We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - relaxation spa break is superb”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed here for 1 night on the spa relaxation break which included a stay in a Langdale signiture room, breakfast, lunch and allocation towards dinner. Best of all, myself and partner each received a 55minute full body massage.

Would totally recommend taking up this offer. The food is superb, the spa treatment was outstanding, the leisure facilities are excellent and the staff were very attentive. Location is ideal for hill-walkers too.

I only note that the service in the restaurant for dinner was a bit slow but was quite busy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilli-Pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Langdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Stayed here for a family wedding and loved it. Great food, service and location. The Hotel is 10 minutes drive from the nearest town and situated in a beautiful valley/dale.
We booked an elegance room but it was the same as the standard rooms, so don't bother upgrading, they are all excellent.
Spa facilities and treatments were brilliant and I can't speak highly enough of the staff, they looked after our every requirement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Booked on the basis of prior good reviews plus it had a spa (essential criteria for the other half for this break!). The location is lovely and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful - shame about the hotel mind you. Stayed in one of the 4 posters whcih was supposed to be a luxury room - sorry but nothing like! No air conditioning, staff entrance with outside generator noise directly below (nothing like being woken at 6 in the morning by the gentle shrieking and banter of the morning shift) and incredibly tired decor. The much vaunted "Cumbrian breakfast" was not what I'd describe as freshly cooked and suspect that it was cooked en masse at 6 then kept warm to dry out until you went and helped yourself. There is no excuse for a hotel of this apparent quality and price not serving up a freshly cooked breakfast - let alone piping local commercial radio at full blast in the dining room whilst you are eating it. At £50 a night I would have expected nothing special but for £350 for 2 nights this was a major disappointment. Until it's revamped or lowers its prices don't bother staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuernseyScotAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This hotel is a real find in the lakes, tucked away behind Ambleside and Grasmere in a hidden like valley.
We stayed for only one night in a signature room, which was very stylish and boutique hotel like, loved the funky wardrobe and TV units and comfortable bed with egyptian cotton linen. Only problem was the rooms are in an external building and accessed from outside and in the poor weather the partways get very wet.
Dinner in the main dining room was exceptional, the food was really the highlight of our stay. Breakfast was also good, buffet but with lots of choice. We didn't have time to use the leasure facilities but they looked nice. Though we did have apint of really good beer in wainwrights pub.
It was all too brief but we hope to return to Langdale soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimcavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

after reading some review's was a bit worryed but my mam and me had a wonderfull time my mam had the best massage, room and bed was the best lovely and comfortable!
we had the spa break which included light lunch which was lovely, then in the resturant at 8pm we was served right away and service and food was fab i say fab fab fab!!
the ladies in the spa couldnt have been any nicer all in all we had a wonderfull time only problem was it was only 1 night so we will be going back for the 2 day spa and cant wait!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My husband booked this for a romantic getaway as the kids were visiting grandparents. I had a bad feeling when I rang the hotel to confirm the time of the spa treatments I had booked - rude receptionist reluctantly put me through to the spa.
On arrival the receptionist handed our keys over and told us our rooms were over there! pointing to outside!
The room we booked was a signature one - very nice and to be honest the room was the only good thing about this hotel!
We had booked a meal in Purdy's restaurant - we waited 1/2 an hour before someone came to take our drinks orders, food was very overpriced and the service was dismal. I have worked in hotels and always try to be on the side of the staff but to be honest they couldn't care less!
the spa receptionist was one of the rudest people i have ever met, told me to sit down and didn't even look up from her computer when I handed £90 over for 2 treatments.
On check out the same receptionist as check in didnt ask if we had a nice stay - just handed the bill over with no other comment!
For the price we paid I expected good- not necessarily outstanding service, but the Langdale left us feeling disapointed and very let down.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Durham2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed in a lodge for a week in mid-July. Really liked the accomodation - well equipped and comfortable.

The swimming pool looks good and the changing rooms are very clean, however the floor of the pool has a very strange texture - I can only describe it as sandpaper-like. Younger daughter said it hurt her feet and refused to use the pool again !

We ate at the Terrace restaurant a couple of times - food okay but overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dundreich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £120 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing