We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A brilliant hotel with excellent staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We felt we'd made the right choice within minutes of walking into the Regent. Friendly, helpful staff at reception immediately made us feel very welcome and once we got to the room the positive impressions continued. Comfortable bed, lovely modern shower and bathroom, hospitality tray and best of all the peace and tranquility of the Lake District was evident just by opening the window. Sadly, no spectacular view from Room 28 but the quiet, along with the almost nostalgic smell of English Summers long past easily made up for that.

Car parking on site is a big benefit as spaces are at a premium in Ambleside. Local publicity I saw actually made reference to using the pay and display between the hotel and Lake Windermere as a good place to park if visiting the town. Quickest walk to town was to cut through this car park to the steps in the top right hand corner and turn left for a 15 minute walk to Ambleside. Turning right out of the hotel main entrance seems the logical direction but is a bit further in distance.

Our package included dinner on the first night which was a first class meal. Morecambe Bay shrimps, Blade of Beef and Duck Breast were enjoyed with a fine Chateauneuf du Pape (which at less than £30 a bottle was a steal). Dessert and coffee rounded this off very well.

We ate in the Hotel Bar the second night and our Lamb Burger and Steak and Onion Pie were almost as good. Breakfast was also of the highest quality but there really is great food for all tastes rather than the recommendation of two confirmed meat eaters.

Service during meals and at the bar was unobtrusive and always on the ball. It's obvious that staff are very well trained in having an eye for anticipating customer needs.

The Regent is officially a 3 star hotel but has the class of a 4 star and parts of our experience bordered on 5 star quality, it was that good. There was no lift to our room, but no problem we were just one floor up. The bedroom had no air conditioning, no problem, windows opened very wide and allowed that fragrant cool air in so we both slept well.

They were just two very minor details and caused no inconvenience at all. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1961GaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
What a lovely review, thank you we are so pleased that you had a great experience with us at The Regent and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    255
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
822
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambs, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we have just returned from a four night break at this lovely hotel.the location is great close to everything we wanted to see.The staff are first class attentive but not intrusive.The food was excellent.Our room was good We would definately recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, feed back is so important and it's great when you get such complimentary comments, we really appreciate the fact you would recommend us, the best form of advertising!!

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff were all excellent! Lovely room, FAB breakfast & dinner. Very, very clean. A very short walk across the road to view the lake and catch a boat. Easy to get to all the sights from this location.

We booked on a recommendation from our daughter who stayed there in March.

I like the fact that the Manager responses effectively to posts from guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightels2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
'A short but lovely stay' I think this says it all and thanks for your FAB review.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On entering the Regent, the reception area and bar was lovely, modern and clean (large car park too). We were given keys to room 15 and offered help with luggage as it was on the second floor and there is no lift. First impression was of disappointment as the room was very small. We asked for an alternative but no other doubles available. We were there for a sponsored rowing event so accepted the size of the room as 'just one of those things'. We were there with other couples who had lovely rooms. I have to say everything else was great. Staff were very accommodating and arranged early breakfast, which was excellent, as was the food in the restaurant on an evening (ate there twice). Staff provided extra towel, sorted out our TV etc. We even had a really good show in our tiny room. I would recommend this hotel (just not room 15). Some hotel boast to be near the water, this really is. Lovely weekend, thank you

Room Tip: not 15, too small and on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethmcLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor it's great to hear that you had a lovely weekend enjoying all the Regent has to offer especially being so close to the lake.

If you would like to stay with us again please give us a call direct and one of the Receptionists can discuss your room requirements prior to arrival.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Staff are excellent from Emily & Georgina when I made the booking .were very good and fun to deal with .and a great laugh in person .and all the staff we came across were also excellent .O! the room was very nice and clean and comfortable .breakfast was really nice my wife said beautiful would totally recommend and we will be back .

Room Tip: Court yard room lots of lovely flowers .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Emily and Georgina will be delighted with this review, we are pleased that they have looked after you so well and we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Regent Hotel last night...I found it on line..after looking at lots of hotels..it was one of the more expensive...but very well worth it. we stayed in the 'Skelghyll suite' with the front door opening on to the court yard directly across the road from the Lakes edge...the room itself was very luxurious...with a lovely new bathroom and a huge super king bed...so for all you ladies who are fed up with being squashed at bed time...this is your room! :D
The breakfast was super fab, everything a 'full English' should be...in a very attractive dinning room..and the staff were so attentive it was very refreshing to have staff who could not do enough for you and very quickly too!
I would love to stay there again and would very much recommend it!
One happy lady!

Room Tip: The two 'courtyard rooms' are like suites and are huge..if you like that bit more space..lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevkinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are delighted that you are 'one happy lady' it makes all the hard work worthwhile, we will pass on your complimentary comments to all the staff, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fetcham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a fantastic week in the Lake District, admittedly helped by the glorious weather, but our choice of hotel was a significant part of the success of our holiday. We loved our room (44) it was clean, spacious and well equipped and there was always plenty of hot water to soothe those muscles after a long walk. Great to be able to sit on the small balcony and it was quieter too away from the main hotel building. The location is ideal, across the road from Lake Windermere but an easy walk into Ambleside and good access to where we wanted to visit. The staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. The food was delicious, plenty of choice for breakfast and we enjoyed both our dinners, it's good value for money when you look around Ambleside too. We will certainly consider going back next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77surreyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor we really appreciate the feedback and delighted that you found The Regent a great place to stay and eat.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,620 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing