We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay but very expensive”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at the hotel and also in the lodges within the estate. The whole area is lovely and has a very welcoming feel about it. This time my stop was only for one night en-route to Scotland and as stated above I found it very expensive with only an adequate breakfast provided. Room , as usual, was superb and one cannot fault it. For a longer stay the lodges are better value than the hotel but they are self catering.

Room Tip: The newest part of the hotel is very expensive so the older part of the hotel are much better value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is set in quiet countryside beside a river. On this visit we had walked here from Ambleside over Loughrigg fell via Skelwith Bridge and Elterwater. It was a beautiful sunny day with blue skies and we lunched on the terrace by the crystal clear water. The service was ok and the lunch was fine. I came here for a Spa day a couple of years ago. The pool is a good size and the Spa treatment was excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really friendly & welcoming service on the phone whilst booking. Nice welcome from reception upon arrival & impressive impact of the resort as we arrived. Lovely stylish room & well equipped for the family (a few more toiletries would have been good for a family of 4 but we phoned through & they arrived in minutes). Facilities for the wet weekend were brilliant - kid friendly pool & soft-play in the Country Club - Clean, new & warm. Cafe next to the spa, where the staff were excellent (friendly & attentive) & a great menu. Wainwright's pub is a few minutes walk away & it really feels like a country pub (& not part of the complex). Great, hearty meals & lovely atmosphere. One the whole, the staff were great (there was a bit of a knob behind the bar but you always get one!). Our bed was high quality & super-comfy. Breakfast was amazing - Full Cumbrian brekky, pastries, cereals, fruit. Best of all was that we were invited to use the facilities for as long as we wanted on check-out day -This is a standard arrangement & really valuable. We'll be back for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is beyond superb. The location is world class - and I have traveled to a few places - abut the hotel itself is brilliant. Great staff, excellent rooms and facilities -no negatives anywhere.

Room Tip: They are all good. Brimstone if you want to push the boat out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed the week before the Easter bank holiday to try and avoid the crowd. It is in a very peaceful woodlands setting, extremely tranquil and relaxing. The décor of the room was lovely and stylish, and it was rather spacious, with a cosy and homely feel to it. The overall impression is that it is a very nice and immaculate hotel with excellent facilities and service. Oh and the power shower is the best we have ever come across! The facilities are excellent with a spa, swimming pool, gym, exercises classes and also a children's playroom so as well as for couples, it's also great for families. The staff are very friendly and professional and especially the restaurant waiting staff, they could not be faulted and is an asset to the hotel. One waiter in particular was extremely helpful and remembered that we ordered a hot chocolate for our young boy and he even brought us one the following morning, which brought a huge smile to our son's face! We could not ask for more and really enjoyed our stay at the lovely Langdale Spa Hotel, highly recommended. We were glad that we chose this hotel and would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a fellside room which is away from the main building/reception and has a steep staircas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat, room was lovely. We decided we didn't want fussy food, so we ate at Wainwrights the pub on the complex- service and food were fantastic !!!

Breakfast was ok - served buffet style, think it could of been better. On our second morning we asked for some additional butter, however the restaurant manager/supervisor "threw" some on the table, that she'd picked up from some else's table that had already used ! Very disappointed, as I work in the hotel industry and I'd be mortified if my staff did this, after guests paid over £200 a night and she was moaning the whole time about being tired and everyone in the restaurant could hear her. Very unprofessional and very disappointing.

Other than that incident the room was lovely and clean, a little warm but not uncomfortable.

A great spot to mooch around the lakes from !!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NikkiC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing setting
Modern and clean rooms
Great facilities
Lovely bar and restaurant
The best point about our stay was the service. The staff were all very good and made sure we were well looked after especially when we had dinner and breakfast.
Daniella stood out in particular, she was great.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would come back for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £126 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. Unfortunately no pets on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing