We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet visit”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Here for one night en route to Scotland. Our first pleasant surprise on arriving was to be warmly welcomed and allocated a garden room - well appointed and tastefully decorated. The bottles of water were most appreciated. After our usual short stroll before our evening meal we found a comfortable seat in the bar area and ordered our meal. This was served promptly and we complimented the chef on the quality of the food. Nice combination of textures and flavours! The bar staff were friendly and helpful. We found the room comfortable for sleeping - pleased to have such a good quality mattress. Being in a garden room we had none of the usual problems with hotels - doors banging, floors creaking, toilets flushing etc Just lovely peace and quiet - thanks!!

Breakfast was most enjoyable and again staff were friendly and welcoming. We purchased the packed lunch and had a most enjoyable al fresco lunch in the countryside.

Could do better? We had no shampoo in the bathroom. Funny how you only find that out when you are already in the shower ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmiwmp1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are delighted that your 'short and sweet' visit was a success, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

The week before Easter my wife,daughter and granddaughter spent a couple of days in The Regent Hotel and how good to return to such a welcoming place. Breakfasts continue to be excellent, the evening meal very good but the kindness and consideration shown by the staff,without exception, was outstanding. Would we return? Undoubtedly.

Room Tip: Any room is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

What a fab review thank you, we are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable return visit to The Regent and hopefully you will have many more!!

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A little late writing this review, we stayed here July 2013, and I missed leaving a one.
Presuming nothing has changed in the short time (which I very much doubt has).. I cannot possibly find anyway in faulting this place, I love the building, I love the decor, the staff were more than welcoming and the rooms are so clean and cosy, Modern with a characteristic feel to them.
I would most highly recommend the Regent Hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We appreciate any review even a late one!! better late than never as the saying goes and hopefully we will see you again sometime this year, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went to this hotel as we were staying at a nearby guest house and it was recommended. It has a lovely location virtually on the waterfront.
On arrival it appeared our reservation had not been noted, not a good start. We were found a table and then waited. Drinks were eventually ordered along with a good bottle of wine and a meal. The wine arrived and was placed on the table. I actually had to ask the waiter to pour it. The food was good but the lack of attention from the waiters was noticeable. At the prices we were paying I do not expect to have to pour my own wine and the wait between courses was so long we did not bother with a dessert and had coffee in the bar. Again there were plenty of waiters but the service was poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your comments regarding your booking you made for our restaurant which we did not receive from the bed & breakfast you were staying in. Your review did not appreciate the tremendous pressure myself and my team were under on this Easter Saturday night trying to accommodate all our guests even those without bookings. I am sorry we did not pour your wine, but ..... I assumed you enjoyed the food if the service was a little slow.
I do hope you will return at a less hectic time and give us the opportunity to offer you our normal First Class service.
Assuring you my best attention at all times
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have just comd back from a two night stay and had such a great time. The room was great the bar and restaurant were brill. The food was so good and the breakfast were outstanding. There was no need to go wondering in the evening looking for somewhere to go as its was perfect for us. Staff were lovely. Especially lucy on the reception and a bar man who both made us feel so welcomed. We had our huge dog with us and he was welcomed as well. Was brilliant for the baby too. Great location. We cant wait to return to the regent. We have such a lovely two days xx

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank mellybobsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

What an amazing review, we will pass on your very kind comments to Lucy, Mark and the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family including your large dog for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked last minute and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break. We had a family room which was spotlessly clean and spacious. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice available until twelve o clock which is a bonus. We ate in the bar both nights and enjoyed good value for money meals. All the staff we met were pleasant and very helpful. All in all a great break and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We are delighted that you felt The Regent is a great hotel we love this sort of feedback it makes all the hard work worthwhile, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked last minute and were delighted with this hotel. Good location, room was perfect and good size. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was plentiful, set us up well for our days walk!! We would defiantly return for a longer stay next time. You can see the hotel is being maintained well and seems to be looked after :)

Room Tip: We had room 25 and you can just see the lake if the tree was trimmed (or gone altogether!!) »
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
1.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,125 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £71 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing