We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Spent a couple of days as part of our honeymoon at the Langdale hotel. And had a lovely break, Rooms were brill, very comfortable, warm, and everything in that was required mini fridge, good toiletries and great bathroom to boot. Staff really polite and helpful everywhere we went, Spa fascilities clean, well kept and of very high standard. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. On our first night we made our way to Wainwrights pub that is couple minutes walk up the road although was dark staff gave us a torch (refundable charge) it is obviously owned by the hotel, they had a fireworks display and hog roast on. It was a great night and fireworks made it a wonderful atmosphere, so well done! All in all a great break that I can recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Bit work going on so may want to ask for bit of privacy, although didnt bother us at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peahut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    390
    167
    62
    40
See reviews for
248
830
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the Langdale at the beginning of November. I booked it the night before on laterooms.com after searching the net for a nice, reasonable priced hotel to stay in for the night. The Langdale did not disappoint at all, we were wowed from the minute we got there. The staff were lovely and very helpful in every part of the hotel. Our room was lovely with a huge bed and jacuzzi bath-perfect for a pregnant lady! The only disappointment was the view. The swimming pool was gorgeous and my fiance loved the steam room and sauna. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of use on the day we were there but it did not matter too much. We went to Wainwrights for our tea and had a lovely meal, the log fire and real ale are a real feature of this pub. The only downside is they allow dogs and we had a smelly one at the table next to us! Make sure you hire a torch or take your own, the road to and from Wainwrights is pitch black and very scary! But it only takes 2 minutes to get to. The breakfast in Purdey's restaurant was fantastic, it's the best full english breakfast I've ever had. We will definately be going back to the Langdale when baby is born and showing them the lovely relaxing place Mummy and Daddy stayed in before they were born!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We visited for the first time Jan 12, after walking pass this on many occasions. We had a signature room which was large and warm with seperate drying room for your walking gear.The bathroom was stocked with toiletries and had lovely fluffy towels and bathrobes. The bedroom area had easy chairs, table, 32" TV and tea & coffee facilities. We had free use of the spa and swimming pool too.The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of walks from here. For 20 years we've been going to The Lakes and this is the best by far

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playmusic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have stayed at the langdale hotel and spa fairly regularly over the past few months. Each time we have found both the accommodation and facilities second to none within the Ambleside area. The standard rooms are beautifully decorated and have huge beds, plasma tvs and bathrobes are provide, which is a nice touch. We have also stayed in a feature room and enjoyed the sound of the water crashing past the balcony which is directly outside the bedroom. At the end of a long walk it is great to relax in the spa and enjoy a meal at the nearby wainwrights pub. Breakfast is varied and excellent quality! The only thing that may put some visitors off staying is the proximity to the centre of Ambleside. As the hotel is a numbed of miles out of the centre a taxi journey is required if you wish to dine in Ambleside of an evening and enjoy a drink. However the langdale valley is a beautiful location and if peace and quiet is what you are aiming for then this is the place for you. Would recommend above the low wood hotel which is more expensive and doesn't offer the same quality of accommodation in our opinion. You won't be disappointed at the langdale hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Recently returned from Langdale which is in a great location. Stayed for 4 nights. Hotel staff are fabulous and so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Lady on reception was very helpful when wanting to go on a walk (few miles nothing spectacular) and directed us and gave us a useful map to direct us too.
Room we stayed is was 121. Room was lovely. Huge bed, excellent bathroom (amazing shower & spa bath) TV, coffee/tea making facilities and mini fridge too.
Booked 2 days ahead - so relatively late. Only gripes were that the TV would not give a clear picture when the shower was working and the wifi is inconsistent (best place for wifi - suprise suprise! was the terrace bar).
As someone else has mentioned we were asked to pay for our entire bill when we arrived - even though a £50 deposit has already been paid, which was not the most welcoming of arrivals!
Parking was a little tricky on the Thursday night as went into Ambleside (10mins away) for dinner and arrived back around 9pm and struggled to find parking.
The pool and spa are is modern and staff are very friendly. Did not use the spa but the pool, steam room and jacuzzi were all very good and the centre looks pretty new too. Husband used the sauna, etc too and enjoyed the facilities. I'm asthmatic and found the pool & jacuzzi to be heavily chlorined, so much so I barely lasted 5mins in the jacuzzi as felt I was just breathing chlorine! Husband was fine - might just have been me being oversensitive.
Food choices are to be truthful all very similar. We ate Hobsons bar on the first night and Terrace bar on the last night. Purdey's did not really stand out to us and we struggled to select something off the menu sadly, had there been dishes we were interested in we would have eaten there.
Hobson's has a cocktail bar feel (a kind waitress made us non alcoholic cocktails and they were delicious!) we ate by the fire and it was very relaxed - recommend the fillet steak burger.
The terrace bar is much more sports bar, family friendly. Recommend you sit away from the automatic opening door, you get an unwelcome chill each time the door opens. Food in the terrace bar is again good and nothing fancy. Husband had gammon & chips, whilst I had a bacon ciabatta.
There is the hotel pub Wainwrights which is a 10min walk away from the site. We didn't visit as other tripadvisor reviews were mixed. We did visit the Britannic pub in Elterwater (8mins in the car) and the food was homely pud grub. Recommend the steak pie & chicken pie. We hadn't made any reservations but at 7pm on a Wednesday night the place was packed with people waiting for tables. Be warned the bar area is quite cramped and the tables are not particularly big if eating in there.

Would certainly stay at the hotel again, did very much enjoy it.
Be warned at the moment there is a huge new building being built. Work is being carried out on it most days 8.30-5ish. Didn't cause us any issue but just thought to point this out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Langdale is a nice hotel - but we weren't overwhelmed with it. The room was lovely and well decorated, but the shower was a joke, and little more than a trickle. Breakfast was really nice, and even though we went to breakfast late both mornings (having treated ourselves to a lie in whilst on our honeymoon!) we were delighted to find that the standard and availability of food was just as good as it would have been at the first sitting. We really enjoyed our meals at the Wainwright's Inn, just up the road (a torch lit walk away) - reasonable prices and huge portions - well worth a visit. The gym is ok - but a little on the small side, the pool looked lovely, but as it was half term and raining outside we didn't try and get it owing to the sheer number of children in it. On the whole it's a nice place to spend a couple of nights on a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

We stopped in Langdale as part of our honeymoon and had a fantastic time.
Location is second to non, after 9 pm we didn't hear a thing.
The hotel staff are very friendly and cared for our every need,even a lovely card on our arrival to the room.
The grounds, hotel and leisure facilities are kept to a high standard and the gun powder room which we booked was large,spacious and furnished to a high standard.
Breakfast is fantastic and as always staff are there to cater for your every need. My only gripe (and the reason I didn't award 5stars)is that the Italian restaurant that is situated above the pool, in our thoughts not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.
All in all though a great stay and we would happy go back without a moments notice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
8.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
6.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel and Spa

Property: Langdale Hotel and Spa
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your Langdale Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside
Langdale Hotel And Spa Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing