We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly Nice Place, but not the Best”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fairly Nice Place, but not the Best”
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We wanted a king bed and double spa for our wedding night. They put champagne in our room on ice for when we arrived. The pool, sauna, hot tub facilities were great. The good points: It's air conditioned, good food, nice surrounding area, clean. I enjoyed the lounge area. Bad points: The "king" bed was two twins pushed together. One of us had to sleep on the crack. Then we when we were getting ready to leave the next morning, I had just gotten out of the shower and was getting dressed when the cleaners knocked and immediately opened the door, and I was stark naked. I did not appreciate that. The two-person jet bath was roomy and clean, yet when we turned on the jets, it was a mix of hot and cold water. That is, cold water comes out one, and scalding hot out the other. We did complain about these things and they refunded half the price of the stay, although they were not happy about it. All in all, it's a nice place and I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okiechick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    402
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
250
848
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This trip was for a relaxing mini-honeymoon. We stayed on their Ultimate Spa break consisting of 2 nights. Included lunch and dinner on the first day, Breakfast, lunch and dinner on the second day with a full day of treatments, and breakfast on the third day.
Our room was a feature one overlooking the beck, amongst the lodges. Great view, the noise from the beck was no worse than an air-conditioner on high. Clean and tidy but not wow.
Spa and pool are good. My wife is a top class therapist and she thought the spa was good for hotel.
Purdey's Restaurant was excellent. Food as expected from a rosette. For the first meal they had dressed the table with sparkly wedding bits and we had a complimentary glass of champagne. Nice.
Enjoyed the stay in a nice setting with great food. Would recommend.
Knocked one off the rooms due to the sealant/grouting in bathroom needing a little attention. (could say the same for £700 a night places I have stayed, so no great shakes)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roottwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This complex is nestled away just a few miles outside of Ambleside. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in one of the Lakeland Signature Elegance rooms. It was very clean and well equipped. The staff are very helpful. Spa was very clean and tidy including the changing rooms. I am very picky when it comes to these things so it must of been good! Drinks were expensive in the hotel but you don't expect them not to be really. We ate in Wainwrights Inn on both nights and found it to be good pub food and reasonably priced. We would definately return here.

The complex is in a very quiet area so don't expect to be able to wander to several pubs or anything as that would mean a car journey. If you need a really relaxing break away from it all this will work for you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charls29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Once again my wife and I have stayed at The Langdale Hotel and, as always have had a great time.
The management and staff were very helpful and friendly, always a pleasant "hello" inside or out in the grounds. The service in the bars and eating areas was first class.
The room was as ever clean and well presented, the maid service and cleaning was carried out impeccably without any disruption to ourselves.
The grounds and public areas were clean and tidy, as was the pool and fitness/gym area.
We find that no matter what time of year we stay here that it is a marvelous place.
To sum up I would have no reservation in recommending The Langdale Hotel to absolutely anybody as it is an excellent establishment and in my view very good value for money. If it was up to me i would give it 6 stars.
Hopefully we shall be visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theh0telchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Myself and my Girlfriend have just returned from this hotel. All i can say is 'Wow, What a place'. The location, which fair enough isn't the hotel's doing, is amazing, we love the Langdale Valley!! But the Hotel itself is a wonderful place. Set in beautiful private grounds this hotel offered us both all we wanted. The facilities are top class. Good choice of places to eat with a great leisure centre and my girlfriend said her massage in the Spa was wonderful. We stayed in one of the new rooms, i think they called it a 'Tarn Room'. It was really nice. Very clean and comfortable. I read the review below and that woman must of been in a different place to us. We found the staff more then helpful. OK, english isn't always the first language but show me a hotel where ALL staff are english now-a-days. They were friendly and polite, what more do you want.

I have a very busy job with a lot of stress but the break-a-way at Langdale was just what the doctor ordered!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks a lot Langdale!! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Our room was shabby and dirty. Stained carpets and valence, wet carpet and no artwork or any character in the room that would make it the award winning 5 star accommodation advertised on the slick website. The halls were filthy; leaves and a discarded crisp were not moved for the duration of our stay. Our one year old son could not hold on the stair handle because it was absolutely caked in dirt.

I have stayed in far superior 3 star hotels and Travelodges. We travel all over the world frequently and this really is a case of a very run down estate that advertises as an exclusive resort. Actually this place doesn’t know what it is. A hotel, lodges, leisure centre / gym (outside residents can use the facilities), country club or time share.

The accommodation is very overpriced. They tried to charge us a £10 supplement for using our own travel cot. We paid the £45 up front for the 2 course set menu. We were then charged additional supplements to order the fish and risotto from the menu. The food was terrible but fared slightly better than the service - there wasn’t any. Not once were we asked if the meal was ok or if we would like drinks or a sweet. I wish we had gone to the chippy. The staff speak poor English and seem very overwhelmed. The décor in the rooms and the AA rosette restaurant, Purdies is depressing and dated.

As with any country estate there are lots of rules. A slight obsession about towel cards and a £20 charge if you lose it and a £175 cleaning charge if you smoke in you room to name but a few. Now we don’t smoke but the book of rules and charges and supplements is a joke. No sense of enjoyment or customer service. When we checked out there were many people at the desk complaining.

There is nothing luxury about this place, do not visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieseidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We stayed at Langdale on their two day, one night Relaxation Spa break deal for two. The Relaxation deal gets you a 3 course dinner in Purdeys restaurant, a night in an upgraded room, lunch, use of their leisure facilities for two days and a treatment each in the spa. We thought this was fantastic and offered great value for money.

Langdale Hotel is part of timeshare complex which is very nicely designed. It is set in a woodland area with a stream running through the grounds. All the buildings are styled in the typical Lakedistrict architecture. For the size of the place we found it extremely peaceful and quite.

Purdeys is an AA Rosette restaurant based next to the hotel reception. The food was absolutely lovely and there was a great choice for each course. This also went for lunch where you got a choice of meal from the bar menu. The rooms had being recently refurbished and were extremely clean, tidy and cosy. We did get woken early by builders but when we brought this up with Langdale they were most apologetic.

We made full use of the leisure facilities which include a swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. You could also take out mountain bikes and play tennis however it was a little wet during our stay. There was a limited choice of treatments on the deal but there are massages and facials to choose from. We both felt fully rejuvenated at the end of our stay.

If you are after a couple of relaxing days and getting away from it all then we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing