We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Regent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
923
273
69
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
273
69
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssail loftuntil nooncourtyard roomhewitt familysteak nightlate breakfastlovely hotelthe main hotelwaterhead baysuperior roomcar parklake districtbreakfast is serveda stones throwview of the lakeboth nightsnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend in a group of 12 family members to celebrate an 80th birthday.
From booking, arriving.dining,staying, we couldn't have been looked after better by all staff who couldn't have done any more for us.
We had a great table set for us in the dining room for all 12 of us on a large square set table so everyone could see each other which had a lovely atmosphere.
We covered most of the menu and all dishes were presented beautifully and very hot.The belly pork was the favourite dish of the weekend and the Diane sauce for the steaks was the best ever?Sticky toffee pudding was delicious.
One of our party is vegetarian and didn't like the options on the menu so the chef cooked another dish especially which was much appreciated and very tasty.
We had a variety of rooms all exceptionally clean,very comfortable beds and great shower pressure in bathrooms.
Would highly recommend the garden rooms especially room 44 which was huge and very private with a large sofa to relax on.Also it had a jacuzzi bath.All the garden rooms have sweet little balconies to sit out on and chill out.
Favourite room apart from room 44 is the Latterbarrow suite( stayed in this in jan)for only £10 a night more fantastic value with views of the lake and tons of space.
The bar areas are also very relaxing and comfortable with beautiful decor.
Great location for the boat trips on the lake.
All in all would highly recommend a stay at the Regent.A big thank you to all staff for our enjoyable stay- apart from the torrential rain on Saturday, but you can't do anything about that!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chrissys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable family weekend and your Mum had a great 80th Birthday, we enjoyed having you all to stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've stayed in Ambleside many times but thought we would try the Regent after reading the reviews online. The hotel is sited right by the lake and about 10/ 15 min stroll into Ambleside and the bars, shops and restaurants.

The hotel decor is not super modern but the rooms are bright, airy and have high ceilings which adds to the feeling of space. The one thing to point out is that the cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms was second to none. I was very impressed and immediately felt relaxed.

The hotel seems to have good, old school, values when it comes to customer service and the staff are a key reason I will be returning. From the friendly receptionists who check you in with genuine warmth to the chap who took us to our room and explained how everything worked- they were all super and a real asset. Breakfast from 8-12pm is also a welcome touch!

Great value for money, will return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-work-too-hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

“Friendly, clean, great location, value for money!” well this says everything, thank you for taking the time to write this marvellous review.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A long time family owned hotel. The public rooms are all very modern and create a welcoming atmosphere. We had dined here on a previous trip and decided to stay on our next visit. We had a courtyard room well equipped and spotless.Wonderful selection for breakfast, most ingredients locally sourced. Our dinner was too plentiful for our elderly appetites but delicious.The Feather Blade of Beef was particularly scrumptious, melting in the mouth. They also do a very light Sticky Toffee Pudding - if you do have room! The delightful staff were all attentive.

Room Tip: The courtyard is delightful and gives quick access to Bar and Dining room and also car park
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Regent and look forward to your return visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the hotel had put the rooms in my deceased fathers name, we were 3 females and there was never a mention of a man with us. When asked for the reservation document to be changed the receptionist hand wrote and 's' at the end of Mr. We stayed in the dog friendly rooms adjacent to the courtyard. The walls were so thin we could hear everything through the walls until the early hours and then a couple having sex. The food was average to poor, 1 evening meal arrived with burnt naan bread and the ingredients were not as per the menu on most of the dishes, e.g. field mushroons replaced with tinned button mushrooms. The staff were pretty clueless, some barely speaking english. The experience was poor and I'd suggest you find somewhere else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Meljs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

No record of your stay are you sure you have the right hotel !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have not stayed at the Regent for a few years and have noted some small changes, however our stay was one to remember. We shared a courtyard room with our son which was very clean and roomy, our son had a full single bed and not a fold away one as we have encountered in the past in nearby hotels. We dined in on our first night and found the staff very polite and attentive, however the menu was not as extensive as in past years so we ate out on the second night. Breakfast was plentiful , again full waiter service rather than self service which was very nice with the family who own the hotel also waiting table which is a nice touch.
We have stayed in many of the hotels around Ambleside in the past few years and after returning to the Regent will make this our first choice for future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely complimentary review it so nice when we get return guests and it's good to hear that we would be top of the list for a future visit, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews