We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, shame about the hotel”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

The location of this hotel is breath-taking, but that is not enough to excuse the over-priced drinks and claustrophobic feel of the hotel room we stayed in. Although it was a rainy day, our room was stifling (to the point where I was using my inhaler more than is normal). When you go to open the windows, they only open a miniscule fraction, so you are forced to endure the heat - which is one of the reasons we had practically no sleep.

We stayed in one of the fellside suites, and although the room is on the first floor, you have a wonderful view of people's feet as they walk noisily past your room.

Upon arrival, me and my boyfriend sat in the Hobson's bar to have a drink, but had to be re-located due to an overflowing toilet - which was apparent from the side of the bar.

We booked a meal in the "Bistro" but this is merely a sports bar where most people go for a drink when they have been in the pool/spa. A very casual environment, which was a nice alternative to the rather plush Purdey's. There is a pool table outside on the terrace overlooking the very picturesque pond, and this was one of the more relaxing spots. The pool table had definitely seen better days, however, with cues that were half their size and suffering from erosion.

The bathroom was the highlight of our trip - a spacious, rectangular bath big enough for two. The perfect time for a few beers. Unfortunately, we ordered drinks from room service and they forgot. We had to re-order after 30 minutes, after we had our bath. When the beers arrived, the bottle tops were still on, with no bottle opener in the room.

Drinks were expensive, but nothing out of the ordinary for an affluent hotel chain. What was surprising was the £5.10 charge for one pot of tea. Tea must really be hard to get hold of nowadays.

Staff were friendly, particularly in the Bistro Terrace bar.

Overall, disappointing, uncomfortable and unimpressive. The only real positive was that we fully appreciated our bedroom, and how well ventilated it is.

Please buy shares in air-con and re-think the price of tea.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lucybr0wn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangdaleEstate, Director of Sales at Langdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2010

Thank you for your review
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room at Langdale. Over the past two years all the bedrooms have been refurbished and during a recent inspection by the AA, classed as 4-star standard. Some of the windows have limited opening for health and safety reasons. None of the rooms at Langdale have scenic views but the location in the heart of the Langdale Valley is one of the most spectacular in the Lake District.

As you point out we did have to ask guests to vacate Hobson’s for a short time to ensure their safety and comfort but as the Estate boasts a choice of four bars and restaurants there is always plenty to choose from including the Terrace where guests have a choice of the relaxed bar area where there is one screen showing sporting and other events and the more formal bistro restaurant as well as al fresco seating by the tarn.

Many of our guests comment on the bathrooms and I am glad this was a highlight for you. I apologise that you were not able to enjoy your beer and will address this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

Just got back from a relaxing weekend at Langdales. This was a christmas present from my wife and this is the first chance we had to enjoy it. The hotel is on an estate with various facilities. Think Very Very Posh Centreparks. We had a prebooked meal in Purdeys which matched or exceeded any previous michelin stared reseraunts we had been to . Go for the tasting Menu with the wine option. I cannot fault the food, service or overall experience. We are not foodies but the meal and the staff were brilliant in Purdys. Deepak Yadav manages the restaraunt impecably - I would suggest that he is put in charge of the staff in the other facilities - then the resort might be as good as the restaurant. The rest of the Langadale estate was average- Staff mostly good but not a patch on Purdeys. The breakfast was great. Drinks are expensive but if you are here for economy you are in the wrong place. Wife not impressed with the Spa - rushed treatment carried out by illtrained teenagers. We had a room on Fellside. The rooms are spacious and clean, comfy beds, large TV, fridge, and great bathroom with shower and bath. The good points outweighed the problems. Its a luxurious break in Cumbria which has a lot of competition from other hotels nin the area. I suspect this place would reign supreme if Deepak ran it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I booked myself into the Langdale Hotel for three night as I wanted to do some serious walking that my children weren't keen on doing. I have been to the Lakes, let alone the Langdale Hotel many times before and loved the old-world charm of it. I love the cottages, the Lakeland brick-built accommodation at the Langdale, but there are some negatives that you should be aware of as well.
First off, in terms of getting to somewhere - unless you want to drive to the nearbest village (Grasmere) there is nowhere to walk to. Yes there are tiny villages, but they just have houses in them. This (to me) was not a problem because all I wanted to do was walk, but for someone who maybe wanted to buy some snacks or something everything is a little far away.
Secondly, the main restaurant - although big - is cramped with tables so it makes walking around / general moving quite tricky. Again, it didn't phase me but for someone looking for a relaxing meal... your probably not going to get one.
Thirdly, is that the carpark is quite small - therefore it fills up quickly and if that happens, the next closest car park is actually not closet at all. For someone in a wheelchair or the elderly walking the long distance from the car to the hotel might not be ideal (especially if it's raining... which it did... quite a lot).
On a plus side, the grounds of the Langdale are beautiful. You could easily spend all day in the hotel grounds as there are so much to do. Lots of walking trails on site and once you get out of the hotel gates - there is unlimited walking and mountain climbing for you to do. The location of the hotel (for walking) is very good because there are a lot of mountains on the door step of the Langdale - you just need to know where they are. If your not looking to be walking in the Grasmere/Langdale area... book another hotel.
The pool/cafe/spa area is my favourite thing about the hotel. It is so nicely done - very relaxing yet modern as well. The cafe has a great menu for both adults and children and orders to suit are accepted as well! Plus, there are doors opening onto the patio overlooking the pond which (sometimes) has fish in it... other times they are hard to spot. The pool is a good 20m in length, with a separate hot tub with doors outside to the gardens and a chess court.
There are no outdoor pools, tennis courts or golf at the hotel - or anywhere in the area - try somewhere like Spain for that - but the hotel doesn't need to - its fantastic location, modern rooms, good amenities and friendly staff will make for a pleasant stay for a weekend or 3/4 nights away - will definitely be going back.
*If you are looking for a place to stay for a week or so... maybe look into renting a cottage. There are many cottage rental companies around the Lakes so don't hesitate going in the direction.*

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J123N123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

As we arrived to check in at the hotel another hotel guest was checking out and when asking whether he had enjoyed his stay reeled off a long list of complaints! This was a little bit worrying as we checked in, however, when we got to our room we were not disappointed.

We stayed in one of the ultimate rooms, 105 and it was brilliant! Everything about the room was perfect. The bed was huge - big enough to fit four people in comfortably I would say and it was so comfortable too. The bathroom was really nice with a really big shower cubicle and nice Elemis toiletries.

There are two big baths in room 105 and they fill from the ceiling. The only complaint I have associated to the baths in the room is that there was no bubble bath liquid to put in to the baths. I thought this must have been a mistake and so asked at reception if we could have some but was told that bubble bath is not provided, so we bought some from the spa for £13!

Positives worth mentioning:

- The room was so quiet as you would expect being in the middle of the Lakes.
- Dinner and breakfast were great and quite reasonable.
- Hotel was in a nice area to go walking.

We visited the hotel spa during our visit, the staff in the spa were really friendly and helpful, although think the spa itself could do with a bit of a refurb.

I would only recommend this hotel if you were to stay in one of the ultimate rooms, aparently the standard rooms are quite tired need to be modernised. The ultimate rooms are expensive but worth every penny for a special treat!

One last thing to mention is that check out is 10am! To extend check out until 1pm costs an additional £20.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangdaleEstate, Director of Sales at Langdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you for your review
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in room 105 which is indeed a "brilliant" room with unique features and a luxurious finish

The Spa is currently undergoing refurbishment with the swimming pool being re-lined and the female changing rooms and reception area being refurbished.

The "standard” bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last two years, (see the Langdale website for virtual tours of all the rooms) and are graded by the AA as 4-star standard. We also have Feature Rooms which boast four poster beds and balconies overlooking the river. If you were to come and stay in either of these room types I am sure you would not be disappointed and consider them also worth every penny.

We provide top of the range Elemis “Sharp Shower and Bath Gel” with the complimentary toiletries. This doubles as bubble bath, I am sorry if reception did not inform you of this. Additional supplies of in room toiletries are always available free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

wonderful quiet surroundings beautiful area of the country, the pub 5 min walk down the road has fantastic food, try the lamb shank, it's well worth it. would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbarn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My partner and I visited Langdale Hotel and were greeted by welcoming staff from the word go, this continued throughout our stay. The were always happy to help with any queries you had.

The room was beautiful, very comfortable with all mod cons, modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath and Elemis toiletries and bath robes for use during our stay.
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, and the breakfast did not disappoint. Served in a buffet style that caters for everyone, lots to offer, but if you're still not satisfied the kitchen will make you something. We opted for the Full English with award winning bacon, sausages and black pudding, which, may I add was the best I have ever tasted and certainly set me up for the walking we had planned for the day!!

The leisure club did not disappoint either, we had drinks on the terrace over looking the pond and felt very relaxed. The pool area was nice, but is due to be updated this week to be in keeping with the rest of the hotels high standard.

We had dinner at Wainwrights, the pub just up the road, this has a good array of beer, but we felt the food was rather disappointing, especially after the half an hour wait just to order!!

All in all, this hotel is well worth a visit- you will not be disappointed. We shall definitely be returning with friends at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger8280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I have both spent a night away at the Langdale Hotel in Ambelside. The whole stay was an absolute dream.The staff were pleasant and polite,nothing was too much trouble-they would not even allow us to pour our own drinks during our meal!! We were shown directly by the reception desk to our room which was beautiful with all the ameneties we could wish for including spa/air bath. There were 4 different places to eat and drink and we tried each one (!) and with no disapointment from either. The two rosette restaurant was unbelievable and the best salmon and beef dishes we had ever had-absolute heaven. We had a full body massage each which was wonderful and the Spa staff were extremely professional. If you want to be pampered and spolied for a weekend then this is the place for you. Albeit a tad expensive and the bed a little uncomfortable (king size but 2 singles pushed together) but the bedding was to die for!!! Thus Hotel is an absolute must.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkle-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £129 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. Unfortunately no pets on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing