We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket!”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just the ticket!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We wanted a quiet few days away in a clean, friendly hotel with good food and great staff and thats just what we got. Great value for money in a great location. Staff are very friendly and really go out there way to make your stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are the most spacious but all rooms are back from the main road so traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Just the ticket! I like this just about sums it all up, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    257
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
833
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with our six grown children and boyfriends to celebrate 30th wedding anniversary, so we wanted a good time with family who all travelled from afar. The hotel did not disappoint and helped in everyway they could to make this a special event .

The odd little thing like getting breakfast orders wrong was no major issue, ( with 10 orders and one table this was going to happen) the humour of staff was great and rooms were very comfortable and quite.

The whole family had a large table and private area set aside for us. Food in Resturant was wonderfull and excellent value.

I would only have one request of hotel and that is to have proper showers fitted to baths and not shower heads to bath taps. With no screen, it gets messy!

Would I go back is the real review pointer, yes I would and Thank you to the staff...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor it's great to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable celebration with us at the Regent Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights stay at the Regent. First impressions were that the hotel was bright, modern and cared for by the staff. The hanging baskets were stunning. We had a standard room on the top floor, this was a little cramped and fine for a short stay but if it had been really hot I would have liked to be able to open the windows a little wider or had air conditioning A clothes hook in the bathroom and a shelf to put a toiletries would be a really useful addition to a good shower room. The bar and lounge areas were very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings, the second evening we had friends who ate with us. The choice and quality of the food was excellent . My husband loved the posh cheese on toast and had it both evenings for his starter. We ate the sea bass, steak and slow cooked lamb all were delicious and hot. I love a good desert and there were plenty to choose from. The whole meal was conducted in a relaxed atmosphere. The breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice, and well cooked.
We were there on Monday evening and I was really impressed that the lights were dimmed and a candle lit.
The bar and food prices are average for a hotel so you don`t have to go out to find somewhere to have a drink.
The hotel staff were in the main very friendly and professional. Although we have stayed many times at other hotels in the Windemere area this was our first visit to this hotel . It is one that we will be adding to our list of hotels to re visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are delighted that we have been added to your list of hotels to return to for a future visit, it makes all the hard work worthwhile, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back from a 2 day stay at the Regent, every member of staff from reception to bar and restaurant staff very nice, and cannot do enough for you. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was excellent. The meals do take a while to come out, but we were not in a rush to go anywhere, so this did not bother us, food was certainly worth waiting for. So much so there was several tables of guests from other hotels, preferring to eat at this hotel restaurant rather than where they were staying.
The bar area is lovely, a nice place to chill. Room was spacious with air conditioning, and tea making facilities.
Overall a great break, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
"Very pleasant staff" they will be pleased!! thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor we appreciate the feedback especially when it's a good as this!!

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just had a couple of nights B and B at the Regent Hotel, Ambleside right by the Lake.Stayed in a twin room (29) right at the end of the first floor corridor in the building opposite the main hotel. 15 steps up to it si not mobile make sure you ask for a ground floor room. Small bathroom but large shower cubicle with good power. Usual facilities in room with clean linen and comfortable beds. First night ate in the Bar. We had haddock and chips and the award winning steak ,ale and onion pie with mash. Excellent pie full of meat unusually- most of these types of pies don,t contain a lot of meat but this one did and was tasty. The Haddock was not large but was ok and the chips were good. Both dishes could have done with a few mushy peas really but were good value in nice surroundings and a couple of drinks. The second night we just ordered sandwiches and one portion of chips . It was a large portion and we didn't,t eat them all but the prawn sandwich and the ham sandwich were both good and also good value. Overall although quite full the Hotel was quiet especially after 10.30pm and sleep came easily. Breakfasts were served up to Noon, a tactic which a lot of other Hotels should follow and the Menu was extensive with juices, fruit cereals, porridge, large cooked breakfasts with the usual ingredients I.e. Bacon, egg,( on toasted crumpet) mushrooms, sausage, black pudding, beans, . Also smoked salmon and scrambled egg, pancakes with maple syrup and omelettes cooked to order if required. Very extensive and very tasty! The Staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. Overall a great couple of days. Hotel recommended and will definitely return. There are other types of room in addition to the Standard Room we had.

Room Tip: Didn't,t see any other class of room but the Standard we had was quite adequate. Shower excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianp923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback , it sounds like you had a an enjoyable stay with us and we are delighted that you will return for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed this week end to celebrate a family member's special birthday.
From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful, professional and seemed to genuinely care about our comfort and happiness. The food including the flexible breakfast arrangements was of excellent quality and the cost of the stay was very reasonable bearing in mind the location and quality of the hotel. It was a lovely stay and all of the staff at the hotel are to be commended on the standard of all aspects of the establishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J01959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at the Regent Hotel we will pass on your complimentary comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Regent by the lake (second visit) just been made which we find to be a lovely immaculate hotel, the staff are so pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, we were very disappointed though to find our room did not have a fridge although last year we did have one, we had taken dog food, yogurts etc but no fridge to keep them cool so ended up throwing away, we did mention this to reception but apparently the fridge had been taken out for repair and no other fridge was available which we found very disappointing, member of staff did offer for us to put our food in the hotel fridge but we found this to be inconvenient. If returning back to this hotel we would definitely make sure there was a fridge in the room, also we took our own fan which was definitely worth taking as needed so much as none in the room.The breakfasts are amazing we must say, we also dined in the evening and food top class. Maybe rooms could do with modernisation, we stayed in the courtyard as had our dog with us so not sure what other bedrooms are like, ours was very clean but bit dated.

Room Tip: If fridge required make sure request one when booking and also take a fan in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, sorry to hear about your comments concerning the fridge and the fan, like the member of staff offered we can put items in our fridges in the kitchen this is not a problem also we do have fans available but unfortunately they were in demand as we were experiencing an exceptionally hot period, sorry about this.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,660 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing