We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family weekend.”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous family weekend.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in a group of 12 family members to celebrate an 80th birthday.
From booking, arriving.dining,staying, we couldn't have been looked after better by all staff who couldn't have done any more for us.
We had a great table set for us in the dining room for all 12 of us on a large square set table so everyone could see each other which had a lovely atmosphere.
We covered most of the menu and all dishes were presented beautifully and very hot.The belly pork was the favourite dish of the weekend and the Diane sauce for the steaks was the best ever?Sticky toffee pudding was delicious.
One of our party is vegetarian and didn't like the options on the menu so the chef cooked another dish especially which was much appreciated and very tasty.
We had a variety of rooms all exceptionally clean,very comfortable beds and great shower pressure in bathrooms.
Would highly recommend the garden rooms especially room 44 which was huge and very private with a large sofa to relax on.Also it had a jacuzzi bath.All the garden rooms have sweet little balconies to sit out on and chill out.
Favourite room apart from room 44 is the Latterbarrow suite( stayed in this in jan)for only £10 a night more fantastic value with views of the lake and tons of space.
The bar areas are also very relaxing and comfortable with beautiful decor.
Great location for the boat trips on the lake.
All in all would highly recommend a stay at the Regent.A big thank you to all staff for our enjoyable stay- apart from the torrential rain on Saturday, but you can't do anything about that!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable family weekend and your Mum had a great 80th Birthday, we enjoyed having you all to stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    257
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
833
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've stayed in Ambleside many times but thought we would try the Regent after reading the reviews online. The hotel is sited right by the lake and about 10/ 15 min stroll into Ambleside and the bars, shops and restaurants.

The hotel decor is not super modern but the rooms are bright, airy and have high ceilings which adds to the feeling of space. The one thing to point out is that the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms was second to none. I was very impressed and immediately felt relaxed.

The hotel seems to have good, old school, values when it comes to customer service and the staff are a key reason I will be returning. From the friendly receptionists who check you in with genuine warmth to the chap who took us to our room and explained how everything worked- they were all super and a real asset. Breakfast from 8-12pm is also a welcome touch!

Great value for money, will return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-work-too-hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
“Friendly, clean, great location, value for money!” well this says everything, thank you for taking the time to write this marvellous review.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A long time family owned hotel. The public rooms are all very modern and create a welcoming atmosphere. We had dined here on a previous trip and decided to stay on our next visit. We had a courtyard room well equipped and spotless.Wonderful selection for breakfast, most ingredients locally sourced. Our dinner was too plentiful for our elderly appetites but delicious.The Feather Blade of Beef was particularly scrumptious, melting in the mouth. They also do a very light Sticky Toffee Pudding - if you do have room! The delightful staff were all attentive.

Room Tip: The courtyard is delightful and gives quick access to Bar and Dining room and also car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Regent and look forward to your return visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the hotel had put the rooms in my deceased fathers name, we were 3 females and there was never a mention of a man with us. When asked for the reservation document to be changed the receptionist hand wrote and 's' at the end of Mr. We stayed in the dog friendly rooms adjacent to the courtyard. The walls were so thin we could hear everything through the walls until the early hours and then a couple having sex. The food was average to poor, 1 evening meal arrived with burnt naan bread and the ingredients were not as per the menu on most of the dishes, e.g. field mushroons replaced with tinned button mushrooms. The staff were pretty clueless, some barely speaking english. The experience was poor and I'd suggest you find somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Meljs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
No record of your stay are you sure you have the right hotel !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have not stayed at the Regent for a few years and have noted some small changes, however our stay was one to remember. We shared a courtyard room with our son which was very clean and roomy, our son had a full single bed and not a fold away one as we have encountered in the past in nearby hotels. We dined in on our first night and found the staff very polite and attentive, however the menu was not as extensive as in past years so we ate out on the second night. Breakfast was plentiful , again full waiter service rather than self service which was very nice with the family who own the hotel also waiting table which is a nice touch.
We have stayed in many of the hotels around Ambleside in the past few years and after returning to the Regent will make this our first choice for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely complimentary review it so nice when we get return guests and it's good to hear that we would be top of the list for a future visit, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel in ideal position for access to lake and ferries, walking distance to Ambleside centre nor as a base for exploring further. Comfortable room, good food and helpful staff.The only two minor negatives are that the tables by the window are a bit too close together and that there was no WiFi in room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion_baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and it sounds like you had a good time. We also have some good news we have a new wifi system so you now get a signal everywhere so no problems when you next visit us.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for surprise 50th present for husband.Absolutley amazing place,surrounding area. outstanding views. warm welcoming,lovely breakfast...whisky soaked sultanas scrumptious!!! Would certainly stay again....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We like reviews like this when guests have a great time and enjoy all that we have to offer, just a little bit puzzled about the snow!!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,660 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing