some shown on the website but was still very good.
The food and staff were outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
It is a pleasure to get you kind review and even better that we will see you again in the future please be assured we will pass on your comments to all the staff concerned.

Thanks again.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    255
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
822
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have just returned from a last minute break at the Regent to take advantage of the good weather last weekend, We have stayed here twice before but the recent alterations to the front of the hotel and the bar have made this even better, We could not fault anything. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are all attentive and very pleasant.We had dinner bed and breakfast on both nights, the food being some of the best we have tasted for a long time. There is an excellent choice both at breakfast and dinner.It is in a lovely location down by the lake, yet the town centre is an easy walking distance. My only very minor point would be my dislike of preserves in plastic sachets at breakfast, but this is only my preference. This is definately the best hotel in Ambleside and we can't wait to return. A big thank you to all at the Regent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annefrank60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your brilliant review, it sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us and like you said the weather was great wall to wall blue sky and sunshine, dosen't get any better!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

we stayed 4 nights in the sale loft best room ever stayed in couldn't of been happier all the staff were friendly breakfast was the best cant wait to stay their again we had the best 4 chilled out stay ever, not forgetting the barman steve he kept our drinks flowing we will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
'Stunning Hotel and best chilled out time ever, it doesn't get much better , we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you especially enjoyed the Sail Loft.
Steve the barman is delighted to be mentioned and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent a couple of nights in one of the Garden Suites, very clean and tidy, Breakfast was enjoyable. Perfect base for exploring any of the lakes. Will definately come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's great to hear that you had a relaxing break with us at The Regent and that enjoyed our superior garden rooms, hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I've just returned from a two night stay at the regent.
we stayed in one of the garden suites, wow what a treat, great room, friendy service from the owners to the cleaners, nothing was to much trouble!
Last of all the breakfast was the best breakfast I've had in a very long time!
Totally recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatchy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review it sounds like you had a great time and that we lived upto your expectations and more!!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday treat especially our late late breakfast which is served until mid-day.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future, watch our web site for all our latest offers.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is our second time visiting the Regent Hotel with our 2 year old. A big draw to this hotel is the food, we where particulary looking forward to a Duck starter we had last time and when we did not see it on the menu we followed the advise to ask staff. The next night a duck main course was placed on the menu for us, and it did not dissapoint! Childrens food is also excellent. Clean, comfrtable rooms, top class food and a DVD library, what more could you ask for! Steam room maybe!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your suberb review to say that you enjoyed your second visit to the Regent Hotel.

We will pass on your comments to the chef about the food, he will be delighted and we look forward to seeing you maybe for you third visit!!

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in the sail loft, we even added an extra night onto our stay, breakfast is the best we have had at a hotel and nothing is a problem regardless of how hungry you might be in the morning the staff will get you whatever you desire.

The evening meals were also brilliant we ate in the restaurant two of our three night stay and the morcambe bay shrimps with poached duck egg is highly recommended by us.

Thank you so much for a great start to the new year!

We will see you again and bring some family with us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz1986Rach1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Wow it dosen't get much better than this 'top quality hotel and location', thankyou for your fantastic review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Sail Loft and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,620 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing