We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Regent Hotel is nice and relaxing place with very friendly and professional staff. Breakfast were amazing and as well lot of choice from Evening Menu with fantastick food.
Definitely will be back in the future .We recommended this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We are deighted that you had an excellent stay with us at The Regent Hotel and the fact you would recommend us is fantastic and hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for The Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I had a standard courtyard room, which had been recently refurbished and was very comfortable. Wider hotel was very smart with plenty of free parking. Cooked breakfast was excellent.
Hotel is ideally located near the lake and 1 mile from the main town with a good selection of restaurants, pubs, a cinema etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proffitt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review it sounds like you enjoyed your stay at The Regent making the most of our convenient location being across the road from lake Windermere and a level wak into Ambleside.

Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We had an ordinary room as the others were fully booked and despite having a roadside room, there was no problem at all with traffic noise.

I can't fault it at all.

Big plus points were:
free parking
free wifi in room
breakfast - anything you could possibly want - cooked to order
location right near the waterfront and boat pier
easy stroll into Ambleside
comfy beds
stylish modern bathroom
good choice of TV channels
lovely common areas
tea and coffee tray including biscuits replenished daily
bar and restaurant food options
friendly staff
good feel to it
near bus stop
efficient airconditioning
iron and ironing board supplied
nice quality towels

Highly recommended. We really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: roadside rooms are fine, don't worry!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

"Just perfect!” well I think this says it all and that we exceeded all expectations this is fantastic and it makes all the hard work from all the staff worth while, thankyou.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We went to this hotel based on a recommendation. It is not a location I would have chosen otherwise as it is close to one of the busy tourist areas of Windermere Lake, however that did not really impact on our stay - out walking all day and by evening the area is quiet.
Excellent hotel with friendly and attentive staff. We had a courtyard room for 3 nights (which was quiet and comfortable) and stayed an extra night in a room in the main hotel on the front. We expected this to be noisy from road traffic but it had good double glazed windows and a good quiet A/C if you needed it. We had B&B & dinner - very very good value. Excellent food with a good choice. Breakfast is outstanding. Good walking straight from the hotel. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Courtyard room are nice and secluded. Front rooms of hotel could be noisy I guess but we didn't...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philbe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We are glad that you felt The Regent Hotel was an excellent hotel, especially as we were recommended to you.

We appreciate your positive feedback and hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Thankyou
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Lovely entrance and decor throughout. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice bedroom, comfy bed with tea/coffee facilities, nice biscuits and bottled water. Excellent breakfast served until 12 noon! Lovely bar area. Amazing colourful hanging baskets in the courtyard. Made to feel very welcome with your own back door key should you wish to have a late one! Would definitely recommend and hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review we appreciate the feed back, we are delighted that you had a welcoming stay with us and the fact you would recommend us and definitely return is the best advert ever!!

Regards

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Chose the Regent based on the excellent reviews. You have to accept that all hotels have good and bad, but we had a wonderfull break. We found it very easy to park and were greeted with a smile. After a simple check in, we were taken to our room. We chose a superior garden room which is well worth the extra. The rooms are well away from the busy road outside and are well furnished, have everything you need, and have a big comfortable bed. Breakfast is superb with so much choice. We dined in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good and a reasonable price. All the staff were very helpful, you couldn't wish for more. The hotel is close to the pier, you can get to Bowness on the ferry, or walk 10 minutes into Ambleside Town, and avoid driving round and round trying to park. We didn't need to use the car at all. To sum up would we stay there again, we can't wait !!!

Room Tip: pay the extra for a garden room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnllEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

'To sum up would we stay there again, we can't wait !!!,' well there isn't a lot to say but thankyou for a fantasic review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I must admit that I would never have chosen this hotel myself. I stayed here because an old school chum, who I had not seen for almost 40 years, was over in the UK, visiting from his adopted home in Perth, Australia. Out of the blue he contacted me and I joined him at The Regent for a 3 night stay. My dog came along too. I was pleasantly surprised. The Regent is a well kept, clean, welcoming establishment. The rooms are functional and basic, that certainly describes the room I was allocated. The posh rooms are in an annexe at the back but dogs are not allowed in them. The public rooms are more than adequate, and the restaurant cosy and comfortable. The food was above average and the service in the restaurant/bar attentive.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel welcomes guests with dogs. Understandably I was told that they are not allowed in the restaurant. My little dog settled in nicely. The room did not smell like a kennel. The staff brought her bowls of water when I was sitting in the foyer preparing a speech and when seated in the bar having a pint or two with my chum and his wife.
I enjoyed my stay, at The Regent, and would advise anyone, with a dog, looking for a hotel in Ambleside, to give it a try.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feed back and we are so glad that you decided to stay with us at The Regent Hotel, and that both you and your dog settled in nicely and enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,403 reviews
18.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £96 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing