We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed”
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
5 Smithy Brow 2 & single seater easy chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
5 Smithy Brow front, with parking space
5 Smithy Brow
2 & single seater easy chairs
Lounge with books & games
Oak glasses cabinet in beamed ceiling lounge
Living flame gas fire, TV with satellite receiver
Well lit dining table
Kitchen: gas cooker & microwave
Kitchen: sink & view through to dining room & lounge
Double bedroom
Beamed ceiling double bedroom
Twin bedroom with chest of drawers
Twin bedroom with beamed ceiling
Bathroom with 3 piece suite
Bath with removable shower hose
Private parking space and bench to sit out in shadow
View out from front door, 5 minutes walk to shops, restaurants etc
Enjoy the sun relaxing in quiet seclusion
Bench to sit out on, facing south to cherry tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alison B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely holiday cottage with no frills but everything we needed too. We enjoyed the hot baths and loved the location. Everything is on the doorstep and some great walks start in Ambleside too. Peter was great and returned my towel by post which was kind of him.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
We try to provide a good deal for our customers, and it is gratifying when they give us an excellent review. Thank you. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
121lizj
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very convenient cosy little cottage.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cottage contains everything you need for a Lakeland getaway. The house was lovely and warm, kitchen very well equipped and everything just right. The location is excellent, very easy to just bob into Ambleside and some great walks from the house - no need to take the car out. A small selection of games, puzzles and books to entertain.
Peter was excellent at communicating and answer promptly to any queries. Will definitely consider staying again. Much cheaper than a family room in the YHA! and you have the place to yourself. I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
We are grateful for the review, and delighted to have satisfied customers. Peter Bradley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannebur...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

we have just returned from a 3 night stay at 5 Smithy Brow. Lovely cottage in a perfect location & we would certainly book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice but basic.”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Ambleside is very busy and thriving with lots of places to eat out.There are loads of points of interest within driving distance and it is also well situated for walking and cycling.
This cottage would be ideal for someone who was not going to be in much also a very small car would be an advantage as it may help to avoid confrontations with the guests at number 4.
I have to be honest and say I would not rent this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keekorok
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friend and I stayed at Smithy Brow this month for a few days' walking in the Lakes. It is in an ideal spot on the edge of Ambleside - easy to walk to restaurants, pubs and shops. There is parking for one car right outside the door. The owner had kindly put the heating on and the cottage was toastie warm when we arrived (almost too warm!). There was also a coal-effect fire in the sitting room. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed for self-catering. There is a little bench out the front - perfect for a sundowner!
Plenty of hot water on the immersion. There isn't a shower, just a shower attachment on the bath taps - which didn't fit very well, and tended to leak a bit if you turned the taps on full. The bathroom suite is very dated, but spotlessly clean.
It has a very interesting angled stairs - not recommended if you've had a pint or two!
Overall this is a cracking little cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and spotless. Location.
Liked least: A bit dated. The shower attachment!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N0v15
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Very basic cottage. The best thing would be its location. The cottage itself was draughty and more cramped than I imagined. Price was fairly cheap though so you get what you pay for. Owner is very abrupt and unaccommodating.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
This review is, I believe, a reaction by the clients to my complaint I made after they had left about the filthy state in which they left the cottage, and that if they wished to book again then I would ask for a good housekeeping deposit. When I called on the clients the morning after they moved in to check that everything was OK and that they had everything they needed they told me they were very happy with the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing