We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveller rating
743
434
181
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
434
181
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomwainwrights pubterrace barwaterside roomtime sharefellside roomselemis toiletriesultimate roomsbuilding workspa treatmentsspa arealake districtswimming poolsteam roommain restaurantleisure facilitieshigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,381 - 1,386 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Absolutly fantastic location, the pub along the road is great value and lovely food. We initally thought it was going to be awful but were really pleasantly surprised. the walks around are great. Breakfast is good. Spa facilities are ok, what you would usually expect. i had one treatment which again was ok, but nothing brilliant. would def. go back, mainly for loaction.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat_ot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This hotel is really stunning, i go every year, great facilities, great staff, great rooms and the food at purdeys restaurant is superb. I have never eaten nicer food. I reccomend Langdale Hotel and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleRoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Stayed at Langdale for our annual timeshare week - we love the Langdale valley and the walking straight from the door. Noticed real improvements in the hotel this year, obviously working on a refurbishment program.

We ate at Purdeys - what a meal! Excellent value, we would not have been able to afford a comparable meal down south. Imaginative combination of flavours, beautifully presented. Try it, they have 2 AA rosettes now and thoroughly deserve it.

Service variable mind!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanmat5ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This was our first time staying in the lakes - My son has just got interested in walking (6yrs old - every hill is a "Mountain") but this is countered by his mum and sister being totally disinterested in walking. So we looked for a hotel with good food and spa in addition to easy access to the hills (sorry, Mountains) We booked a family room at the Langdale and loved this hotel! The place has had a full refurb and its a kind of resort / village place with a blend of self catering, time shares and hotel. The setting is wonderfully dramatic and beautiful. The room was big with bunk beds for the kids, super king size bed with lovely mattress and bedding and a 42inch LCD TV. The room also has a small lobby for muddy boots and spa tub bath. The hotel has a big pool, sauna, gym and spa - The pool area is a tiny bit circa 1985 Basingstoke Sports Centre but not enough to moan about (and I love a good moan) The bar was very pleasant for a cheeky pint while Kim put the kids to bed (officially I was looking for ice) and the Wainrights Pub - out the gate and up the roads 100m served amazing food and superb ales. (Note - no kids allowed after 2130hrs) Breakfast was ample and service was friendly. If you are interested in walking with young kids - I can thoroughly recc doing the "Alcock Tarn" walk - Pick it up in Grassmere and walk as far along as your kid will cope with - the views are amazing and they feel like they are climbing a mountain! and if like me you have two non walkers, they can wander around Grasmere which has lovely shops and cafes etc. I kind of fell in love with the Langdale - and anyone who has read my other reviews will know this is rare...but this place is special.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddlykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I booked one night at the Langdale for us to celebrate my wife's birthday at the end of March. We booked it after seeing a deal on Travelzoo for Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for £99 for the two of us.

GOOD POINTS

We arrived at about 1pm and made immediate use of the leisure facilities which are of a good standard and were not too busy.

We were able to check into the room earlier than the 3 o'clock time that they initially stated which was good.

We stayed in a Signature, Gunpowder Room, which we were very pleased with. It was well appointed and finished to a good standard.

The deal allowed us an evening meal in the Terrace Restaurant which is located in the same area as the leisure facilities and overlooks the swimming pool. The food was nice but the choice was very limited on our menu.

Breakfast was served in Purdey's Restaurant and was of a good standard with lots of choice.

We had a drink in Hobson's Bar which was very nice aswell as Wainright's Inn which is a pub located about 200 yards from the hotel grounds.

It is in a great location and has a really relaxing atmosphere.

BAD POINTS

As stated at the beginning this stay was to celebrate my wifes birthday. I made the hotel aware of this when booking but there was no mention of it made or any nice touches by the hotel to acknowledge this. We have stopped in hotels previously when celebrating occasions and have been made to feel very special. A bit disappointing.

Drink prices were a bit steep, a pint of ale and a gin & tonic cost about £7.50.

I think it would be fair to say that the photographs on the hotel website make the communal areas look more plush and upmarket than they appear in the flesh.

The food in the Terrace Restaurant was pub quality and good value considering what we paid for the trip, however, I would not be happy paying full price for it.

All in all if you could get a similar deal to us then it is not bad value for money. I certainly would not pay full price and would not recommend anyone else to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordKod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews