We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at Langdale for 3 nights in January, room 136 Fellside. Very comfortable room, clean, warm with good amenities. Bathroom had a spa bath, complimentary toiletries, very fluffy towels and underfloor heating. Room had flat screen television, tea & coffee facilities, hairdrier and a safe. Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice and all fresh. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    397
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
249
840
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My Husband and I stayed here last year had a thorughly wonderful weekend away. I am familiar with the reposrt anyway as my Grand Parents have a self catering timeshare lodge on the complex, and i have been visiting since is was a child. The hotel is set in acres of forest on a complex housing numerous time share lodges of different sizes. The room we had was clean and spacious and the staff were incredibley helpful during our stay.

There is a healthclub on spa onsite of which the facilities include sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, swimming pool and full gym. They run various different classes on site as well like Aqua fit, Zumba etc.

There is a selection of Restaurants on site, Hobsons bar that is situated above the swimming pool area serves a good selection of light lunches and bar snacks, more formal meals are available from Purdeys who have an excellent Ala Carte menu. Also just up the road from the main complex is Wainwrights Pub who do a fabulous Sunday Roast but it does tend to get extremely busy.

Just up the road at Skelwith Bridge is the Talbot Pub which is attached to the Skelwith Bridge Hotel. The pub has a great rrange of food at a very reasonable price and if you like walking can be a great lunch stop if your doing the Elterwater to Skelwith Bridge walk. The walk begins at the top end of the complex and follows a stream up to the bridge. It's a very easy going walk and is suitable for all ages and abilities. Only take about 30 Mins at a good pace but gives some great views and also takes you through some delightful patches of woodlands.

If this is your first visit to the Lakes then the Conisiton Steamer is a must do trip as is the Grasmere Gingerbread Factory, and the Ferry up Lake Windmere up to Bowness is always fun. There is loads of other stuff to do but totally impossible to do in a Long weekend.

If like my husband Football is a massive part of your life. The Talbot pub has ESPN and Sky Sports.

I would thourghly recommend both the Hotel and the Area in general. We loved it so much we are going again this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the langdale in January 12 and got a deal through travel zoo. The hotel is a resort style hotel with rooms scattered over a large area. The rooms are lovely, comfy king sized beds, well equipped with fabulous bathrooms. Lovely big towels, hair dryer and tea & coffee in rooms. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaki85n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 1 night last September for our Honeymoon.
We stayed another night elsewhere in the lakes, and I wished we'd booked both nights here.

I must admit, the room didn't look much from the outside, being in one of the blocks furthest from reception, and round the back, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Lovely modern interior, furnishings, tv etc. Great amenities inc Elemis toiletries, which I was v pleased with :)Loved the spa bath!
We used the pool, jacuzzi and sauna in the leisure centre, and all were great. I thought the changing facilities were fantastic too.
Nice breakfast in the restaurant, but we didn't eat there for our evening meal, we went to the pub instead. Hotel is very close to Wainwrights put just down the road, and also the Britannia Inn is accessible if you walk right through the estate, and out of the gate at the back.

Good value for money, and no complaints. I've only given 4 stars, because I think 5 stars should be reserved for a truly outstanding hotel stay, which I've yet to experience!

All in all we had a lovely stay which I wish was longer, and hope to return this year. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daftblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a belated review as we stayed for a long weekend as part of a family event (about 12 of us) in September 2009. We know the Lakes well but hadnt really visited this area. The staff were friendly and very helpful, we stayed in a Waterside room which was lovely, very smart, comfortable, quite spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the river, which I imagine in Summer is great. Walkers on the other side of the bank would be able to see into your room on an evening, albeit through the foliage of the trees, but as long as you draw the curtains, not a problem! The leisure facilities were good and it was great that you could still use them after check in, until you left the site. The walks around the area, either easy up the river and around the villages, or farther up to see the waterfall, are excellent and the scenery great even though it was pouring down the entire stay. The food the evenings we all dined as a group was very good and the restaurant staff did a good job of keeping up with such a large group, including a number of young children. The bar/snack area in the leisure part was quite expensive I recall. But all in all, a very enjoyable stay and we would return should we be in that area again, even for just an odd night on our own.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Loved this hotel! Signature room 104 was great with very large, comfy bed and in an annexe across the path to the spa area and main hotel. Swimming in pool and relaxing in jacuzzi and sauna were lovely. Food was great - Purdeys for breakfast and Terrace bar for dinner. Tip - if having full English breakfast, you need to order scrambled eggs from the waiter and when it arrives go to get your bacon etc (I didn't notice this and ended up having different stages to my meal). Terrace bar three-course meal was amazing value and very good. Best of all was the position though - we could just do the Loughrigg and Elterwater straight from the hotel. Wish we could have stayed to do more walks but home commitments stopped this! Car parking was hard though, so suggest people get there early and leave car for the whole trip. It was busy in January so goodness knows what it will be like during the peak months. However, we will return so can recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room 164 was very nice and I think that is the basic signature room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for a romantic break. We stayed during the week which was a bit cheaper than at a weekend. From the moment we arrived we were not dispointed. The grounds are beautiful, the room was very well decorated, clean and tidy with everything we needed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurants we ate in were very good, the food was of a high standard. The spa was also very good, although it does get quite busy at peak times of the day. Breakfast was very nice with a huge selection. The only criticism I can make is that we booked a double room to find that the bed consisted of 2 single beds pushed together. But overall a wonderful stay, definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank green_lady888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel and Spa

Property: Langdale Hotel and Spa
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside
Langdale Hotel And Spa Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing