We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
743
434
181
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
434
181
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomwainwrights pubterrace barwaterside roomtime sharefellside roomselemis toiletriesultimate roomsbuilding workspa treatmentsspa arealake districtswimming poolsteam roommain restaurantleisure facilitieshigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for one night for a relaxing birthday treat. We stayed in one of the Signature rooms in a romantic gothic style. Room was lovely with a jacuzzi bath and bed was huge and so comfy!!
We used the spa which was nice but was busy with children being a Saturday which tainted our experience slightly but that's not a fault of the hotel!
Staff were all very polite and friendly, particularly the young man on reception who checked us in. I don't know his name but he had glasses on, he was an excellent first impression.
The only disappointment was to have chocolates etc in the room as a birthday surprise was very expensive and staff didn't seem willing to do anything extra to mark a special occasion (this was staff on the telephone when I rang).
All in all though, beautiful place and excellent service. Will definitely be returning and the location is superb!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edenwood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I fell in love with this hotel many years ago and have been coming several times a year since but I think my love affair may be coming to an end! Standards are slipping, bathroom poorly cleaned for a second time, areas are starting to look tired, carpets marked, prices going up!! The spa area is nice but the pool is unpleasantly cold. The playroom is a lovely addition. Staff in the terrace bar and wainwrights are lovely but the food is just ok and expensive. I don't believe in being critical in forums like this unless the hotel has had their opportunity to comment, but my letter of comments on my last visit did not even get an acknowledgement yet alone a response.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lippychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked one of the lodges for three days between Christmas and new year. The standard of accommodation was good (not great), but pricey, so I was very disappointed to be charged for gas and electricity at the end of my stay. Further, I had expected to be given a gown and free water in the spa ... But had to pay for both. The spa was unn impressive ... Very hard to find somewhere to sit and relax. These not-so-little things can make a difference

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we found all the staff at this hotel are lovely and helpful. that was the one good point.
we stayed in the family room which bares no resemblance to any of the photos of rooms shown on the website.
It was extremelysmall with a view of the carpark . It was like a motel room. There were no proper beds for the children, Our clothes and bags did not fit in the wardrobe so had to stay on the floor. There was no shelving in the bathroom for toothbrushes etc. There was no room to move.
We paid for 4 people to stay but were provided with one small sample of shower gel and shampoo.
We ate in Purdeys restaurant which the website says is one of the best restaurants in the lake district and serves the best breakfast in the lake district.
For the evening meal, soup of the day turned out to be Heinz tomato soup.
At breakfast they ran out of porridge and eggs and also served up tinned grapefruit.
We decided to check out early and not stay another night . We were going to take the children swimming first but decided not to as there were swimming lesssons going on in the pool.
This furniture in this hotel is cheap and tatty, there is no atmosphere or character.
But thanks for the good service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bettyboodle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed 18th January in signature room overlooking river - average standard bearing in mind description on website.
Website indicates bar, restaurant much bigger than they are and no bar staff late afternoon !!
Breakfast... had to wait for table, hot food options ran out, no continental choice. Would of thought hotel of this standing would offer waiter service.
Checkout @ 10am and que, probably due to time.
Overall... better places to stay in Lake district unless you are a fell walker.
Only highlight was Wainwrights Inn... great service.

Room Tip: Expensive for the standard... much better available for £275 in area
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews