We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lodge, Shame About The Weather” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdale Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge, Shame About The Weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed here several times before, the estate is very pleasent and has some good facilities. We had chosen a Coniston Lodge by Great Langdale Beck. Two friends were sharing with us, the lodge can take six, but the drop down bed in the living area is not that inviting! It was a nice surprise to see that the lodge had been recently refitted to a very high standard, lots of LED lighing and even a 12 bottle wine cooler! The two bedrooms are quite cosey, fortumatly we could use the sauna to store the luggage, we were not going to turn is on as it would run up a large electicity bill. Our room had an ensuite bathroom, which had a very good shower and a whirlpool bath. We think that the lodge had been refitted around Jan/Feb this year.

There are a few quirky things to bear in mind:
What are the timings for the heating/hot water?
There is a DAB radio in the living area, but it could not tune to any station, FM wasn't much better.
Our bedroom had a WiFi radio which I could only tune to 5 Live.

I used the gym and spa pool, both were good. My wife spotted some wild life in the pool area when a bat flew past here in the middle of the afternoon.

We did not use the bars or restaurants because we thought they very expensive.

When thinking staying here although the countryside is fantastic, it will rain sometime during your stay. Also, conpare this to a cruise from a value for money point of view, I think the cruise will win in future.

Room Tip: Lodges by the beck have the pleasure of listening to the water passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    390
    167
    62
    40
See reviews for
248
830
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at the hotel and also in the lodges within the estate. The whole area is lovely and has a very welcoming feel about it. This time my stop was only for one night en-route to Scotland and as stated above I found it very expensive with only an adequate breakfast provided. Room , as usual, was superb and one cannot fault it. For a longer stay the lodges are better value than the hotel but they are self catering.

Room Tip: The newest part of the hotel is very expensive so the older part of the hotel are much better value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
792 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is set in quiet countryside beside a river. On this visit we had walked here from Ambleside over Loughrigg fell via Skelwith Bridge and Elterwater. It was a beautiful sunny day with blue skies and we lunched on the terrace by the crystal clear water. The service was ok and the lunch was fine. I came here for a Spa day a couple of years ago. The pool is a good size and the Spa treatment was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Really friendly & welcoming service on the phone whilst booking. Nice welcome from reception upon arrival & impressive impact of the resort as we arrived. Lovely stylish room & well equipped for the family (a few more toiletries would have been good for a family of 4 but we phoned through & they arrived in minutes). Facilities for the wet weekend were brilliant - kid friendly pool & soft-play in the Country Club - Clean, new & warm. Cafe next to the spa, where the staff were excellent (friendly & attentive) & a great menu. Wainwright's pub is a few minutes walk away & it really feels like a country pub (& not part of the complex). Great, hearty meals & lovely atmosphere. One the whole, the staff were great (there was a bit of a knob behind the bar but you always get one!). Our bed was high quality & super-comfy. Breakfast was amazing - Full Cumbrian brekky, pastries, cereals, fruit. Best of all was that we were invited to use the facilities for as long as we wanted on check-out day -This is a standard arrangement & really valuable. We'll be back for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is beyond superb. The location is world class - and I have traveled to a few places - abut the hotel itself is brilliant. Great staff, excellent rooms and facilities -no negatives anywhere.

Room Tip: They are all good. Brimstone if you want to push the boat out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed the week before the Easter bank holiday to try and avoid the crowd. It is in a very peaceful woodlands setting, extremely tranquil and relaxing. The décor of the room was lovely and stylish, and it was rather spacious, with a cosy and homely feel to it. The overall impression is that it is a very nice and immaculate hotel with excellent facilities and service. Oh and the power shower is the best we have ever come across! The facilities are excellent with a spa, swimming pool, gym, exercises classes and also a children's playroom so as well as for couples, it's also great for families. The staff are very friendly and professional and especially the restaurant waiting staff, they could not be faulted and is an asset to the hotel. One waiter in particular was extremely helpful and remembered that we ordered a hot chocolate for our young boy and he even brought us one the following morning, which brought a huge smile to our son's face! We could not ask for more and really enjoyed our stay at the lovely Langdale Spa Hotel, highly recommended. We were glad that we chose this hotel and would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a fellside room which is away from the main building/reception and has a steep staircas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat, room was lovely. We decided we didn't want fussy food, so we ate at Wainwrights the pub on the complex- service and food were fantastic !!!

Breakfast was ok - served buffet style, think it could of been better. On our second morning we asked for some additional butter, however the restaurant manager/supervisor "threw" some on the table, that she'd picked up from some else's table that had already used ! Very disappointed, as I work in the hotel industry and I'd be mortified if my staff did this, after guests paid over £200 a night and she was moaning the whole time about being tired and everyone in the restaurant could hear her. Very unprofessional and very disappointing.

Other than that incident the room was lovely and clean, a little warm but not uncomfortable.

A great spot to mooch around the lakes from !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikkiC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
8.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
6.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel and Spa

Property: Langdale Hotel and Spa
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Langdale Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside
Langdale Hotel And Spa Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing