We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it was just about the food....”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Firstly I would like to congratulate the chef on a superb menu, all cooked to perfection, it is such a shame his front of house team let him down. It is very off putting to have the team of waiting staff standing idle next to your table throughout as if waiting for their shift to end. But most frustrating of all was towards then end of the meal when one of our party declined to choose a dessert and instead electing for coffee to be told "NO!!!, you can only drink coffee in the lounge, and besides we need to clear the tables by 10pm...!!" being only 9:30pm I was surprised that all of a sudden they decided now was the time to start looking busy.... All in all a shame as it turned what could of been a great experience to one that is best forgotten.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your review and thank you for your comments regarding the menu and our cooking ,I am delighted you enjoyed your meal.

I am sorry to read your comments regarding coffee at the end of your meal and the misunderstanding with one of our waiting team. We were aware and immediately attempted to rectify the situation with two senior members of staff, Richard our Front of House Manager and Karen our Head Receptionist both giving you a grovelling apology and as a gesture a free bottle of wine.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for which was a minor misunderstanding and which we wholeheartedly tried to make amends and sadly failed!

I am sorry you have had to vent your frustration and anger through Trip Adviser.

Andrew Hewitt
The Regent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had a short weekend break at this very comfortable relaxing hotel next to the lake. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms very clean, comfortable and well equipped .Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

It's great that you had a pleasant short break with us at The Regent Hotel enjoying the relaxing atmosphere in the new refurbished surroundings and we look forward to maybe seeing you again, remember keep an eye on our web site for our best available rates.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My partner and I were on a camping holiday in the lakes when after three days of torrential rain, our tent started to leak from below as well as above... once the bedding was soaked and the dog was shivering we decided that the only option was to check into a hotel.

I had done a Trip Advisor search before leaving for the Lakes so knew that the Regent Hotel had dog friendly rooms, but did not know when I arrived, dripping and disheveled whether they would have one available. The receptionist was very welcoming, helpful and efficiently checked us in to one of the dog-friendly rooms in the annexe at the rear of the hotel.

I immediately turned on the radiators and the dog curled up next to one to dry out. I ran a bath, keen to enjoy the spa, but unfortunately the spa part of the bath didn't work, which was disappointing, but it was warm and deep nevertheless. The bathroom was clean and well presented.

The facilities in the room were generally good - tea making facilities were well stocked; the bed was very comfortable and well sized; the room was clean and tidy; it was a good sized room and fairly well presented (though not as smart as the main part of the hotel). Although the telephone was broken...

We reserved a table for dinner and enjoyed relaxing at the bar before being seated. The bar staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant staff could not be faulted. Our dinner was delicious and reasonably priced.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return (in better weather :-) in the future. The staff were great, the food was tasty, the bed was comfortable and the location amazing - My only criticism would be that the bedroom was a little tired... a couple of things were broken and the decor did not quite meet up to the £120 / night price tag...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

We are delighted that we could provide a (luxurious) shelter from the dreadful weather that we were having at this time, and pleased that you enjoyed an evening meal in our restaurant and found the staff efficient and friendly.

Thank you for bring the couple of shortcomings that you found in the room to our attention and we look forward to seeing you again when the weather is better!!

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We found this hotel just suited to our needs. Quiet, friendly, clean and with delicious food. A great bonus was that breakfast was served untill 12noon. One ordered the hot breakfast off a menu and it was served straight to your table - special.The more formal atmosphere at dinner made each meal feel special and we could not fault the quality and presentation of the food and service. Staff were freindly and so helpful. Also we asked for a change of room on arrival and they found us one with no complaint.

Room Tip: Garden room 42 was private with glass frontage, but when curtains were closed, I felt shut in as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We are delighted that you had a relaxing short break with us at The Regent enjoying our relaxing late breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and the slightly more formal ambience of the restaurant at night. We will pass on you kind comments to the staff and hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our stay at the Regent Hotel could not have been better. The location of the Hotel at the North Tip of Lake Windemere was wonderful. It was an easy drive to many of the beautiful sites in the Lake District (including the home of Beatrix Potter and Wrey Castle) and an easy walk to the Lake Windemere boat tours attractions. While it is a bit of an uphill walk into the town of Ambleside, that journey is a pleasant one - just leave enough time. Our room and ensuite bath were both well appointed and the morning breakfast was delicious. Request a room in the original building to really appreciate the old hotel ambiance. However, there is no lift to get to the second floor so be sure to take this into account if climbing stairs is an issue.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building for greater "old world" atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AstuteTraveler33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it sounds like you had a good time with us at The Regent enjoying the location with lake Windermere just across the road and a short walk to the centre of Ambleside. Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stay 1 night here with my sun. The rooms all look to have be refurbished relatively recently, nice bathroom, bedroom with TV and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was great with a good selection of food that was well prepared. A hotel with a more modern feel than many of the older house conversions in the area.

Only downside is that the sound proofing isn't that great in the room, but it didn't stop us having a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acwtall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have done quite a lot of refurbishment in the last twelve months including a new bar, lounges and reception area which everybody comments on how fantastic it all looks.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your son at The Regent and hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £94 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing