We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed this week end to celebrate a family member's special birthday.
From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful, professional and seemed to genuinely care about our comfort and happiness. The food including the flexible breakfast arrangements was of excellent quality and the cost of the stay was very reasonable bearing in mind the location and quality of the hotel. It was a lovely stay and all of the staff at the hotel are to be commended on the standard of all aspects of the establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J01959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at the Regent Hotel we will pass on your complimentary comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
There are newer reviews for The Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Regent by the lake (second visit) just been made which we find to be a lovely immaculate hotel, the staff are so pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, we were very disappointed though to find our room did not have a fridge although last year we did have one, we had taken dog food, yogurts etc but no fridge to keep them cool so ended up throwing away, we did mention this to reception but apparently the fridge had been taken out for repair and no other fridge was available which we found very disappointing, member of staff did offer for us to put our food in the hotel fridge but we found this to be inconvenient. If returning back to this hotel we would definitely make sure there was a fridge in the room, also we took our own fan which was definitely worth taking as needed so much as none in the room.The breakfasts are amazing we must say, we also dined in the evening and food top class. Maybe rooms could do with modernisation, we stayed in the courtyard as had our dog with us so not sure what other bedrooms are like, ours was very clean but bit dated.

Room Tip: If fridge required make sure request one when booking and also take a fan in summer months.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, sorry to hear about your comments concerning the fridge and the fan, like the member of staff offered we can put items in our fridges in the kitchen this is not a problem also we do have fans available but unfortunately they were in demand as we were experiencing an exceptionally hot period, sorry about this.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in the Regent for 2 nights recently and would highly recommend it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great (and late!) as was supper in the bar. We stayed in a Superior Garden Room which was in fact a chalet and good value for such a well appointed room. Toiletries were great too.
Although it is on the main road to Ambleside the hotel was very quiet and away from the busyness of Ambleside village. It was a great base to walk and drive from and there are other bars and restaurants nearby which are worth visiting.
We would go back anytime and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Superior Garden Room was quiet and good value
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabell489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are delighted that you 'Loved It' and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hopefully we will see you again sometime for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

2 Night stay 22 July.
Fantastic service from all the team, especially the new waiter George who has natural people and service skills.
Good choice of restaurant and bar food, great value for location and cooked perfectly.
Comfortable room. Relaxing public areas.
Will make a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, George will be delighted when he sees your kind comments.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having stayed here previously we booked five rooms for our family to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. As expected the reception and service throughout was friendly and efficient, food was very good. We stayed on for the rest of the week after the others had left and the staff made sure that a rather large rose, which we had been given, was carefully looked after during our stay.

The place has a lovely setting by the Lake. The restaurant looks out onto a delightful courtyard, which was a mass of flowers. The previous visits were special treats after finished the Dales Way so we have fond memories of the place. We were certainly not disappointed this time and will be back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Ruby Wedding celebrations with us at the Regent Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a refreshing change, a hotel where the staff were local and genuinely friendly and attentive from the moment we rang on the off chance they may have a room as we drove past one Friday evening after our planned trip went wrong. We had a courtyard double room which was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. A comfortable lounge and bar again with excellent service by the staff. The hotel is literally over the road from the end of lake Windermere with beautiful views of the fells. The hotel has a very open feel about it with courtyard rooms and lodges out the back and plenty of parking. The breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice from the full works to pancakes or kippers. Again all served by friendly local staff! Breakfast is served until 12 o'clock miday. We have being staying in the lakes for the past 20years from camping, yurts, cabins, cottages and hotels and we have driven past this hotel many times. However after this "chance stay" we will definitely be staying again. Could not fault it for the price we paid of £119 B&B. Well done the Regent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

“Brilliant!” it doesn't get any better than this and we are so glad to hear that we did not disappoint, from the rooms to the food and customer service, makes all the hard work worthwhile, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Regent for a three night getaway. Fabulous hotel, great staff, fantastic service. We ate from the bar menu every evening, preferring a more casual dining experience and it was beyond our expectations. The food was delicious and beautifully presented- too nice to really call it a bar meal ! We stayed in a garden room and would recommend it as we were able to take advantage of the veranda and warm summer evenings. The lake was across the road and was the perfect location for a stroll by the water.
Thank you to everyone who made our stay so fantastic

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great if you want some sitting out space
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review we will pass on your kind comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
18.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £95 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing