We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose the Langdale as a luxury break after our wedding and we were not disappointed. The staff were helpful and courteous to a fault and the facilities exceeded our expectations. We had a warm greeting from the staff waiting in our room ( a welcome newly weds card ) and they helped me plan a surprise delivery for my wife. The buffet breakfast at Purdeys restaurant was a great start to the day and the local brew's at Wainwrights bar in the evening a great end. loads to do and a plan to return already being hatched.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    412
    172
    65
    41
See reviews for
254
870
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For nearly Ten years we drove past the Langdale Hotel and Spa on our way to camp at the National Trust Campsite in the valley. So on our first return to the UK after 6 years in Australia what better way to spend some quality US time without the children....an early 20th wedding anniversary.

So First impressions......stunning drive in, the usual twisty tight country lanes...
The reception is welcoming and the staff helpful.

The room could of done with a deep clean as it had quite a few stains and a bit of wear and tear on the furniture but the bed was lovely, the bathroom sparkling and the views gorgeous.

We chose to dine at Purdeys on the first night.. the food lovely although took an eternity for the desserts to arrive which spoilt an otherwise perfect meal....

Must mention our waitress Dianella who made the evening flow beautifully.

My wife had a lovely relaxing spa experience the next afternoon whilst i went walking with an old friend and we then followed it up with a night of drinking, good conversation with an old friend in the Wainwrights Inn on the Wednesday night complete with a Pub quiz and a hearty meal....

Breakfast on both days was excellent complete with black pudding......nom nom

All in all, one of the highlights of our trip back to Old Blighty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great stay at The Langdale (27th may), the room was very clean and stylish with a massive, comfortable bed! All the staff were very helpful and the facilities and location were excellent! A must go! No faults at all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahlatham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel during the half term and we were not disappointed, the hotel is well equipped and the food is very good especially the Pizza's. The hotel has its own pub which is a few minutes walk away which is very nice and also has good food on offer at reasonable prices.

Our room had a spa bath very was a very nice touch, the bed was a disappointed, it felt like two singles put together on a slope, I think the hotel should invest in some new beds, although this did not detract from our stay, The breakfast was first class, and the hotel staff were brilliant, couldn't have done more for you.

The swimming pool was good, however I believe that this could benefit from an adult only session at a set time as it was loud with children, however this is to be expected on half term, so this would be a suggestion only.

we hired an electric car from the hotel £10 for one hour, which was great fun, its not fast it was just something fun to do.

In conclusion, it was a lovely hotel, improved beds would be a god send, the rooms are well served and very clean.

Would recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and the other half booked here to just get away from the rat race for a couple of days and it hit the spot completely!
We stayed in the fell side rooms and couldn't fault it - modern and spotless. Remote control shower and a jacuzzi bar has standard. The room came with a fridge which was perfect to keep our champers chilled!!
As it turned out we ended up eating at The Terrace both nights and could not fault the food one bit. It was more expensive than the Wainwright and the Britiannia pubs which are on the edges of the estate but we wanted a peaceful romantic meal for two and don't think you could have that at either of the former as they both quite busy when we visited them for drinks. That said the food that was being brought out at both of the pubs looked yumtastic and if we had been there for a longer stay we would have definitely tried them both!
Staff at the hotel we lovely especially the waiting/bar staff - my only criticism would be that the guy that checked us in and out smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke which was a little off putting!
The spa is small but adequate and yes there are children in there but hey it's family resort and we still found our time in the spa very relaxing!
The breakfast was plentiful and of high standard, the poached eggs I ordered were cooked perfectly! My only two criticisms were that the only had semi-skimmed milk on offer and the food stations were at opposite ends of the restaurant!!
All in all it's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting and close enough to Ambleside and Windermere if you want to explore or if like us you don't want to leave the resort you don't need too.
Exactly what we were looking for and will most definitely be returning!!
P.s. Don't necessarily follow your sat nav as ours took us off the main road on a very scenic last 10mins!!

Room Tip: If you want avoid noise from other rooms ask for a first floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful area but the overpriced rooms at the hotel spoil the trip. I have stayed in a lodge here as well and found them to be dated.
Our room was on the ground floor on the driveway exit and was noisy at times and smelled a little damp. Needed airing. For the price I could have stayed in a Premier inn for 2 or 3 times the length of time.

Room Tip: Insufficient experience to say which rooms are best but those away from main building should be ques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed here many times and always found the hotel rooms and lodges to be of a high standard. The lodges have been updated over the last couple of years. However, storage space is somewhat limited and I doubt that the hotel caters for stays longer than a few days at a time..

Food at The Terrace Restaurant was excellent and not too expensive - good quality and service. We did not use Purdey's this time, and Hobson's Bar was only used for drinks, althought food is also available there.

The Spa too was excellent but we did not avail ourselves of any of the treatments available, just used the pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi.

The new Brimstone Hotel on the site has been open for a few months now and seems popular - if one is prepared to pay for 5 star +,

The location is beautiful, set amongst trees and hills and the River running through the estate. Always an enjoyable stay, and even better if the weather is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing