We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and service”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2010

first stay at this hotel staff management couldnt do enough for us rooms lovely with hairdryer iron iron board free toiletries, first time but wll be back, cant praise staff enough, had to cut short our stay due to the snow and they where more than helpful

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank sussiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Regent and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

Just returned from another excellent stay at the superb Regent.We have been visiting the hotel for many years and get withdrawl symptoms if we don't visit at least once every year.The Regent is in a particuarly good position for walking,sightseeing ,shopping or just relaxing and enjoying the lovely atmosphere of this excellent hotel.The food is as always exceptional,with delicious,varied and very generous menus for dinner and equally generous and varied breakfasts that can be taken up to12 noon !.The staff were without exception very efficient,friendly and professional.Our room was very warm and comfortable, well equiped and kept beautifully clean by th hard working housekeeping staff.The high standards of the owners ensure that the Regent never fails to deliver a superb stay in this lovely part of the country.We can't wait to return.Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are always glad to see our regular customers back here and are proud that you choose us to come back to.
I am especially pleased because I had slipped away for a family weekend break in York leaving the staff to run the hotel. So a big thank you to my team they have done me proud!
Thank you again for your lovely review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent soon.
Merry Christmas
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We have stayed at this hotel on four or five occasions now and whilst it is not cheap and it is only a three star hotel it is absolutely superb, every time. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the service is impeccable, the food is terrific and the rooms are modern, clean and of a standard I would expect to find at a four or five star hotel. There are cheaper hotels in the Lake District but not in such excellent locations and that consistently hit such high standards. I would recommend this hotel to pretty much anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Thank you for your fantastic review.
We are so glad that we live up to your expectations of us on each and every stay!
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We have now been going to the Regent for approximately 12 years and try to visit twice a year. Our son and daughter in law usually join us and love the place too. It is in a perfect location for peace and quiet. Having just read some of the reviews I am stunned to see one remark about not being near the lake. I don't think approximately ten yards is a long distance.
The standard of food is excellent and the cost for four courses very reasonable. Having experienced many top London restaurants, some with Michelin stars, the food at the Regent compares well with them. My only disappointment is I can't always manage more than two courses.
We have always found the rooms clean and the staff very professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magic078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for your great review.
We always look forward to seeing our regular customers aswell as to meeting new ones.
We're glad that you enjoy our meals so much, we like to give our guests a wide variety of choice and alot of food to set you up for the day day and the evening!
Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I travelled to the Lake District for his 30th birthday. I sent his presents to the hotel along with banners and balloons for our room. The hotel staff were more than happy to decorate our room as a surprise!!!
We stayed in a Courtyard room with our dog!! The room had enough space for all of us and was clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was fabulous (a really huge breakfast menu!) and really set us up for our long walks.
We were happy with the location of the hotel. It was perfect for all the walks we wanted to do and for the evenings it is just a short walk into Ambleside town.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunkyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for your great review.
I'm so glad both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and your birthday celebrations!
Our breakfasts really do set you up for the day, especially as fuel for your walks!
We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Me and my husband stayed with our dog at The Regent for a 3 nights weekend. It was wonderful relaxing trip! The courtyard room where we stayed was lovely, bright and clean. It was dog friendly aswell.
The reception was really helpful, and helped us a lot which finding the right walk for us.
Once we had dinner at the hotel. The friendly staff served a excellent food!
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilBen038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Thank you for your fantastic review.
We're glad you enjoy your stay in our courtyard room with your dog!
Our staff will always do their best to make your stay with us the best possible, and also thank you for your compliment of our food.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here on a Saturday night at the begining of July.

The room we were allocated was in the courtyard up the steps which was fine...until it rained! when it became quite slippy!

Our room was nice in general but it the external view of these rooms looks a little old and 'motel' look which wasnt so good!! The room looked like it has been recently refurbished which made it look very modern, clean and welcoming.

After a few hours I went to make myself a cup of tea using the kettle...... which had an electrical fault with the wiring and set itself alight with me stood next to it nearly electricuted me. We then noticed the kettle had not been safety checked/inspected since 2007! I took the kettle to the reception who simply replaced it... with little apology or concern about the issue raised!!! rather disapointing.

The carpark had plently of room for all the guests staying at the hotel, our room had a view over the carpark which allowed us to have our car in view.

The hotel is very close to the Lake Windermere which is lovely but a fair walk to Ambleside centre (15-20min).

In general this is a nice hotel whic h could do with a revamp to the external of the Courtyard rooms and regular electrical checks!!

We recently called the Regent to possibly rebook here to find the room rate had increased by a consideral amount which has put us off returning to the Regent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelinspectors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Thank you for your review. I was shocked to hear about your kettle experience I can assure you that this has never happened before or since. We do Patt test but your kettle must have escaped, Sorry.

I am delighted to hear to tried to return to the Regent ,sorry that you could'nt find a suitable offer for your dates. Hopefully next time you visit the Lakes we will be able to accommodate you.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
21.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing