We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny pinching”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked one of the lodges for three days between Christmas and new year. The standard of accommodation was good (not great), but pricey, so I was very disappointed to be charged for gas and electricity at the end of my stay. Further, I had expected to be given a gown and free water in the spa ... But had to pay for both. The spa was unn impressive ... Very hard to find somewhere to sit and relax. These not-so-little things can make a difference

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

we found all the staff at this hotel are lovely and helpful. that was the one good point.
we stayed in the family room which bares no resemblance to any of the photos of rooms shown on the website.
It was extremelysmall with a view of the carpark . It was like a motel room. There were no proper beds for the children, Our clothes and bags did not fit in the wardrobe so had to stay on the floor. There was no shelving in the bathroom for toothbrushes etc. There was no room to move.
We paid for 4 people to stay but were provided with one small sample of shower gel and shampoo.
We ate in Purdeys restaurant which the website says is one of the best restaurants in the lake district and serves the best breakfast in the lake district.
For the evening meal, soup of the day turned out to be Heinz tomato soup.
At breakfast they ran out of porridge and eggs and also served up tinned grapefruit.
We decided to check out early and not stay another night . We were going to take the children swimming first but decided not to as there were swimming lesssons going on in the pool.
This furniture in this hotel is cheap and tatty, there is no atmosphere or character.
But thanks for the good service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bettyboodle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed 18th January in signature room overlooking river - average standard bearing in mind description on website.
Website indicates bar, restaurant much bigger than they are and no bar staff late afternoon !!
Breakfast... had to wait for table, hot food options ran out, no continental choice. Would of thought hotel of this standing would offer waiter service.
Checkout @ 10am and que, probably due to time.
Overall... better places to stay in Lake district unless you are a fell walker.
Only highlight was Wainwrights Inn... great service.

Room Tip: Expensive for the standard... much better available for £275 in area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in brimstone . A fantastic experience from being met in the car park , escorted to our room where we were shown all the hi tec gadgets , incredible . The standard of accommodation of our room was first class . We also liked the siting room with free wine and bees served before dinner . The dinner was good but not outstanding , not of similar standard as the rooms . Check out was efficient . A great special occasion , thank you Langdale

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed Thursday 16th January - Saturday 18th January, Stayed in a fellside room facilities excellent.
Staff very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them.
Dined in the Terrace bar & restaurant food very good and atmosphere great, also dined in Wainwrights Inn nice pub atmosphere, open fire, beams and great food reasonably priced.
Very good pool Jacuzzi and sauna.
Had treatments in Spa very professional.
Would definitely go again .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon8376a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed Monday 13th January-Wednesday 15th January 2014; got a good deal on booking direct through the hotel and then emailed them asking if it was possible to stay in the Gunpowder Room, which we liked the look of. We're really happy on arrival to have the room of our choice, along with the super king size bed we asked for. The room was really spacious, with a great whirlpool bath and some smart features, like the shower on/off at a touch of a button.

All of the staff were friendly, the receptionist gave us a walking guide that was simple enough to read and meant we had a good day walking over Silver How and into Grasmere before returning full circle.

The breakfast was great, with great quality and variety to keep anyone happy! Really enjoyed our weekend away, and will definitely consider returning.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for one night and had such a good time. Staff would go out of there way to help in any means possible. Location was perfect for what we wanted. Out of the way from busyness. Beautiful views. Hotel itself was stunning. Was a little disappointed in the room, as we only got signature room it was basic, would definitely upgrade if we go again. Food was fabulous but a little overpriced. Had a massage In the spa and it was amazing. Breakfast was fab. Hired the electric car would recommend doing that. Was fun! We will definitely be returning again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulamck_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £128 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. Unfortunately no pets on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing