We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night's sleep ever”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Looked forward to this visit after all the hype. Arrived at the hotel late on Friday and the scenery and views are breathtaking. We were in a fell side room which had been upgraded and was vrey clean. The bedding was really sumptious. We went off to the local pub for a meal and the pub was busy and the food was really great. We retired to our room and pulled back the covers to find an old mattress topper. It was sunk on one side and very lumpy and dishevelled on the other. It was 11pm at this time and too late to report the problem.
We complained to the manager,Linda, the next morning. She basically blanked us stating that the rooms were the responsibility of the cleaning staff and nothing to do with the hotel!! Unbelievable. When we tried to explain how uncomfortable the bed was and the lack of sleep all she could focus on was how great the rest of the hotel. When the hotel prides itself on how great the hotel is. it is surprising how complaints are treated with disdain. I e-mailed the hotel on our return with no response whatsoever.
If you stay in room 144 fellside I hope the topper has been replaced or you are able to sleep on the lumpiest bed n town

Room Tip: Don't use room 144. Beware the 1030 am depart
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PHILIP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Me and my partner came here as a special treat and complete relax. The resorts situation was fantastic with great views and a real sense of getting away from it all. Our room was comfortable, the hotel facilities were excellent with friendly staff. Yes, it was rather expensive but I feel it was worth it's price tag.
The food was amazing with plenty of restaurants/bars to dine in- thursday night BBQ was FANTASTIC and good value.
I had a very good massage in the spa and then enjoyed the pool and sauna. The only negative was that the pool was closed for school swimming for 1.5 hours on thursday pm, and I felt that there should be more emphasis on child free areas as this was not really a child friendly hotel as there were mainly couples here. Would definitely recommend to others in need of escapism and pampering.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our room was very comfortable. The heated towel rack kept the bathroom too hot but that was minor drawback. Our breakfasts in Purdey's were ok but not our best on the trip and the bar was tiny and unremarkable. the best aspect was the walk to the river and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had two signature rooms, one was excellent - room was clean and tastefully decorated and couldn't be faulted. The second room just across the landing was not quite up to the same standard. The cabinets and cupboard doors were chipped and marked, stains on the carpet and mould [hard to see but there] in the bottom of the shower - some TLC needed. It didn't spoil our weekend, the pool and setting is lovely and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was fairly good and, again the setting was great. Overall I don't think it was worth £185 per room per night but it WAS a lovely weekend.
We ate at Zefferelli's in Ambleside on the Saturday night and it was fantastic!

Room Tip: If you go for a signature room, try and get one that faces the Spa, much brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great for a short stay if you need a relaxing get away! Only 4.5h drive form London. Overall - its beautiful, the staff is super nice, nature is amazing, fresh air, lovely comfortable rooms, great relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel is like a little village with many houses, if you can - choose the one with a river view (it has a little balcony with a gorgeous view on the stream). Make sure you check what room you have booked - we had a misunderstanding as we thought we booked a certain room and it was a different one when we arrived. Just check with the reception if they can switch to exactly the one you wanted.
Spa is not all amazing - massage rooms are tiny, jacuzzi is always over full and switches off for cleaning very often, so we could never really enjoy it. The pool is nice, big and clean. Saunas are good.
Nice restaurants with plenty of outdoor sittings to enjoy the sun. Couple of pubs around also. You can also take beautiful walks around the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you check what room you have booked - we had a misunderstanding as we thought we booked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadiyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week which dished up one disappointment after the other. The first and main problem was the position of our room (no. 137. Never stay in it!) which overlooked the service yard where laundry was delivered and the staff park their cars. This was our only view and we were constantly disturbed by noisy trucks making deliveries and staff leaving, presumably after a late shift, at about 2.30am.
The food in Purdy's resturant we thought was overpriced and after experiencing the breakfast buffet we decided not to bother. We did eat once in the Terrace resturant and the food was O.K. but the resturant is above the swimming pool, is sceamingly hot and stinks of chlorine!
The breakfasts were about average for a 2 star hotel but the Langdale is supposed to be 4star!
The estate has lodges used as time-shares and the owners of the time-shares own the hotel so no doubt they think it is acceptable to exclude hotel guests from some areas of the estate, however the advertising blurb says nothing about the signs proclaiming "no hotel guests beyond this point" which are scattered about the grounds. The saving grace of the hotel is the staff who are great, helpful,friendly and well informed. The grounds are beautiful but restricted and we did not stay around the estate during the day. We did have a good time driving around in the "Twizy" one day, hired from reception, well worth a try!
Overall I would not recommend the hotel and I only gave it 3 stars because of the staff.
A final gripe, the rooms are nicely decorated but beginning to look tired and our wardrobe was woefully inadequate. About 50cms wide and housing the iron, ironing board, safe and luggage stand we had no room for clothes! we had three shelves and a couple of small drawers. This may be fine for a week-end but no good for a week. We ended up keeping our walking gear in our luggage! Not 4 star in any way!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have poor views but the "Fellside" rooms have none and 137 overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I felt as though this hotel was a little overpriced. £185 a night. For that price I expected a little more I suppose. For me it lacked that little something extra I just couldn't put my finger on. Room average. Restaurant average. Pool area nice but very busy.

A nice enough place but not special enough for a second trip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £130 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. Unfortunately no pets on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing