We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Regent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$310
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
923
273
69
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
273
69
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssail loftuntil nooncourtyard roomhewitt familysteak nightlate breakfastlovely hotelthe main hotelwaterhead baysuperior roomcar parklake districtbreakfast is serveda stones throwview of the lakeboth nightsnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great staff but verging on over attentive in the dining room.Rooms great also air conditioned which considering it was nearly 20 degrees (Seriously!) was handy when they did not hide the remote or charge a deposit.Only downside was a little bit of black damp/mould on the tiling in the ensuite and the furniture near the bar looked a bit worn..No biggy but considering we paid over 200 quid for two nights in a premium grade hotel seemed a bit of a shame.Breakfast was a very good selection.Great spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review a bit surprised by your comments our staff have wonderful reviews and our bar was only re-furbished fairly recently, as for being pricy we are extremely competitive with similar standards of hotels in the area and offer some great packages.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just had the one night stay on a flying visit , but the staff made us feel very welcome .
The hotel is in a great spot and the lake is just across the road .
The bar and restaurant are very cosy and the food is very good and reasonably priced
The room was clean and tidy and plenty of space .
Big thanks to all the staff for looking after us

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

The staff will really appreciate this review, it makes all their hard work worthwhile.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit and maybe a little longer next time.

Thank you Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We first arrived at the Regent and were taken to our spacious, clean and tidy room. The bed was very big and comfortable and we had complimentary teas and coffees along with biscuits too! The bathroom was very clean and the shower/bath were great. Breakfast was very nice and offered a variety of foods such as full english breakfasts and ommletts. The staff were friendly and helpfull and ordered us a taxi into the town centre which arrived quickly. Very convenient :) a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

What a great review, thank you we really appreciate the feed back especially when it's good!!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

lovely hotel, situated a short stroll from the lake and about a 10 minute stroll into town
we upgraded to a garden room, we were in number 40, it is on the end and felt very private
it has a balcony and we started our break sitting outside sipping wine in the afternoon sun
bed was large and comfortable and the sleep quality was very good with no noise at all
the staff were all very friendly and attentive
I am normally an early riser but we had a bit of a late one on the first night so appreciated the fact
that they serve breakfast up until 12 o clock
the dining room felt a bit cramped but other than that we had a great stay

Room Tip: pay the extra £20 per night for a garden room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our popular Garden Rooms. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend in a group of 12 family members to celebrate an 80th birthday.
From booking, arriving.dining,staying, we couldn't have been looked after better by all staff who couldn't have done any more for us.
We had a great table set for us in the dining room for all 12 of us on a large square set table so everyone could see each other which had a lovely atmosphere.
We covered most of the menu and all dishes were presented beautifully and very hot.The belly pork was the favourite dish of the weekend and the Diane sauce for the steaks was the best ever?Sticky toffee pudding was delicious.
One of our party is vegetarian and didn't like the options on the menu so the chef cooked another dish especially which was much appreciated and very tasty.
We had a variety of rooms all exceptionally clean,very comfortable beds and great shower pressure in bathrooms.
Would highly recommend the garden rooms especially room 44 which was huge and very private with a large sofa to relax on.Also it had a jacuzzi bath.All the garden rooms have sweet little balconies to sit out on and chill out.
Favourite room apart from room 44 is the Latterbarrow suite( stayed in this in jan)for only £10 a night more fantastic value with views of the lake and tons of space.
The bar areas are also very relaxing and comfortable with beautiful decor.
Great location for the boat trips on the lake.
All in all would highly recommend a stay at the Regent.A big thank you to all staff for our enjoyable stay- apart from the torrential rain on Saturday, but you can't do anything about that!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chrissys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable family weekend and your Mum had a great 80th Birthday, we enjoyed having you all to stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews