We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at the Langdale hotel for three nights. The room was lovely but lacked a little of that luxury element that we did expect as seen in the pictures. The location of the hotel is great and very relaxing such a close walk to Elterwater which was great! We had a meal in both the restaurants and have to say they were excellent and staff very friendly!
My only negative was the spa facilities as me and my husband were just a little disappointed that when booking for treatments, we were told that there were no available appointments for the days of our stay. This could have been solved with the hotel providing us with notice of this when booking our stay to avoid this disappointment!
Other than this a fab stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare-Norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    397
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
249
841
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were booked in for 3 nights expecting a luxury spa hotel only to be extremely disappointed.
Our signature room was dark,tiny,noisy and certainly not worth £160 a night.
We checked out after one night's stay, our only advice would be if you like a luxurious hotel to stay in keep travelling and pass this one by !!
By calling it The Langdale Hotel and Spa is misleading as it is only a resort complex, and for the price I would not expect a buffet breakfast that involves a five minute walk in the open air to get to the restaurant.... But there is an umbrella in the broom cupboard which doubles up for a wardrobe available should it be raining !!

Room Tip: If you are couples like us who appreciate luxury hotels and like to travel to nice places then our a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gorgy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We did have a lovely family holiday in a lodge overlooking the river. The location is perfect and the facilities are good. Having the pool and restaurants made for a great day when the weather was bad. But I wouldn't go back. On arrival the lovely welcome was spoiled by being sent to the wrong lodge - a bit of a surprise to the lady who had booked it who turned up at the same time. The complimentary wifi never really worked and calls to the reception elicited a mediocre response and no actual improvement. The lodge was lovely, but could do with updating - we'd just come from a non-luxury forest resort that easily bettered this. Nothing to complain about and happy with the price - but it needs to step up if it wants to keep an exclusive luxury status.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed at the beginning of August as a birthday treat. You relax as you walk through the front doors! The setting is spectacular. Surrounded by trees and small lakes by the side of the beck. Really lovely setting. Bedroom nicely decorated,lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean and quiet. Great facilities on site,two restaurants plus a bar and a traditional pub just a short walk away. Superb swimming pool and spa. Friendly helpful staff. Worth every penny!!! Will visit often in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for one night expecting a gorgeous stay and were slightly let down...
Our room for one night was £185, was it worth that?! I don't think so!!
The hotel rooms are quite spread out and I guess if you paid over the odds for a room there would have been some nicer but you would still expect something a little special for that price!!
Our room was tucked away over looking a car park, not very tranquil !! Shabby windows and not very small ... however there was a lovely spa bath which was lush and robes in the room to have a nice chill after!!
We headed to the bar for a cocktail which was fairly priced, clean bar and really friendly staff but lacking atmosphere so we headed out left of the hotel to a little country pub for a meal and a couple more drinks :-)
Breakfast the next morning was also a let down, there was about a 30 minute wait to be seated for breakfast !!!!
Overall I felt the stay was highly overpriced for what it was & I don't think I'd be returning ... :-(

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyyyTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a fell room which overlooks car park. If you're a fan of deep purple walls paired with yellow floral wallpaper you'll love it. Room a good size & bathroom clean with wide bath & very powerful shower. The estate is in a wooded area and you can easily walk to Elterwater & Chapel Stile though a small bridge over the stream to link the fell side rooms with the footpath would make access to the Wainwright Inn easier.
What lets the hotel down is its food offering. A "barbecue" featured piles of badly cooked burgers &sausages , minuscule kebabs already per cooked & cold. Despite piles of food & few diners, restrictions on amount of meat could take.
The buffet breakfast featured nondescript bacon, again pre cooked, hard fried eggs & tinny tasting mushrooms. A request the next day for poached eggs took forever & resulted again in hard eggs. Perhaps I'm picky but for £170 a night I expect a hotel chef to be able to poach an egg.
Next time I would stay at the Elterwater Inn (comparable prices, much better quality) or the small hotel near Stickel Ghyll (cheaper & fewer facilities but great location)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank avocadothrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My son and I used the facilities at the Langdale and found it to be just ok but with a nasty turn.
Whilst using the swimming pool with other families present my wife and I noticed that there was a couple love making in the jacuzzi which went totally unnoticed by the staff.
When others arrived to use the jacuzzi the couple left to do their business elsewhere (we think in the men's changing area!!)
Then to cap it all a staff member did turned up pool side to lay down some heavy handed rules for my son which were totally over the top. Ironic or what!!!
The facilities are ok at Langdale but we did expect more and sadly my memory of this place will be of the lack of control in appropriate areas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike10458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel and Spa

Property: Langdale Hotel and Spa
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside
Langdale Hotel And Spa Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing