We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
5 Smithy Brow 2 & single seater easy chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
5 Smithy Brow
2 & single seater easy chairs
Lounge with books & games
Oak glasses cabinet in beamed ceiling lounge
Living flame gas fire, TV with satellite receiver
Well lit dining table
Kitchen: gas cooker & microwave
Kitchen: sink & view through to dining room & lounge
Double bedroom
Beamed ceiling double bedroom
Twin bedroom with chest of drawers
Twin bedroom with beamed ceiling
Bathroom with 3 piece suite
Bath with removable shower hose
Private parking space and bench to sit out in shadow
View out from front door, 5 minutes walk to shops, restaurants etc
Enjoy the sun relaxing in quiet seclusion
Bench to sit out on, facing south to cherry tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

There were 2 of us staying in this cosy cottage and we found it ideal. The location was so convenient for popping out for a meal or a drink on an evening after a days walk, with pubs and restaurants just a few minutes away. The only small drawback was not having a shower although I must admit, I enjoyed soaking my aching muscles in the bath after walking. There was plenty of room for the 2 of us, with a well equipped kitchen and lots of places to dry off clothes. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelguru...
england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Delightful Cottage!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Thank You Peter for a perfect stay! Smithy Brow is ideally located in Ambleside! Close to shops, pubs and restaurants.

We stayed here in low season for a couple of nights, but found it the ideal base for walking trips!

The cottage is small and cosy with everything you need for a weekend getaway.
I will be sure to book this cottage again, next time I am in town!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage-Gorgeous!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina H
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm & cosy”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Warm, cosy, traditional cottage close to the town centre and with a pub almost next door. Not as modern as some other accommodation but this is not a negative. This has everything you need, is in a great location and is better priced than any of the other accommodations that I looked at. The owner is local and easily contactable should the need arise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amberpop
merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from a 10 night stay in this cosy cottage. Central and well placed for all the local shops, restaurants etc. The cottage itself was very clean indeed, the owners only a phone call away if needed, and, responded to a little hiccup immediately. Peter himself came round on the first day of our stay to make sure everything was alright with the property and we had no problems. The wardrobe space was on the landing, plenty of drawer space, and, a very comfortable double bed. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils we could have needed, along with plenty of crockery. Only slight disappointment was the tv was very small indeed, and, no dvd player. However there were some sky channels available, and, this would not prevent us from staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and cosy, and the location
Liked least: Size of tv, no dvd player
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynlyn
Wynyard, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Warm & Cosy, but doesn't live up to the hype of other reviews”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I believe Tripadvisor is all about providing honest and informative appraisals to other travellers and I believe in being honest in my appraisal of any holiday stays I have experienced, particularly when travelling to other parts of the world and paying for accommodation. I also believe in pointing out the good and the bad (if any) as it helps those looking for enjoyable accommodation options, but more importantly it provides an opportunity to congratulate the property owner/manager on their standard of accommodation. It also gives them the opportunity to make adjustments and improvements if and when required according to reviews - that is why I always try to be unbiased in my reviews.

With that said, my husband and I recently stayed for five nights at 5 Smithy Brow, Ambleside, and to be perfectly honest, the experience was a little disappointing. Having read the reviews prior to making the booking, I was expecting a higher standard. Don't get me wrong, there wasn't anything particularly negative but I think it's a bit over-rated.

On a positive note, the location is perfect and within walking distance of the town centre with heaps of options for either shopping to stock the pantry for cooking at home or visiting many of the lovely cafe's and restaurants in Ambleside and we had no trouble finding the property when we first arrived in Ambleside. However, parking can be a bit of problem if you have a medium to large vehicle as there are four other cottages adjacent to #5, so parking can be very tight.

It is also wise to bring your own linen and towels, otherwise there is a charge of 12GBP for their supply (prearranged when doing the booking). In our situation, being visitors from overseas, we agreed to pay the fee, but unfortunately I forgot to include this fee in the funds transfers so I pre-arranged to have the money on arrival, which we did. But there was a slight oversight and only the bed was made up, but no towels provided (we had to make phone call to the owner), so I would suggest that you bring supplies yourself and don't worry about paying the fee.

The bathroom is extremely roomy, however, in order to have a shower, it requires sitting in the bathtub as the shower hose is very short - great for children but not so user-friendly for adults.

The kitchen is serviceable and contains a great gas hob and stove along with a microwave and pantry and I loved the barn style back door, which you can close the lower half and have the upper half open to let in the sunlight and warmth.

On the whole, the stay was reasonably comfortable, and a good base to stay at when visiting the Lakes District but it would not be my first choice of accommodation if visiting the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of cottage and accessibility to the town centre
Liked least: Lack of shower facilities, and vehicle parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
We advertise a bath not a shower. The rubber shower hose for the taps is just an added extra for the convenience of guests. We do not normally provide towels but had offered to do so at no extra cost for these guests coming from abroad. We had temporally forgotten them, but took them within 5 mins of a reminder! Our prices are extremely reasonable compared to others even with linen hire. This system simply allows families to save a little if they wish.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage great location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights, this cottage is lovely, great central location, great pub almost next door the golden rule you must visit. Cottage is 2 mins away from the centre of Ambleside, try Lily's for excellent food and a great atmosphere and very helpful friendly staff. The cottage is very well equipped everything you need for a great stay. Would gladly return, the owner called to see us on Saturday to make sure everything was ok.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing