We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good location”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

As I said above, the positives for this hotel are the food and service, particularly, along with the location. The only downside was that the bedroom was pretty small - it didn't bother me especially but my wife noticed it, so I suppose it is worth saying that if you have your heart set on a large room, this might not be the hotel for you. The food though - it really is very good. Oh and it has a swimming pool, which is pretty fun, but the pool is only really big enough for 2 adults at one time, max, or about 3-4 children.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noughtpointzero1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the size of your room, if you happen to stay with us again chat to us at the time of booking about you specific requirements as we will do our best to accomodate you in a room that would meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Spent only one night in this hotel but would have spent longer had we known how good it was. Nice comfortable room which was well appointed with all facilities necessary. We had dinner at night and breakfast in the morning both of which were of a very good standard. The staff were all very helpful and it was obvious that the owners had a firm grasp on the running of the establishment, ably assisted by their management.

My only complaint would be the supplement for the lamb which I felt was on the steep side given the cost of the 2 course dinner. The supplement would easily have paid for the cost of the lamb on its own, which would have left around £15/16 for the cost of the accompanying vegetables and preparation.

This would not, however, stop me from coming back or recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

Thanks for your great complimentry review, we do try very hard to offer excellent accommodation, facilites and customer service.

You commented about the supplement on the lamb cutlets, we buy only the best organic lamb in the area this is supplied to us from Mansergh Hall Farm and unfortunately it does not come cheap!!!, hence the supplement charged, but we do feel that supporting the suppliers in the area and serving quality is important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Stayed in Hotel this weekend for our wedding anniversary after calling on speck after leaving another hotel due to horrendous service. management extremly helpful and obliging. made our stay more relaxed and the service was excellent. Would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfitrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Andrew Hewitt General manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Thank you for your lovely comment, we are pleased that we made your anniversary a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Darryn
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

On arrival indifferent receptionist hardly welcoming, our room was small and very hot no air conditioning and as on ground floor could not leave window open at night we suffocated with the heat ,my make up melted .found the hair drier on leaving hidden at back of cupboard.Spent all our time when in the hotel room without natural light as the net curtain was not adequate for the window therefore we kept the curtains closed as we looked out on to the carpark and every one could look in.

Shower was good plenty of hot water ,when we booked I told the receptionist my husband had difficulty walking and she advised the groung floor room in courtyard,problem! everywhere had steep steps room entrance, dining room access to bar lounge.On website they mention level access and recomend courtyard rooms dont belive it .This hotel has made no effort to to recognise people with disabilitys,Other places would offer bath bars shower stools or have built ramps at least one somewhere
Nothing.This meant on one night my Husband missed his after dinner coffee as he could not climb the steps to bar to sit down,it would have been nice if someone had noticed and made an alternative arrangemant such as let him have his coffee at the table but they were to anxious to clear for the next sitting

The food was ordinary the quality off produce was good but on times was overcooked Monday nights the 22nd was particularily bad, also there was a premium on three of the main meals on offer every night, to many flavours on one plate was another

restaurant staff were helfull but not very informed about food one waitress did not know the difference between Pollack and plaice and yes as in another review you do have to talk in whispers

Also no phone in my sons bedroom

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Thank you for you review.The Regent team including myself did our upmost to help your Husband with severe mobility problems during your stay with us.The hotel was built in 1850 meaning that being a Lakeland property where no ground is flat, we cannot provide disabled facilities nor do we advertise or offer them.However we do have ground floor rooms that our guests find extremely comforable and accessible to use all the hotels facilities even guests with wheelchairs!
.During your stay my team did their absolute upmost to help you, your husband and son, reserving a special table for you each morning and evenning and helping you all whenever they could.
Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Had a short one night stay beginning of March. Booked a superior garden room(41). Were a bit put off entering car park and saw sign for garden room in annexe at rear of hotel. However checking in was quick and easy.They checked the room first to make sure it was OK. Would think the garden area would be different again in summer but at this time of year a bit sparse. Inside room was very well appointed, clean and comfortable. definitely 'superior'. Lovely bathroom with spa bath and great shower. Being in annexe didnt detract from stay, in fact added to romantic appeal. Didnt eat in evening but breakfast was good, cooked to order and real local cumberland sausage which is a rarity in Lakes for some reason! Had dinner at Glass House which is 15 mins walk away, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Andrew - Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2010

Hi, Thank you for you lovely review.Glad you managed to have such a relaxing break and really pleased you enjoyed Freddies traditional Cumberland sausage.We hope to see you again and maybe next time try our restaurant for dinner his Lamb is FANASTIC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Booked as a post new year get away. Though snow made travelling there a bit of a nightmare, once there it was well worth it. Room was fab, huge bath helped to warm you up after a day walking in the snow. From the little touches such as a toy sheep on the bed, to the brilliant idea of serving breakfsat til noon I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, my friends are fed up listening about it. The only point is the reference to the 'swimming pool' a bit of a stretch given the size - might be better of turning into a sauna/jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyqueen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2010

Thank you for your great review.For those of you hardy enough to brave the weather condition were rewarded with a real Lakeland Winter Wonderland.I am so glad to read your lovely comments it is a real boost for the team as they have all worked so hard over this difficult winter.Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel to stay at for a romantic weekend. The weather was freezing but the snow made the view from the hotel look magical. The warm welcome and attentive service we recieved from the staff made up for any chill in the air! The food was excellent. We liked the choice of being able to have breakfast anytime up to 12.00. The location was ideal, next to Windermere Lake and a short walk in to Ambleside. We even had the pool to ourselves several times. In short, we had a relaxing enjoyable weekend and would recomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirl045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2010

Thank you for your lovely review.We have had a really difficult 3 months in the Lakes with the flooding and snow. So a BIG THANK YOU from myself and the team.We all look forward to giving you a warm welcome back in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
18.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing