We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,534)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
774
456
187
72
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
456
187
72
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature room wainwrights pub waterside room time share fellside rooms ultimate rooms building work spa treatments spa area lake district swimming pool steam room leisure facilities main restaurant high standard excellent facilities huge bed
Filter
Updating list...
960 - 965 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is set in quiet countryside beside a river. On this visit we had walked here from Ambleside over Loughrigg fell via Skelwith Bridge and Elterwater. It was a beautiful sunny day with blue skies and we lunched on the terrace by the crystal clear water. The service was ok and the lunch was fine. I came here for a Spa day a couple of years ago. The pool is a good size and the Spa treatment was excellent.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really friendly & welcoming service on the phone whilst booking. Nice welcome from reception upon arrival & impressive impact of the resort as we arrived. Lovely stylish room & well equipped for the family (a few more toiletries would have been good for a family of 4 but we phoned through & they arrived in minutes). Facilities for the wet weekend were brilliant - kid friendly pool & soft-play in the Country Club - Clean, new & warm. Cafe next to the spa, where the staff were excellent (friendly & attentive) & a great menu. Wainwright's pub is a few minutes walk away & it really feels like a country pub (& not part of the complex). Great, hearty meals & lovely atmosphere. One the whole, the staff were great (there was a bit of a knob behind the bar but you always get one!). Our bed was high quality & super-comfy. Breakfast was amazing - Full Cumbrian brekky, pastries, cereals, fruit. Best of all was that we were invited to use the facilities for as long as we wanted on check-out day -This is a standard arrangement & really valuable. We'll be back for sure.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is beyond superb. The location is world class - and I have traveled to a few places - abut the hotel itself is brilliant. Great staff, excellent rooms and facilities -no negatives anywhere.

Room tip: They are all good. Brimstone if you want to push the boat out!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 758PaulH758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed the week before the Easter bank holiday to try and avoid the crowd. It is in a very peaceful woodlands setting, extremely tranquil and relaxing. The décor of the room was lovely and stylish, and it was rather spacious, with a cosy and homely feel to it. The overall impression is that it is a very nice and immaculate hotel with excellent facilities and service. Oh and the power shower is the best we have ever come across! The facilities are excellent with a spa, swimming pool, gym, exercises classes and also a children's playroom so as well as for couples, it's also great for families. The staff are very friendly and professional and especially the restaurant waiting staff, they could not be faulted and is an asset to the hotel. One waiter in particular was extremely helpful and remembered that we ordered a hot chocolate for our young boy and he even brought us one the following morning, which brought a huge smile to our son's face! We could not ask for more and really enjoyed our stay at the lovely Langdale Spa Hotel, highly recommended. We were glad that we chose this hotel and would definitely come back again!

Room tip: We stayed in a fellside room which is away from the main building/reception and has a steep staircase so if you have limited mobility, remember to ask for a ground floor room.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat, room was lovely. We decided we didn't want fussy food, so we ate at Wainwrights the pub on the complex- service and food were fantastic !!!

Breakfast was ok - served buffet style, think it could of been better. On our second morning we asked for some additional butter, however the restaurant manager/supervisor "threw" some on the table, that she'd picked up from some else's table that had already used ! Very disappointed, as I work in the hotel industry and I'd be mortified if my staff did this, after guests paid over £200 a night and she was moaning the whole time about being tired and everyone in the restaurant could hear her. Very unprofessional and very disappointing.

Other than that incident the room was lovely and clean, a little warm but not uncomfortable.

A great spot to mooch around the lakes from !!

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NikkiC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews