We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely team at the Regent Hotel”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely team at the Regent Hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I travelled recently to work at the Regent Hotel and wanted to spread the word how much of a lovely family run hotel this is. The management, reception and catering staff are all fabulous people who go the absolute extra mile to make a guest and/or diner feel welcome. The food is beautiful and chefs are all gems. If you are looking for great food and a friendly welcoming time,the regent hotel is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyV854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
“Lovely team at the Regent Hotel” what a nice thing to say and we will make sure all the team see this review as it makes all their hard work worthwhile, thankyou.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    259
    66
    17
    13
See reviews for
163
846
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (Sat/Sun) for a cycle challenge - The Fred Whitton. What a lovely hotel, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff we friendly and very helpful. We had a lovely check-in, the service in the bar was good and the staff at breakfast were great. The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were clean and just what we needed for 2 nights. All in all a great hotel, in a nice location right by the lake and yet only 5 minutes walk into the town centre. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, which could be noisy at times with the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and we are delighted that you would recommend us, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at The Regent Hotel on Monday 5th May 2014. It was a surprise visit planned by my fiancée, and I couldn't have been more pleased.

We checked in with ease and the receptionists on Duty Karen ans Gemma were so happy to help and very cheerful. They had someone show us the way to our room.No 42 one of the garden rooms. It was beautiful and very spacious. A chilled bottle of white was waiting for us when we got into the room which was a nice treat. The room was well decorated and extremely clean, there was 2 bathrobes hanging in the wardrobes, bottled water and tea coffee and biscuits.

In the bedside draws were books that you could read and a note to say if you haven't finished the book you could take it home with you.. I thought this was a lovely touch.

In the guest information folder that was on the coffee table there was lots of information on all the attractions near by, there was also a list of over 100 DVDs in which you could borrow from reception which we took advantage of. All quite recent and up to date films with a very good variety.

On the bed when we arrived was a letter with information about the hotel, discounted cruises and they can even make you a packed lunch to take with you on your trips out... another fantastic idea.

The food.... has to be one of the nicest meals I have ever had!! We where greeted at the restaurant by Viktoria who showed us to our seat, we then had our order taken by Dyrall, we ordered our drinks and a lovely bottle of wine, the had a bread basket brought to our table, fresh warm bread. We ordered our food and I have to say it was amazing, and you could tell it was freshly made good quality food which is locally sourced. Only one down point, there was no check back on our main course. for dessert I had Eton Mess and it was the best Eaton Mess I have ever had :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden rooms. No 42. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Well it sounds like you had a fabulous time which is brilliant to hear, many thanks for this amazing review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location, we stayed in the garden room which was spacious and modern and spotlessly clean. the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast gave a huge choice and was of very good quality, the cumberland sausage was especially good. We had our evening meals in the bar and enjoyed both meals and the portions were very good. The breakfast staff in particular were very attentive and efficient. Breakfast was a real joy and set us up for the day. We had a great short stay and would love to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garvin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we get a lot of comments about the Cumberland sausage it is supplied by a local butcher called Freddie Garside and he is famous for his Cumberland sausage, a must!! We will pass on your kind comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Here for one night en route to Scotland. Our first pleasant surprise on arriving was to be warmly welcomed and allocated a garden room - well appointed and tastefully decorated. The bottles of water were most appreciated. After our usual short stroll before our evening meal we found a comfortable seat in the bar area and ordered our meal. This was served promptly and we complimented the chef on the quality of the food. Nice combination of textures and flavours! The bar staff were friendly and helpful. We found the room comfortable for sleeping - pleased to have such a good quality mattress. Being in a garden room we had none of the usual problems with hotels - doors banging, floors creaking, toilets flushing etc Just lovely peace and quiet - thanks!!

Breakfast was most enjoyable and again staff were friendly and welcoming. We purchased the packed lunch and had a most enjoyable al fresco lunch in the countryside.

Could do better? We had no shampoo in the bathroom. Funny how you only find that out when you are already in the shower ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmiwmp1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are delighted that your 'short and sweet' visit was a success, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a longer visit next time.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The week before Easter my wife,daughter and granddaughter spent a couple of days in The Regent Hotel and how good to return to such a welcoming place. Breakfasts continue to be excellent, the evening meal very good but the kindness and consideration shown by the staff,without exception, was outstanding. Would we return? Undoubtedly.

Room Tip: Any room is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geofffarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
What a fab review thank you, we are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable return visit to The Regent and hopefully you will have many more!!

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A little late writing this review, we stayed here July 2013, and I missed leaving a one.
Presuming nothing has changed in the short time (which I very much doubt has).. I cannot possibly find anyway in faulting this place, I love the building, I love the decor, the staff were more than welcoming and the rooms are so clean and cosy, Modern with a characteristic feel to them.
I would most highly recommend the Regent Hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We appreciate any review even a late one!! better late than never as the saying goes and hopefully we will see you again sometime this year, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing